Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunrise Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 866 students

Sunrise Park Elementary has something for everybody!

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

72 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

What a wealth of misinformation the previous poster (5/31/14) has written. If you are unhappy with the school that is your prerogative and perception but please do not speak for all the teachers and parents. We have proudly worked at SPES for many years and are neither seeking a transfer nor considering early retirement (even if it were an option). The present administration is nothing short of amazing. She has the best interests of the teachers and students when she made the decision to protect the students from the prying eyes of parents during core instruction. As teachers we do not need parents observing us during instruction and going back into the community to critique us. Even more importantly, children s privacy needs to be protected as well. The grouping of students is confidential. We do not know what statistics this poster has regarding private school and Morakami (determined by lottery) but we suggest that it is all in the opinion of the writer and not based on data. Yes, this school is not what it used to be because if it were we would be stagnant. Education is changing and Sunrise Park is rising to the higher expectations of a changing world.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 31, 2014

The principal is singlehanded lye destroying what used to be a great school! Parents used to be welcome with open arms, but now the words, " we want you in the classroom" are said, but parents are banned for the greater part of the day. The principal has no respect for parents. She snaps at them, yells, and makes nasty comments. She also yells at teachers in front of everyone. It seems no one really understands the reading program. The school enrollment is down because kids go to Morikami or private school rather than go here. For the first time in years, teachers are requesting transfers or taking early retirement. My advice, send your child to another school if you can!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2014

Thought this school would be so much more than what it's turned out to be. Very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

My son transferred to Sunrise this year in 4th grade after a school career filled with falling through the cracks at his other school, despite our continual voiced concerns with his behavior. He was given a 504 for his ADHD at his old school that was never even followed. He was then diagnosed with mild Asperger's syndrome and transferred at the start of 4th grade. He loved Sunrise immediately, as did we. The principal is wonderful and has an ESE background and his teacher has been nothing but supportive and open with issues at home and/or at school. He is in a positive supportive environment with excellent supplemental pullouts as needed and he is thriving for the first time. His self confidence has soared, he has friends and we always know his teachers are looking out for his best interests and they are always available to talk to about concerns. Best move we ever made was to Sunrise Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

Sunrise Park Elementary School continues its tradition of excellence. The leadership of the principal and the effectiveness and commitment of the teaching staff are outstanding.


Posted January 7, 2014

This school is fantastic! Student behavior there is not much of a problem and the school has numerous programs. If your child has trouble learning, they can learn in a slow pace class. I have mixed feelings on the teachers there. All of the teachers are sweet and have a love for kids but some are too inexperienced and don't teach right. At the school there is a club for every kid and a friend for every kid. The school is a safe place with good lunch and well-kept grounds,


Posted January 3, 2014

caring teachers and responsible principle I am happy they way than managing and running it My daughter in second grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

This school has the absolute best ESE teacher on the planet. Anna Lillie has such a way with this special population, it's unbelievable. We need more like her!


Posted October 29, 2013

The Best Group of Teachers led by the most awesome principal! They are doing a fantastic job, keep up the hard work boys and girls, ladies and gentlemen!


Posted October 28, 2013

Sunrise Park has a dedicated and professional team lead by Principal Alicia Steiger. They are known locally for a staff and faculty that goes above and beyond the normal to provide a top level education to our students. In addition the very active parents contribute over 12,000 volunteer hours each year assisting with book fairs, picture days, car line, school fair and more. SPES partners with community agencies to offer such services as mentors for students, grief camp, a reading therapy dog, grandparents in the classroom, and more. Clubs and activities range from self defense, running club and Samaritans to Color Me Happy, Student Council and Art Club.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 27, 2013

Great school with great teachers! Students are challenged and the parents are very involved. My children have been very successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

Sunrise Park is the BEST school in Palm Beach County! We have a phenomenal staff who is truly dedicated to the individual success of each and every Sunrise Park student. We offer an enrichment program for our primary aged students. Our ESE department is top notch and offers students a variety of services and options to meet their diverse and specific needs. We are an "A" rated school and the proud recipient of the prestigious 5 STAR AWARD by the Florida Department of Education for eight consecutive years. This award is due to the efforts of our AMAZING PTA organization. If you want to be involved in your child's school, Sunrise Park Elementary is the school for you! It's truly a team effort at Sunrise Park. SPES ROCKS!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 26, 2013

Sunrise Park elementary school has the most amazing staff and teachers. I am so lucky to be a part of this school with both my children. They are there for me to help with my child's needs and work to help make them both successful. It's a team that is fully committed. I will be sad when it's my time to go. SPES rocks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

I am a very proud and dedicated teacher at sunrise park elementary., and might I also add, a parent of two girls who attended our fabulous school while their sensitive teachers every year met their needs beyond my expectations! You should know that the community within our little school flows and functions like a close and caring family , as well as a top notch A + school made up of dedicated educators and administration. Quite honestly, our principal Mrs. Alecia Steiger never ceases to amaze me with her heartfelt care and concern for her staff and ultimately the kiddos! With my 18 years of teaching experience I have been fortunate to open our sunrise park elementary school and sandpiper shores elementary in our west Boca community. I've resided here and raised my girls here and would like to let others know how very happy you will be when you enroll your children at Sunrise Park Elementary! I welcome you and your family with open arms. Ms. Ivy Soffin second grade teacher.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 21, 2013

I recently moved here from NY and although my chid was in G&T there, we opted for our local school, Sunrise Park. Best decision! My child's teacher is an amazing, kind educator that challenges her in all subject areas. I was nervous about the Florida public school system because I didn't know much about it, I am more than pleased with my decision. This school also has a wonderful PTA that has so many fun activities all the time for the students. Bottom line...my daughter has adjusted so well and absolutely loves going to school everyday. Looking forward to the same experience with my younger child next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

Amazing teachers and leadership at SPES! The atmosphere at Sunrise Park is positive, warm, and inviting! The Principal and Assistant Principal are caring and support all students successes and achievements!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

I have a child in 2nd grade and he has been going to the school since kindergarten. We move to West Boca Raton in 2009, from East Boca. We research all of the schools in the area and found Sunrise Park to be an A rated school. My personal experience with the school for the past 2 years, has been wonderful. The principal and the vice principal are amazing and have all the children best interest in hand. The teachers are wonderful and the parents involvement is awesome. SPES also has a wonderful PTA board and volunteers who do GREAT things for the kids and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

This school is amazing. I have a 3rd grader and 2nd grader, both of them absolutely love it. The teachers here are top notch! The Principal and Assistant Principal truly care about every single child at Sunrise Park. Parent support is great! The staff in the front office is knowledgeable and so friendly. You feel like a big family coming into Sunrise Park. I personally wouldn't go anywhere else! I couldn't be happier with how my children are thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

Recently moved to Florida. Started my son in 1st grade here. Trying to give it some time hoping that the school becomes what I expected it would be according to what I was reading, but my patience is growing thin. There is very little communication, I have no idea if my sons homework is being checked or not, my notes to the teacher aren't being replied to, I'm also not sure if the spelling words he is being given to be tested at the end of the week are being reviewed anywhere else but at home. I'd also like to add that my sons personality has been very different sunce entering this school, and not for the better. Maybe it's just the teacher... Maybe not. Who knows at this point. At this particular point in time, I know I regret moving my child to this school. Here's hopes for something to change my mind and put me at ease.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

For the parent moving from North Fl, we moved to Boca 3 years ago from VA. My daughter is completing 3rd grade, her first at Sunrise, and her 3rd school in 4 years (moving had more to do with this than the school itself, but she did go to Sandpiper for the past 2 years). I am proud to say Sunrise is a big improvement. Her teacher is awesome, well-organized. I have seen her leadership as a class volunteer multiple times. I have also met with my daughter's special teacher - very nice and "with it." This school has its act together!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 29%
Black 3%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%73%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Battle of the Books winner in the South Area, SDPBC (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Five Star School (2013)
  • WPTV Class Act Award, Sunrise Samaritans (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Alicia Steiger
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (561) 477-4350

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Enrichment Grades K-1 FY 2013-2014
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Leveled Literacy Intervention
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Youth Service Bureau
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • After sports programs
Girls sports
  • fee based after school program

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Sunrise Park is a phenomenal school located in the heart of West Boca. Almost half of our staff hold advanced degrees. We work very hard in the classroom to differentiate instruction in order to meet the needs of ALL of our students. Since 2012, we have offered an enrichment program for grades K and 1. SPES offers a variety of ESE programs including a full time Language Learning Disabled Program and an inclusion ASD program. We also offer an ASD Pre K & Speech/Language Pre K models.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Eagles Landing Middle School
Loggers Run Middle School
Don Estridge Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19400 Coral Ridge Dr
Boca Raton, FL 33498
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 477-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





BRJLC LLC
Boca Raton, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT