Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,244 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Don Estridge High Tech Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Lewin is a student favorite from what I hear..every child I've spoken with says that she really cares about them and offers sound advice.

Don Estridge High Tech Middle School 3

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Like every school, there are good things and bad things. There are lots of sports to try out for if you are excellent at that sport (since there is high competition to make the teams, lots of kids do club teams outside of school). The uniforms for sports are nice. Some of the teachers are beyond excellent. On the other hand, some teachers shouldn't be there. The administration and guidance are average for all of the schools, no superstars, but no duds either. The PTA seems good. I don't like how they use push buttons for testing, they don't work sometimes, which reflects on the child's grade. There are not a lot of computers for use by the students, and a lot of colaboration is done which is difficult since kids are spread out over the entire county. You really need a phone or a tablet when you go here since it's the only way to be able to do some of the work in the classes, the teacher's expect you to do a lot of the work with your own technology, because usually you can't use the schools. I suppose like all schools there is a fair amount of bullies, and it's hard to control them since some parents are just as bad. The hours are difficult (9:30-4:15) because kids start late and get out late. But all in all, an average school with both good and bad.


Don Estridge High Tech Middle School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
This is my kids 2nd year at Don Estridge, I appreciate all the Teachers and the Administration.

Don Estridge High Tech Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a community member
this school couldnt be better i love it. i cant explain the improvements i have made in these past days. thank you

Don Estridge High Tech Middle School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
Terrific school! Both of my kids have attended and have had academically challenging and disciplined study. Keep up the good work!


Don Estridge High Tech Middle School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I'm currently an 8th grade student here at Don Estridge, and it's OK. MOST of the teachers here are amazing. There's just a select few that ruin it for me. Don't get me wrong; I've learned a great deal at this school and I felt safe, secure, and that I was getting a good education. There are just some teachers though who do not even come close to the others. They don't really pay attention to who's being disruptive and can get very off topic. Also, the administration has been going way overboard for lunches. We've had to have assigned seating and silent lunches at our only free time during school. That is definitely not fair to the students that do the right thing. Other than unfairness and some of the teachers, this school has a lot to offer. I highly recommend taking art as an elective. Mr. Green is fantastic and an inspiration. Also, Mr. Francis has an awesome technology class but that's about as high tech as it gets except for CPS. My test scores have gone up each year and I've learned a lot here. I have to say I will miss Don Estridge.

Don Estridge High Tech Middle School 5

Posted January 04, 2014
- a community member
As a former Don Estridge student I say in all honesty that this school didn't make me resent getting out of bed in the morning. The teachers are more than amazing at their job and try to improve if given constructive criticism. Yes there may be lots of homework, but only for difficult courses. If your child can`t handle the curriculum then they should get a schedule change. I left that school with three high school credits and a great education, I`m proud to say I`m the alumni of Don Estridge High Tech Middle School.

Don Estridge High Tech Middle School 1

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
Don't let the name fool you...There is nothing high tech about this school. 'High tech' means the kids have to use remote controls to enter their test answers so it's easier for the teachers to grade. Lots of homework, with little content. Academics take a back seat to everything, especially sports. There aren't any academic awards for 6th or 7th graders but 1st cuts of the volleyball team makes the front page of the website. Absolutely NO consistency in the use of the main communication channel (Edline). Teachers routinely post erroneous grades & do NOT keep the calendar updated. This means posted homework assignments aren't really due on the posted dates and tests/quizzes 'appear' out of nowhere the day before. This is NOT just 1 teachers: This is 75% of them. The icing on the cake are the 'Silent Lunches' where the kids are not allowed to talk during lunch. Ridiculous. Ironically there is no real discipline as students who are disruptive just have to leave class & come back the next day to repeat it. Students caught CHEATING ON TESTS are just asked to stop cheating. Things have changed since 2011 & Don Estridge is turning in his grave that this school carries his namesake.


Don Estridge High Tech Middle School 5

Posted November 06, 2011
- a parent
"The Don" is an awesome school. I highly recommend it! From the beginning, I was impressed with so many things. There was a helpful new parent orientation which was very organized and informative. The school is very safe (no/min bullies), no dudes with attitudes, no drugs, and it is impeccably clean. The teachers are very knowledgeable, helpful, caring, organized, positive people who use unique and creative ways to teach. They remind students of H W and upcoming tests. They go the extra mile to offer help! The admin, office staff and guidance staff is very helpful too. Any emails or problems were handed quickly and responded to. The courses included today's technology as promised. The only negative thing was the adaptation socially. Keep in mind only a certain amount ie,( 3-5) students from a lot of different schools in the county get picked for the lottery. Your child will not know many people going into the school. This could be a big adjustment if your child was socially active in elementary school.

Don Estridge High Tech Middle School 1

Posted May 10, 2011
- a community member
The schools teachers are ok. There is alot of different races. I did'nt like it because they treated me UNFAIRLY, i cant stress that anymore. I wouldn't want to see your kid have the same problem.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Don Estridge High Tech Middle School
1798 Spanish River Boulevard, Boca Raton, FL  33431
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (561) 989-7800
Last modified Don Estridge High Tech Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top