Advertisement
Advertisement

West Glades Montessori School

Private | PK-3

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boca Raton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $241,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2012

I put both of my children here for three months. I had such high hopes. There was one teacher that catered to the girls. My son completely shut down because he was constantly repremanded and isolated. The school has poor communication, except if they are looking for money. The three months my children were there they learned very little. My pediatrician told me to remove them immedialty when they accused my child of behavorial problems. They werent even willing to work with me and had me in tears for I took their word, that the problem was my child. The teacher also compared my childs work with anothers that had gone to that school for over two years, mine had just begun. I removed my children immedialty and they attended another local preschool and flourished. My child was biting his shirt at this school and they couldnt figure out why. It took his new teacher at the other preschool 3 days to tell me because he was nervous and didnt understand the work. I just dont understand how you can spend 3 months with a child and not be able to address simple things with a parent, like they arent eating their lunch they prepare. Met 3 parents who removed their children too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2012

I have not had the experience that other people have reported about the Director of this school being unreasonable or rude. Contrary to that, she has been the only positive thing about this school. There wasn't a single time that I came by to talk to her (even if I didn't call first) that she wasn't receptive, open, and definitely on my team. I wish I could say the same for my son's teacher and the curriculum. It was not important to me that my 3 year old could read and do math at a first grade level. I'll worry about that in first grade. I want my child to have opportunities for imaginary play, cooperation with other kids, using language to negotiate in a group, and learn to enjoy going to school and enjoy learning. You won't find any imaginary play going on in the Red Room. You won't find any kids playing together. They barely go outside, and there's even a tv in the classroom! My son was bullied by the older boys in the class and I feel like that could have been better addressed, but the problem continued until we were advised by our pediatrician to find a new preschool. My son was not respected in his learning style or personality, and we are happier elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

Both of my children attended for two years in a row and we couldn't be happier. They loved it as well. WGM had a big part in helping us raise well rounded happy children, conscious of the environment, courteous, and with an incredible appetite for knowledge. They had a lot of fun and we wouldn't trade those years for anything! Their teacher was excellent and truly cared about them; And the school was run top-notch! Best of all, they both remember it fondly --confirmation that we made the right choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My daughter has been going to this school for 2 years now. All of the teachers are very nice and sincerely care for each kid. I will keep my daughter here as long as possible and would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Love Love Love this school. We found WGM after doing through research on 11 schools in the area. We had our two sons in another school and moved them to WGM mid year due to the fact that we were so excited about the school. The teachers are great, the material presented is amazing. The teachers set high expectations which the kids seem more than happy to meet. Both our boys (different ages and classes) are blossoming socially and academically. They are learning science and math that had not been presented at other schools. My oldest son started reading by 4 . Placing our kids in WGM has been the best academic decision we have made to date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

When I first signed my son up I already had the feeling that they were very strict. I never really liked the playground. The stuff there is kinda old and worn. But I wanted to give it a try since the curriculum seemed good. But after only a week I realized there is no room for a kid to be themselves. They expect little children to be so proper and well behaved at all times. I know my son is very active and doesn't always listen but I decided to remove him from the school. I never had an issue with the previous montessori he had gone to and there apparently he behaved and listened well. I only decided to try out this school because for 5X week they were cheaper than other montessories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

Excellent school if what you want is discipline and strong academics. Very european-like style. The main credit for this goes to the Director.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

Well, I suppose you have to find what is best for your child. I have been with WGM for seven years and loved it. My children have thrived and excelled far beyond grade level. The teachers always treated my children with love and caring, and this goes for the directress as well. SHe has a tough job and runs a tight ship to ensure what she believes is best for the children. Montessori is not the best fit for every child, but for my children it has been a wonderful learning experience. Also, my kids have enjoyed extracurricular activities such as Spanish, Science, Yoga and Manners. Some years they have more than others, but the kids have always enjoyed it. The best thing about WGM has been that they nurture a love of learning and expand the mind in their approach to solving problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

While the Director takes her position quite seriously and rules like a Queen bee, she actually is looking out for the best interest of the children. I do not find her personable or realistic in dealing with parents; she goes by the book to an extreme. But with that said, the school is clean, run like a true Montessori, the teachers are by no means rookies like I found at other preschools in the area both montessori and non, and the children are learning! My child went on to an accelerated program in public school after attending preschool there. Had it not been for tuition, we would have followed the program through third grade. BTW tuition, for those who can afford private, is extremely reasonable in comparison to many inferior private schools which are more expensive to boot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

I truly agree with the parent comments posted on Oct. 6. I could not have said it better myself. The school is small and clean but lacks any extra curricular activites. There is little tolerance for childs learning syyle. I thought this was what Montessori was about. The school is definately different when the director is not there. Like night and Day. the staff actually laughs and smiles and talks to parents. if the director was not there it would be a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

I would not recommend sending your child to West Glades Montessori School. The school has an overall atmosphere of negativity. The director expects all of the children to conform to her frequently unreasonable expectations disregarding their autonomy and individuality. Her demeanor is condescending at best and she is frequently rude to the parents. It is evident by her behavior that parents are tolerated but not welcome at the school during the day. These behaviors are in direct conflict with the Montessori ideology. Although the teachers are good, the directors influence is overpowering and effects the classroom environment, leaving little room for acceptance, welcome or warmth. In speaking with other parents, current and past, a common theme is frequently repeated 'If the director was not there West Glades it would be a great place to send our kids.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

I love this school, the teachers are amazing, the headmistress is on top of her game. they go above and beyond and have made my daughter very happy, confident and smart! thank you all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

My now eleven year old daughter spent 2 preschool years, Kindergarten and 1st grade in this school. The program is a true Montesoori program where children of different ages so interact and assist each other in the learning process. She adquired excellent academic skills as well as social skills. Being highly independant and a visual learner as well, she was able to work at her own pace and was reading by the excellently by the age of 4 and a half. I beleive her current academic success is strongly linked to the bases she adquired at Montessori, the self confidence she developed during those ceitical years and the absolute professionalism, dedication and love of the teachers and staff to the children. I have to commend Ms. Gail Carmean, Wendy Karasic and everyone of the fenomenal teachers who are so highly trained at this particular facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 36% 24%
Two or more races 36% N/A
White 21% 44%
Black 7% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20400 Cain Boulevard
Boca Raton, FL 33498
Phone: (561) 479-4629

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




BRJLC LLC
Boca Raton, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT