Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grandview Preparatory School

Private | PK-12 | 250 students

Grandview is best known for personalized education and service learning
 
 

 
 

Living in Boca Raton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $232,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 32 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

80 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2014

I graduated from Grandview and now I work here. Amazing school, staff and students! I love Grandview!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2014

Grandview Prep School is the place to attend if you want personal attention, caring teachers, open access to clubs and athletics, academic advancement and an overall awesome school experience!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2014

My son has attended Grandview Prep since turning 3. He is in the Early Childhood class with Mr. Behrmann. I love the staff at Grandview, the personal attention he receives, as well as the overall community of the school. In his short time there, I feel my son's social skills have flourished. He is happy when coming and going, and he enjoys the enrichment opportunities available. Additionally, I have been very pleased with the swim class after-care. In just a few weeks, my son has become a more confident swimmer, which translates to a more relaxed time around water for me! Although I only see the other children in a limited sense, I continue to be impressed with the older students at the school who know my son's name, hold doors for me when I am on campus, and seem to be genuinely interested in learning and each other. In a very busy area, Grandview is a breath of fresh air with a caring, nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Grandview Prep is a wonderful school. I am proud to be a part of the caring and supportive staff that focuses its attention on each individual student. The staff and administration strive to create positive learning experiences while providing a safe and welcoming environment for all students and families. I am grateful for the opportunity to work with such intelligent and nurturing people. I highly recommend all families to consider Grandview.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

This small school offers a lot. My children have every opportunity to be involved in sports (no cut policy), student government, clubs, and community service. They have learned character and compassion through hands on House Activities. The teachers are caring and creative with the academics. Our family has been very happy with Grandview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Grandview has been a dream come true when my two children started here, I love every single thing about this school. The teachers that teach at Grandview are so caring about your child and his/her schoolwork and education . If your child needs extra help after school it's there for them. The children all know each other and it feels like a big family instead of a school. There's never any bullying which now a days is such a big thing in schools ..I would never want my children to attend another school other than Grandview. This school so deserves FIVE stars !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

A school yes! There is a building, there are teachers and books and buses too! Grandview Prep has all these things, which makes it a school. We are not only a school, we are team members working together for a common goal and that goal is our children, how they learn and what they learn and the resources in which they learn from. In this place each family is considered part of the Grandview Team. When you are here you don't want to leave...you feel as if you are already home.. To call it just a school is no way near what Grandview is. No matter your differences here at Grandview we all come together to nurture that common goal. Our children....I.Love this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Grandview is an independent school with an amazing staff! in total different level than the average school out there ! Number 1 !! In the state of Florida !! And top 10 cross country !!! That's for sure !! Grandview is unique , wonderful !! I have one daughter that attends this marvelous school ! That was the best decision I ever made for her !! No regrets!! Thank you Very much Grandview!!! For this wonderful work !! From the bottom of my heart I wish the best for this scholl and for the teachers and staff in general for give all the love and attention that our kids needs to be prepare for the long years to come and their lives !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Just love this school! Our son has never been so happy with a school so a big thank you to Grandview:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

Grandview Preparatory School is a small, diverse community committed to the philosophy that education is a personal endeavor. Grandview pairs timeless ethics with modern thought and personal attention with global consciousness while preparing students for college and life beyond. I am often asked what sets Grandview apart from other schools, and my answer usually centers on the fact that a Grandview education truly is a personal endeavor. Education in the modern world requires attention to the individual learner. In an increasingly impersonal era, it is uncommon to stand face to face, to talk one on one, and to listen heart to heart. At Grandview, the size of our school and the personal relationships among students, faculty, and families guarantee that no one is lost in a crowd. Grandview students develop strong leadership skills because leadership grows from confidence. Confidence grows from practice. Practice begins with participation. Our students participate in all aspects of school life, taking intellectual risks, challenging themselves in an effort to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Grandview is so much more than a school. While the academics are vast and tailored to each student's needs, the attention to the student as a whole is immense. I feel blessed to be able to be a part of the Grandview family and think any child who attends is at a huge advantage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Second year my son has been here at Grandview and we just love it. All the staff are great and everyone is so helpful. The classes are small so kids get great teacher attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

One of the most important things about Grandview Preparatory in Boca Raton is the fact you can e-mail the teachers. They will respond, they care about the students. The school is small enough that they know each student by name. The school stresses learning the skills to work as a team, with students of all ages. I feel this is very important as we all need to know how to get along with others when we enter the work force, or anything else we choose to do in life. I am happy to say bullying is not tolerated- this was a problem in the large public school and no one seemed to have a solution there. I would rate this school very highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

We just love this school, the staff, the curriculum, the aftercare everyone is just so friendly and caring. Very up with the changes in the real world and eager to keep up with the times. Pool and other sports facilities are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Grandview is a family. This small school offers children a warm, nurturing environment along with a solid learning atmosphere. It is nice to know that your child is never a number - everyone knows their name. From Pre-K all the way through to high school, the kids know and respect each other. It is also comforting to see that character building and creative thinking are valued along with academics. Teachers educate the whole child - and all of the various components - not just the part that can memorize the facts for the test. The extra-curricular offerings are fantastic with greatly successful middle and high school teams. Coaches have won state championships and trained Olympic athletes. Music, dance, theater and art offerings are exemplary. Kids have fun while they are learning and learn to have fun. Grandview is a great place to be a kid - or an adult. Teachers, children and parents alike are happy with the atmosphere at Grandview. Our children have thrived in this setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

This is our second year at the school and we love it. I have kids in grade 4 and 5. The teachers are wonderful, helpful and all around fantastic. When there is an issue it is dealt with right away. Both of my children have commented on different teachers saying that they inspire them. The teachers are all very passionate. The only thing I wish is that there was lower school sports. I could not ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Our school Grandview Preparatory is warm loving and nurturing enviorment. The staff is amazing the teacher give 120% of themselves. The word no does not exsist, when it comes to the knowledge that each teacher gives to every student . The parents are always included and notified of every aspect of your child's education . I travel a long distance and it is worth every minute. My daugter loves school and is doing well. She made the Dean's List and has a 4.22 and that is honors classes. Also she plays 3 sports. They have a great athletic program and if your child needs help they are always there to help them along. Our family is proud and honored to call Grandview our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

My School is amazing everyone is family. You can't walk past the hallway without a little kid smiling, getting a hug from a teacher, or a conservation with a friend. Its a amazing school. you are not a number like in a public school, you a person and apart of the family.It great cause yours kids can learn beyond what FCATS. do to you. They don't even have Fcats here!


Posted October 22, 2013

We have two kids at Grandview Preparatory School. Our younger student began last year and our older one started this year. We are very happy with all the school has to provide. They are receiving an excellent education, healthy lunch meals provided by a dining company, safe environment, enrichment galore, and learning to be great citizens! We love the small size classes and individual learning plans. Grandview Preparatory School is truly a gem. Families in the area should consider this school for their kids.We are glad that we did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

Hi I am a parent at Grandview, my daughter has been going to this school since 3rd grade, her achievement and her interest in school is sky high. She loves this school and is doing very well, she puts her 100%. Not only that my daughter loves this school but she feels like she's at home, and what I mean by that is that shes very comfortable at this school, the teachers, the students, the staff all know each other and if my daughter is walking to her next class a senior who who knows my daughter will say hi. This school is not only very friendly but, very family oriented, you feel like your at home. Its a loving environment. Everyone know everyone. Its a good feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Black 8% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • SADD
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jacqueline Westerfield
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (561) 416-9739

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Dual-Enrollment with local universities
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Odyssey of the Mind
  • Recycling club
  • SADD
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Grandview Preparatory School is an independent, co-educational day school offering enrollment for students in Early Childhood through Grade 12. Our small, diverse community provides a unique educational program designed to engage each student in the active pursuit of knowledge, character, and leadership.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

336 NW Spanish River Blvd
Boca Raton, FL 33431
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 416-9737

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Advent Lutheran School
Boca Raton, FL


New Horizon Academy
Boca Raton, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT