Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,022 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sunset Palms Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
I hit the lottery this year. Mrs. Holcombe is such an amazing teacher. Very supportive, flexible, patient, and organized. She has a wonderful way to support all different levels of learners. Very knowledgable teaching practices and her teacher-student interaction I would rate an A+. She has taken my child from below level to near level (we didn't get so lucky last year). I hope to repeat this experience of teaching next year.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 4

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
Everything about this school year is 5 stars. My child's experience this year has been extremely positive. I wish I could say the same about last year. How could the teaching practices be so extreme? We have experienced teaching styles that are truly horrible one year and then absolutely wonderful the next. That being said, I am optimistic next school year my child will encounter the same level of education received this year.


Sunset Palms Elementary School 2

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
As other parents have stated, yes this school looks good on paper but in reality, is not a "great school". Your child will learn the standards (reading, writing and math), but don't expect much exposure to non-core topics. I don't feel SPE provides out-of-the-box thinking or a truly nurturing environment for young elementary students. I agree that the school has a very sterile feeling and that overall, the administration (top down) is not open to new ideas/concerns. I have not seen flexibility with parents, yet I have seen "rules" bent for teachers or PTA staff. The focus of Sunset Palms is TEST SCORES: If you are seeking a multi-faceted, kid-friendly education, I'd suggest looking at other schools in the area. In addition, the school has become crowded, and next year it will be even worse.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 3

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
I think overall it is pretty good. Many good teachers, though a few bad apples that the principal knows about, but they never get fired. Main gripe is teaching to the test, though I think this is happening district-wide. Also would like to see more computer instruction happening, across all grades. Science class seems to be mostly watching videos. Principal is very aloof to parents, does not have open door to parental concerns. Replace the principal and asst. principal with passionate people who care about the kids, and this would be a much better school.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
This is the best school ever! Everyone has its best interest at heart. Highly recommended!!


Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Sunset Palms is an awesome schoool frtom the moment you walik into the school you are welcomed. The Teachers and Principal are hard working. They positive atmosphere at the school is encouragaing to our children not to mention the media center.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Sunset Palms has proven to be an A rated school not only in terms of grades but as far as parental support, communication and charitable involvement in the community. The way it reaches out to all student and families in order to help those less fortunate has shown their commitment to the community, not only its' own school, but the neighboring schools.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a community member
Continued -What They Did Gain Is The Love Of Learning,Reading,Science,Music,Art,Computers,Book Fairs,Fabulous Field Trips,Author Visits,Reading Celebrations,Incredible Imaginations,Fun Field Days, Bingo Nights,Holiday & Special Celebrations,Friendly Competition! To Win, Lose Gracefully-Receive 100% or To Prepare More,Maybe they did Their very Best For Now & Will Do Better Next Time.


Sunset Palms Elementary School 2

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
Is very overrated! Principal is never seen and her focus is ONLY on FCAT scores! There is no innovative teaching going on whatsoever! Children are being bullied at lunchtime which is most likely because of the way the cafeteria and the tables are set up as well as during recess. The guidance counselor and administration turn a blind eye to parent and student complaints by placating the situations. This school looks good on paper but in reality is no better than any other school with many internal problems with many low quality teachers and uninvolved administration. The hardest and most dedicated employees are the front office staff and assistants!

Sunset Palms Elementary School 1

Posted April 04, 2013
- a parent
Needs a lot of improvement. My child has also been doing differential equations. The method used was overly complicated. This is how the school is run - nothing makes sense or is standard from one class to another. Some great teachers but some awfu ones. One teacher has had compaints since the opening. Principal won't get rid of her. Principal should be fired. She is weak and doesn't manage or develop her teachers. From SAC meetings, I can say she is a "NO" person. Nothing can change or get better with this type of attitude. Florida has a terrible school system but with a strong principal, all students could still excel. I know because I've learned to teach my 3 children what that they don't get at school by reading and getting ideas online. The teachers teach from the book, that's it - no creativity. They also teach to the test when they teach: 5th grade doesn't do any writing because there isn't a 5th grade FCAT writing exam. Our science teacher shows a video, does digital lessons and allows the children to read their books. She doesn't acutally teach the class. I've been told many times C is average-it's OK. Such a poor attitude

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset Palms Elementary School
8650 West Boynton Beach Boulevard, Boynton Beach, FL  33472
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (561) 752-1100
Last modified Sunset Palms Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top