Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grandview Preparatory School

Private | PK-12 | 250 students

Grandview is best known for personalized education and service learning
 
 

 
 

Living in Boca Raton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $232,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 32 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2012

Positive reviews of the school sound like advertisements. My experiences as a GPS parent have been very different . As others pointed out, staff keeps getting smaller and the teacher turnover is very high. There is no consistency. The staff is unprofessional and the gossip between parents and teachers is unprofessional. Not suited for an educational environment with children of all ages present. As another commenter pointed out, bulling is common. Several Pre-K kids report foul language, some informing parents that teachers curse on the phone, while the kids are napping. Older kids entering the school are those who are expelled or rejected by better schools. For parents considering sending their kids to GPS, I advise to research thoroughly. This school and its education is not worth the money. If you have options, consider a more stable and caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

Our youngest son attended Grandview last year as a Kindergartner. We did not continue at Grandview due to relocation. The Kindergarten experience was wonderful. Grandview does a fantastic job of fostering a community feel among the parents. Staff is truly devoted to the kids and strives to remain educated and on the forefront of education. It was well worth the bite to the budget.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

Grandview is wonderful. The administration is open minded, forward thinking and very caring. I wouldn't want my son any where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this school. They build character in your child! It is a loving and family type atmosphere. The teachers are excellent. My son just started this year in 7th grade and I wish I would have had him there years ago. I am extremely happy at Grandview!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

We are new to GPS this year, but so glad we made the switch from a public school to GPS. So far my daughter has come home from school happy every day. Her enthusiasm for learning has returned. She loves all the electives that the school offers, her favorite class is Dance. The staff and administration along with all the parents and students have all been so nice. Love it here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

We are a new family in the school, we are very happy for what they are doing with all the kids, we are part of a great family, they are constantly in communication with us, have been very supportive to my daughter, are very aware of children and my daughter is really happy, she is in a happy, Athletic, ecologic, healthy and safe environment, learning to live with responsability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

I am dissappointed with GrandView. The personalized attention I was expecting from a small environment is just not there because its staff keeps getting smaller and the teacher turnover is high. And even the better teachers that remain are just reacting to the system, probably worried about keeping their jobs instead of reaching out to students for a bit personalized attention and coaching. The administration does not hesitate to enforce detentions for tardies but they do not enforce office hours for teachers which results in students needing to get outside assistance on harder subjects - such as Algebra. Communication with the teachers and administration is not fluid- too bureaucratic for such a small school. I don't feel the standard of care is as advertised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

As I new parent this school year, I could not be happier with the school. I love the small family feel of the school and my child is thriving! Grandview is an honest school that recognizes where it can improve and is striving to reach it's full potential academically and culturally with an awesome focus on humanity and our part in the community as a whole. Thank you to the teachers and staff for all you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

My daughter started at Grandview this year.She is in 3rd grade.We are so happy with her growth academically and socially.She has developed a self confidence and a love for learning we could only dream of.This definitely is due to the smaller classes and individualized attention.At Grandview you never feel like a number!She is taking Spanish and now starting French!She also loves the fine music and sports program.I feel the school is giving our daughter a well rounded balanced education within a diverse student body and preparing her for real life!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

Back stabbing by administration and staff is prevalent. Stay away from the after hours courses. Staff turns a blind eye. They truly couldn't care less. We are looking for another school that doesn't condone bullying by students OR adults. This school has been steadily going downhill for 3 yrs and now it's time to let the ship sink.


Posted July 20, 2010

Grandview has to be the best thing that has happened to my two children, the faculty is incredible and always there to assist and help you when needed, The teachers are so helpful when your child needs extra help with their studies. There is not one thing I would change about this school, My two children thank us every day that they are able to attend grandview and enjoy going there..The principal goes above and beyond her duty to help make the families happy and every child that attends grandview knows she is there for them. all I can say is hands down Grandview Preparatory school is a TEN rating in our family !!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2010

Very nice school. My daughter was doing well at another private school, but the school and kids seemed to teach that money was the end all be all. There was no community and no sense of belonging except for the kind of car you drove or how big your house is. The teachers seemed to buy into this as well. Grandview is a very down to earth place and, despite the fact, that probably many people are rich, they don't flaunt it and act like regular people. Teachers and administration are great too...they help the kids and treat you like a person ...not like a prospective donor. The PTA is a very nice group as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

My child attended this school years ago, but left for a variety of reasons and now attends public school. My child was unprepared on so many levels after leaving Grandview, but particularly academically. The reviewer below who stated teachers play favorites and that the curriculum is watered down is absolutely correct. I cannot fathom sending a child to this school and then expecting them to be prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

The teachers do play favorites. The administration is back stabbing to parents and students. If they do not like you, or you don't fit in with their so called philosophy then they sabotage the students grade, or make the students life so miserable it forces them to leave, or they kick you out for false reasons. The curriculum is watered down so that they can get the kids into university, once the students are there the school could care less that the students are unprepared. There is a lot of smoke and mirrors, and parents are told what they want to hear, and unfortunately the parents fall for it every time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

As a grandmother I am telling you this school is wonderful! They are family oriented, in that all family members get involved in the child's overall education. It's like it used to be when I was a child. They teach lost values like common sense, ethics, striving for excellence and enjoyment/fulfillment of learning. My grandson is always happy and ready to tell you what he learned that day. It's all very exciting for him! Enrollment is down due to the recession. This is NOT an ordinary prep school. Most of these kids are from regular backgrounds and many of their parents go without everything else to send them here. This is how school is supposed to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

Our children have been at Grandview for several years now and have thrived. I can't imagine another school where the teachers could be so connected with who they are as individuals and care so sincerely about them. Some schools are great at taking already talented kids and helping them along the way, but the teachers at Grandview also take the time to discover the talent and foster it. It's also a place where our kids can be with a diverse population and come to value individual differences. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

My son attended seventh grade at this school and when he need additional help understanding complex math/algebra the teacher told him to hire a tutor. These people are more concerned about getting the $18,000 per year out of your pocket book and doing as little as possible work versus caring about the quality of a student's education! My child is now in a public school getting a far better education without spending $18,000 per year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

My daughter attends Grandview, (senior high school student), and has had academically challenging coursework, in a family supportive, community environment. The faculty is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

The teachers play favorites. If they don't like you they don't treat you very well. At my old school I was advanced and got A's and B's, but at this school the work is not interesting, and I have fallen behind, especially when I compare the work I'm doing with my friend who is in public school, I can see that I'm not doing the work that I'm suppose to be doing. I can't wait to leave this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2009

My son has attended Grandview for the past 2 years and just loves it. He prefers the small class size and is glad to not be treated like a just a number, as he had been treated in the large public schools in Palm Beach County. Most students are involved in sports or other extracurricular activities offered by the school. The teachers are there to listen to my concerns when they arise and issues I've had are dealt with quickly. There is good communication on the part of the teachers and school staff. I love that the importance of community service is stressed and most students participate in volunteer/community service activities such as cleaning up the road, food drives, Hope Tote program, adopting families at holiday time, etc. My only concern is the lack of preparation for standardized testing, which the students will have to take at some point.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Black 8% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • SADD
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jacqueline Westerfield
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (561) 416-9739

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Dual-Enrollment with local universities
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Odyssey of the Mind
  • Recycling club
  • SADD
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Grandview Preparatory School is an independent, co-educational day school offering enrollment for students in Early Childhood through Grade 12. Our small, diverse community provides a unique educational program designed to engage each student in the active pursuit of knowledge, character, and leadership.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

336 NW Spanish River Blvd
Boca Raton, FL 33431
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 416-9737

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Advent Lutheran School
Boca Raton, FL


New Horizon Academy
Boca Raton, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT