Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
250 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
100 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 156 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grandview Preparatory School 1

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
Terrible follow through and consistency in all areas of the school. Each year will be completely different (not for the good) with no notice to the families. It is not uncommon to see multiple teachers coming and going throughout the school year. The Head of School runs the place like and experiment, changing policies and curriculum on a whim, at the expense of the students. It seems at this point that the Head is just putting out fires as they arise. It's quite a shame to see such a downward spiral for Grandview. We are moving our children at the end of this year and not looking back. We are among many many other families doing the same. Academics are nothing special either.

Grandview Preparatory School 1

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Turnover at the school is ridiculous. Part-time teachers. Leaving after the year is over. Administration has no clue on how to run a school. Constantly asking for money.


Grandview Preparatory School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
There are teachers that are too soft in their approach. However, majority of the teachers are firm and focussed on learning.

Grandview Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
I share the same ethos with the school that children should be given the chance to enjoy their childhood and not bombarded with homework.

Grandview Preparatory School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
The school has a very well-rounded programme that and provides the supports and facilitate resources to those students who has strong academic background.


Grandview Preparatory School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
Students are encouraged to engage and participate in activities by giving them a sense of purpose and acknowledging their strengths.

Grandview Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
The children are encouraged to express and approach their teachers and being listened to when the students are upset or feeling left out.

Grandview Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
They resolve issues fairly and promptly. In times of complex, they listen to both parties involved.


Grandview Preparatory School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
Grandview is an incredible and family-oriented school. All schools have its flaws. Nevertheless, I have so much good things to say about this school. This school has numerous school activities. In particular, it has an excellent drama and music programme embedded into their curriculum, which made the children get out of their nutshells and allows them to shine. They have a great Jr. Innovation Programme, of which my child is currently part of, empowering children to discover their passion and learn at the same time. My child has flourished academically and has made lasting great friends, As a parent, I also got to know and made friends with the parents in my child's class, her teachers, and the staff. This school has definitely given my child a well-rounded life experience and lasting learning. It has a great leader who instils good moral lessons to the kids - the school's creed sums it all! As a parent, when I drop off my child every morning, it feels good on my drive to work, to think that my child is going to have a great day at school as she is greeted by her teachers at the carline and being warmly welcomed by the older girls and staff as she enters into the reception. And when I pick her up after school, the glimmers in her eyes are indescribable. My child has been in this school for 2 years and fitted in like a glove with the school. It has identified her strengths and has helped her get to where she is now. We felt so lucky to have found Grandview as this has also become an extended home for my child.

Grandview Preparatory School 4

Posted March 12, 2016
- a parent
When I take the time to review things, I take it very seriously. No school is all good or bad. We have had an overall very good experience here (really a 4.5). Administration is proactive and very involved. They know who each kid is--your child is not just a number. As a private school they need to solicit money (or raise fees) but they do it appropriately, respectfully, and creatively (e.g., a lottery to win free tuition). Academics focus on long term projects, student led learning, creativity and problem-solving rather than rote learning and homework...and the research backs them up that this is better for the children long run. I have a pretty good handle on what my friends' kids are doing in other schools and in most areas I think they are way ahead, but lower school math does seem to be behind. Having only one teacher per year has the positive effect of making it a small family-like environment--but if there is an issue with the teacher (which we have this year) we have to face either disrupting our child by switching schools or just trying to make it through the year. In a larger school we might just switch classes. We've had such great interactions with the caring people there but this one teacher really is not always handling her class effectively and is definitely playing favorites with kids and treating them differently. Its sad, because my review last year was a 5 (or more!). The school has immense promise & a worthy mission but needs to be more on top of what the teachers are doing (not just what they *say* they're doing). However, this is our unique experience & I'm looking forward to returning to an unqualified 5 next year....when friends ask me, I say YES this is a great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grandview Preparatory School
336 NW Spanish River Blvd, Boca Raton, FL  33431
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 156 reviews. (561) 416-9737
Last modified Grandview Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top