Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grandview Preparatory School

Private | PK-12 | 250 students

Grandview is best known for personalized education and service learning
 
 

 
 

Living in Boca Raton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $232,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 32 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2009

Moved from New Jersey. Our daughter is on the fast track here. Very please with the progress and the hollistic approach. Strong academics and a school size just right. No pretentious attitudes here - solid values, self-esteem and fun are what count here. Very international.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

This is not a school worthy of the price. The computers are there as 'props' because they don't work. You are asked to purchase supplies for your children, yet they add an additional charge to the tuition for 'supplies'. It seems like almost the entire student body is made up of children or grandchildren of faculty members and the academics are not evenly distributed to students. The Headmistress is very difficult to deal with as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I went there for one year before I transferred. The academics were a joke, and I wish I could take back that year at a better private school or a public school. The teachers do not prepare students for the SAT or ACT, and many students are left with very poor scores. I transferred to a very rigorous private school where I learned Grandview had not prepared me at all for college level success. My SAT tutor agreed that Grandview was very poor academically, and didn t prepare students for standardized tests. Aside from the academics, Grandview is nice community with decent extracurricular activities.


Posted December 15, 2008

I went there for one year before I transferred. The academics were a joke, and I wish I could take back that year at a better private school or a public school. The teachers do not prepare students for the SAT or ACT, and many students are left with very poor scores. I transferred to a very rigorous private school where I learned Grandview had not prepared me at all for college level success. My SAT tutor agreed that Grandview was very poor academically, and didn t prepare students for standardized tests. Aside from the academics, Grandview is nice community with decent extracurricular activities.


Posted September 20, 2008

overall a very good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

Grandview has proven its worth to my family. From the incredible teaching staff, the indiviualized programs, the multi-cultural student body to the incredible lunch program, we have found nothing to make us question our decision to send our child to this school. Any time our child has had any difficulty the staff has been very thorough in not only handling the situation but also in keeping us up to date of our child's progress with it. The academic standard set by this school is high but the students are given the necessary tools to meet it and there is always a teacher available for extra help when needed. We have nothing but praise for this wonderful, family oriented school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

It is a cute school, but not one of any academic strength. There is a large ratio of teachers and staff that are parents or grandparents to students. It has not been challenging to my child academically. The faculty and staff are very nice. This school is not spectacular and not worth it for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

Grandview is a small school with marvelous caring teachers and an ability to tailor curriculum to the needs of each child. The atmosphere is one of community - all the kids, parents and teachers know each other and look out for one another. Extra curricular activites are quite diverse for such a small school. High school teams are competitive adding positively to school spirit. If glitz and glamour are key to you - this is not the right school. Grandview offers a great private school education with small class sizes in a nurturing atmosphere. Our children have thrived here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

Grandview has high academic standards and, despite its location in wealthy Boca Raton, FL- it promotes strong 'Mid-western' values- My children love the teachers, participate in many of the strong athletic programs and earn good grades and test scores... who could ask for more?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

Grandview has come a long way in the past several years. Teachers really seem to care about my children's success and understanding of what is being taught. Even though the middle and upper school is small, my kids have learned so much. The teachers are very creative with their lessons and my children have learned hands on. This approach makes learning much more impacting. The administration has an 'open door policy' and have been very open minded when bringing up ideas. This has made me feel very comfortable where I feel I am a part of my childrens education. Teachers post weekly progress reports on Edline so I know everything that is going on from assignments to HW to upcoming tests. This young school really has it going on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

Grandview is a great school. It is a small, friendly place that offers excellent academics, a great sports program, a plethora of extra-curricular activities, and a terrific community service and international exchange program. Grandview gives your child the opportunity to excel in many different areas and become a well rounded person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

Grandview has been a place where my children can grow both personally and academically. Strong personal attention. Middle and High school is small but excellent. Great community service and character building...amazing staff. Could benefit from more community exposure and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

great quality of teachers in the lower school, awesome music teacher, awesome phys ed, great after school and school shows, could use more after school excerise options caring and welcome parental involvlement. Good parents committee to raise money and have family oriented events lower school principal great, overall school has a very friendly accepting and welcoming feel to it -- committed to making the kids feel special
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

Grandview offers excellent academic programs in a small campus setting. Lower school classes average 15 students. The small setting allows for a 'family' atmosphere which is very nuturing and allows for individual attention to students. My children have greatly benefited by the structure and size of Grandview. The school has numerous music, sports and other extracurricular activites for all grade levels. My children participate in Tae Kwon Do, Swimming, Glee Club and Band. Other activities, clubs and teams include golf, baseball, basketball, lacrosse, tennis, dance teams, drama, yoga, volleyball, swim team, academic clubs and others. Parental involvement is high with many social events held throughout the year. Emphasis is on 'family-friendly' activities. We have greatly enjoyed our Grandview experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

Very good school with small classes (less than 20 in a class) parent involvement encouraged and easy builds confidence with the smaller kids - works to make them feel part of the school family. Excellent primary grades teachers - supportive and enthusiastic
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2004

Great small school community atmosphere where faculty and staff will recognize not only students' faces but parents as well. Small teacher/student ratio. Strong lower school; needs to build on upper school matriculation. School seems to be just starting to get off its feet though it is 7 years old. There is great potential though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

My children love the small class sizes, the individual attention and the warm 'family-like' feeling that they get when they go to school.My kids were there for pre-k and are now in kindergarten and they are thriving in this nurturing environment. We are very happy there. The school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Grandview School has put in an enormous amount of time an effort to not only provide the best education but to making it fun for the students as well. They really listen to everyone parents and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

The best thing about Grandview Prep is how my son has been given individualized attention by teachers and administration. This has helped him achieve academically, socially and has helped him develop important life skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Black 8% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • SADD
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jacqueline Westerfield
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (561) 416-9739

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Dual-Enrollment with local universities
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Odyssey of the Mind
  • Recycling club
  • SADD
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Grandview Preparatory School is an independent, co-educational day school offering enrollment for students in Early Childhood through Grade 12. Our small, diverse community provides a unique educational program designed to engage each student in the active pursuit of knowledge, character, and leadership.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

336 NW Spanish River Blvd
Boca Raton, FL 33431
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 416-9737

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Advent Lutheran School
Boca Raton, FL


New Horizon Academy
Boca Raton, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT