Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunrise Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 866 students

Sunrise Park Elementary has something for everybody!

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

72 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2009

Sunrise Park is the best school. We have a great team of teachers, staff, and volunteers to make the school so successful. Kuddos to all of us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

The teachers, principal are wonderful. They make you feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Sunrise Park is an amazing school - the teachers, principal and PTA are wonderful - they care about the safety of the students and have brought the program KidSafe USA which teaches children through an 8 week course how to be the first line of defense in their own safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

The teachers are great and the endless hours parents put in........make Sunrise shine above all other schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

It is a warm and exciting learning environment where children love to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Sunrise Park is an incredible school! The environment when you enter the school is warm and inviting. You immediately feel comfortable. Academically, Sunrise is phenomenal. The entire school from teachers to the PTA is extremely organized. We love it at Sunrise!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

I have to say the my son was lucky enough to have one of the most dedicated teachers I have ever known. My son seemed to be struggling in the beginning of first grade and Miss Brodie recognized this and when above and beyond. She would give up her planning periods, come in early to school or even stay late after school to assist not only my son but other students in her class that needed to have extra support. Miss Brodie has always been such a positive role model that my son loves going to school now when at one point had such a low self-esteem, would hate going to school. Miss Brodie has done wonders with my son and so many other students. She is an amazing teacher, Sunrise Park is so lucky to have her, you are a WONDERFUL teacher Miss Brodie!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

My son attends Sunrise Park and he is in the 3rd grade. This is an outstanding school with a great principal and staff. His teacher is very supportive and professional. He is having a very productive year and the teachers do a great job preparing the students for the FCAT. The atmosphere of the school is warm and friendly. The principal, Mrs. Elfe is always pleasant and professional. She always returns phone calls and meets with you in person whenever you have a concern. I love Sunrise Park and I believe it is one of the best schools in Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

My husband and I must say that this truly is an amazing school. We are new the school this year and weren't sure how the teachers would be. However we couldn't be happier. Especially with the third grade team, where we currently have 2 children. So a big huge thank you to Mrs. Church and Ms. Eicher for all their hard work, dedication, organization and professionalism. Our children have learned so much already, that we can't wait to see what else there is for the remainder of the year. Although it is the year of FCAT, they have not made our children feel stressed or pressured, but have allowed them to learn to their fullest abilities. We recommend this school completely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

After the Principal change (2006) there have been changes in school activities that there is no fun for the kids and parents, no communication with parents, and teachers are assigning homework without reviewing the subject at school. So, parents are doing home schooling! And wait for the changes to come, I hope the principal dedicate sometime to ask and not to impose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

Sunrise Park is a terrific school. I have 3 children who attended since the opening of the school. Two have graduated and one is still there. Each and every year, they have had great teachers who have challenged and motivated them. All of their teachers have been available when any problems or concerns arise. I especially want to mention Mrs. Freeman in 1st grade who had taught both of my sons and my daughter. She is an amazing teacher and any student who has her is very lucky!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

Sunrise Park is a great school to send your child to. Your child will be well attended to, no matter what level he/she is at. The athmosphere is very cheery and brite. All of the staff are very professional and truly A+. You will be amazed how far the ESE Teachers can bring your child. I am a parent of three children which have attended and two whom still are. ECF
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

I was there when this school opened I was the first PTA president at Sunrise,and I will be there until my youngest leaves in 2015. We are so luck to have the best school in town. The faculty and staff provide a superior education to EVERY child, no matter what there level. The PTA is top notch, those ladies are fully committed to making sure our kids have the best of everything.My middle son is ESE and had a hard time in K & 1 & 2, but by the time 3rd grade came he entered the ESE program and has become an amazing student. The ESE teachers focus on his needs and get it done. My hats off to the Sunrise Park ESE department for enriching every child, and helping them to reach their maximum potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

We are new to Florida and my daughter started Sunrise August 2006 as a third grader.Coming from a very highly rated school system in Illinois. We are very pleased with Mrs. Church and her committment to her students and the curriculum. We are amazed with the administration and the educators at Sunrise Park Elementary. Excellent parents involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2007

My child is in 4th grade (Mrs. Adib) and is having a great year. I am amazed by the dedication of the teachers at Sunrise Park and their willingness to communicate with the parents. They have this special gift to make learning fun and still maintain control of the classroom. Parents are always welcome and my child loves coming to school because of his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

We are new to Florida and my son started in Sunrise this year as a forth grader. I am very pleased with his teacher and her committment to her students and the curriculm. Comming from a very highly rated school system in Pennsylvania, I can truely say I am impressed with the adminstration and the educators at SPE to date. My son has a reading problem that has been given considertion and everyone has gone out of there way to help us. I am not at this point familiar with the extracurricular programs, art, etc. but I can say that there is a strong parent involvement. The PTO is strong and parents are welcome to help in the classrooms and wanted by the teachers at all grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

High level of parental involvement, exceptional programs, breakfast reading club, music programs. sorry to be leaving such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My son is currently in the Early Intervention class (4th) and he had an amazing year. He is now ready for fifth grade thanks to the support of his teacher. She has made this his best year at Sunrise Park so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My son is in kindergarden and is enjoying himself very much. I am amazed everyday at the things he is learning and how much loves being at Sunrise Park. Every parent should feel blessed to have teachers that care and a wonderful school like this. Sunrise Park makes the thought of private school and the 15,000.00 price tag (a year!) that comes with it a thing of the past. This school has it all and I am so happy to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2005

Quality of Academic Program is high Availability of music, art, P.E., etc., is low (once every 7 school days) Level of parent involvement is high my major complaint with this school is the policy of no talking. My children are not allowed to collaborate or work in groups in the classroom. They are not allowed to talk ALL DAY LONG unless they raise their hand to ask or answer a question (except during lunch break and snack time). I find this atmosphere very stifling, particularly for boys. I believe their is much benefit in working in groups, sharing ideas, and I believe it helps instill a love and enthusiasm for learning that cannot be achieved in a rigid 'no talking' environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 29%
Black 3%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%73%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Battle of the Books winner in the South Area, SDPBC (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Five Star School (2013)
  • WPTV Class Act Award, Sunrise Samaritans (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Alicia Steiger
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (561) 477-4350

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Enrichment Grades K-1 FY 2013-2014
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Leveled Literacy Intervention
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Youth Service Bureau
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • After sports programs
Girls sports
  • fee based after school program

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Sunrise Park is a phenomenal school located in the heart of West Boca. Almost half of our staff hold advanced degrees. We work very hard in the classroom to differentiate instruction in order to meet the needs of ALL of our students. Since 2012, we have offered an enrichment program for grades K and 1. SPES offers a variety of ESE programs including a full time Language Learning Disabled Program and an inclusion ASD program. We also offer an ASD Pre K & Speech/Language Pre K models.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Eagles Landing Middle School
Loggers Run Middle School
Don Estridge Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19400 Coral Ridge Dr
Boca Raton, FL 33498
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 477-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





BRJLC LLC
Boca Raton, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT