Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-3|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Glades Montessori School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Claudia, you and Ms. Wendy, you have been a blessing to our son Franco's life. You helped create a beautiful foundation and a great start for his bright future! We will always remember you! Thank you! Jack, Sandra and Franco :)

West Glades Montessori School 5

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful School! Mrs. Wendy the Director cannot do enough for her students and parents. She is very caring and works very hard at making her school be the best it can be! And as far as the teachers, they are all great! Especially Ms. Claudia. She is exceptional! My son is now in Kindergarten and until this day, he doesn't stop talking about her and saying how wonderful she and the was! They taught my son so much! We cannot be more thankful!!


West Glades Montessori School 1

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
Our child was there and experienced mean teachers...In fact, I saw one firsthand - she rolled her eyes to the ceiling and was dismissive of my child and my concerns. I voiced this behavior to the director and she did nothing other than offer lip service at the time. This same teacher was completely ineffective. She couldn’t explain how they deal with discipline when children are bored, as my child was. As far as i could tell, her approach amounted to ignoring the child until they come back to their repetitive and inane activities. Our child is now at a different program and thriving. In fact she’s reported to be a leader and one of the best kids in the class. At West Glades Montessori, this same child was reported as being a problem child. The director even attempted to make medical diagnoses of our child that demonstrated how little she knows about children and modern medicine. This shows how they are quick to say there is something wrong with your child instead of examining their own methods.

West Glades Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
The kids watch TV. There's no method for dealing with bored kids. There's not enough activities to engage them and the teachers aren't skilled nor equipped enough to make up for it.

West Glades Montessori School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
Grit? My child questioned her teacher and was sent to be alone on the playground. This teacher was more interested in putting on a show for parents than teaching her kids anything about grit or determination.


West Glades Montessori School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
My child reported older kids pushing her around. When I voiced this to the director, she brushed it off without making even a perfunctory attempt to investigate. So much for older kids showing empathy to younger ones.

West Glades Montessori School 5

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
My child's teacher was mean to him. We changed this school after he attended this school only 20 days. This is not a Montessori school, teachers are not encouraging children to discover, ask questions or explore.

West Glades Montessori School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
My son's teacher was complaining about his behavior in front of all class with a high pitched voice. I was present as well. She made my son feel ashamed for not finishing his homework. My son is only 4. We never came back to this school.


West Glades Montessori School 2

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
I am glad that I did not have to pay for this school. Maybe it is because she is in VPK, but I feel that my daughter was not challenged enough at this school. There was another Montesorri school that actually interviewed and tested my daughter and was surprised at how much she knew. she was so excited to have her in VPK. She had so much that she wanted to teach my daughter. Unfortunately it was too far for me to take her and get back to work on time. When I told her I was going to go to west glades she advised me against it. I can see why. When I ask my daughter what she did in school she tells me she watches movies. She does enough of that at home. She comes home with some things mostly paintings and coloring. I always do extra homework with her at home and I know what she can do. In her progress report her teacher put the she is a steady progress for knowing her sight words which she knew since she was two. She knows how to read. I don't feel the progress report true portrays her potential because they don't explore her potential. I feel like they don't care about her. This is why so many abused children die. My daughter was out of school for almost a week and no one called to find out where she was and why she was not in school. When she was finalized hospitalized I finally called them to let them know. I think it is either because she is VPK and all they care about is getting the money. I am glad she is not coming back next year. I would not recommend anyone put their money I this school. I'm don't think this how Montessori si suppose to work. They don't care.

West Glades Montessori School 1

Posted July 15, 2013
- a parent
It seems to me most teachers in this school HATE children. They constantly yell at kids and even grab them to move from one spot to another. There is nothing common with Maria Montessori's method of the relationship between teachers and kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Glades Montessori School
20400 Cain Boulevard, Boca Raton, FL  33498
(561) 479-4629
Last modified West Glades Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-3
West Glades Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top