Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 67 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


88 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunrise Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a teacher
What a wealth of misinformation the previous poster (5/31/14) has written. If you are unhappy with the school that is your prerogative and perception but please do not speak for all the teachers and parents. We have proudly worked at SPES for many years and are neither seeking a transfer nor considering early retirement (even if it were an option). The present administration is nothing short of amazing. She has the best interests of the teachers and students when she made the decision to protect the students from the prying eyes of parents during core instruction. As teachers we do not need parents observing us during instruction and going back into the community to critique us. Even more importantly, children s privacy needs to be protected as well. The grouping of students is confidential. We do not know what statistics this poster has regarding private school and Morakami (determined by lottery) but we suggest that it is all in the opinion of the writer and not based on data. Yes, this school is not what it used to be because if it were we would be stagnant. Education is changing and Sunrise Park is rising to the higher expectations of a changing world.

Sunrise Park Elementary School 1

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
The principal is singlehanded lye destroying what used to be a great school! Parents used to be welcome with open arms, but now the words, " we want you in the classroom" are said, but parents are banned for the greater part of the day. The principal has no respect for parents. She snaps at them, yells, and makes nasty comments. She also yells at teachers in front of everyone. It seems no one really understands the reading program. The school enrollment is down because kids go to Morikami or private school rather than go here. For the first time in years, teachers are requesting transfers or taking early retirement. My advice, send your child to another school if you can!


Sunrise Park Elementary School 1

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
Thought this school would be so much more than what it's turned out to be. Very disappointing.

Sunrise Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
Sunrise Park Elementary School continues its tradition of excellence. The leadership of the principal and the effectiveness and commitment of the teaching staff are outstanding.

Sunrise Park Elementary School 4

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
This school is fantastic! Student behavior there is not much of a problem and the school has numerous programs. If your child has trouble learning, they can learn in a slow pace class. I have mixed feelings on the teachers there. All of the teachers are sweet and have a love for kids but some are too inexperienced and don't teach right. At the school there is a club for every kid and a friend for every kid. The school is a safe place with good lunch and well-kept grounds,


Sunrise Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2014
- a parent
caring teachers and responsible principle I am happy they way than managing and running it My daughter in second grade

Sunrise Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a community member
This school has the absolute best ESE teacher on the planet. Anna Lillie has such a way with this special population, it's unbelievable. We need more like her!

Sunrise Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a community member
The Best Group of Teachers led by the most awesome principal! They are doing a fantastic job, keep up the hard work boys and girls, ladies and gentlemen!


Sunrise Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a teacher
Sunrise Park has a dedicated and professional team lead by Principal Alicia Steiger. They are known locally for a staff and faculty that goes above and beyond the normal to provide a top level education to our students. In addition the very active parents contribute over 12,000 volunteer hours each year assisting with book fairs, picture days, car line, school fair and more. SPES partners with community agencies to offer such services as mentors for students, grief camp, a reading therapy dog, grandparents in the classroom, and more. Clubs and activities range from self defense, running club and Samaritans to Color Me Happy, Student Council and Art Club.

Sunrise Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
Great school with great teachers! Students are challenged and the parents are very involved. My children have been very successful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunrise Park Elementary School
19400 Coral Ridge Dr, Boca Raton, FL  33498
(561) 477-4300
Last modified Sunrise Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunrise Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. Top