Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Boynton Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 982
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunset Palms Elementary School 2

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
As other parents have stated, yes this school looks good on paper but in reality, is not a "great school". Your child will learn the standards (reading, writing and math), but don't expect much exposure to non-core topics. I don't feel SPE provides out-of-the-box thinking or a truly nurturing environment for young elementary students. I agree that the school has a very sterile feeling and that overall, the administration (top down) is not open to new ideas/concerns. I have not seen flexibility with parents, yet I have seen "rules" bent for teachers or PTA staff. The focus of Sunset Palms is TEST SCORES: If you are seeking a multi-faceted, kid-friendly education, I'd suggest looking at other schools in the area. In addition, the school has become crowded, and next year it will be even worse.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 3

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
I think overall it is pretty good. Many good teachers, though a few bad apples that the principal knows about, but they never get fired. Main gripe is teaching to the test, though I think this is happening district-wide. Also would like to see more computer instruction happening, across all grades. Science class seems to be mostly watching videos. Principal is very aloof to parents, does not have open door to parental concerns. Replace the principal and asst. principal with passionate people who care about the kids, and this would be a much better school.


Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
This is the best school ever! Everyone has its best interest at heart. Highly recommended!!

Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Sunset Palms is an awesome schoool frtom the moment you walik into the school you are welcomed. The Teachers and Principal are hard working. They positive atmosphere at the school is encouragaing to our children not to mention the media center.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Sunset Palms has proven to be an A rated school not only in terms of grades but as far as parental support, communication and charitable involvement in the community. The way it reaches out to all student and families in order to help those less fortunate has shown their commitment to the community, not only its' own school, but the neighboring schools.


Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a community member
Continued -What They Did Gain Is The Love Of Learning,Reading,Science,Music,Art,Computers,Book Fairs,Fabulous Field Trips,Author Visits,Reading Celebrations,Incredible Imaginations,Fun Field Days, Bingo Nights,Holiday & Special Celebrations,Friendly Competition! To Win, Lose Gracefully-Receive 100% or To Prepare More,Maybe they did Their very Best For Now & Will Do Better Next Time.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 2

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
Is very overrated! Principal is never seen and her focus is ONLY on FCAT scores! There is no innovative teaching going on whatsoever! Children are being bullied at lunchtime which is most likely because of the way the cafeteria and the tables are set up as well as during recess. The guidance counselor and administration turn a blind eye to parent and student complaints by placating the situations. This school looks good on paper but in reality is no better than any other school with many internal problems with many low quality teachers and uninvolved administration. The hardest and most dedicated employees are the front office staff and assistants!

Sunset Palms Elementary School 1

Posted April 04, 2013
- a parent
Needs a lot of improvement. My child has also been doing differential equations. The method used was overly complicated. This is how the school is run - nothing makes sense or is standard from one class to another. Some great teachers but some awfu ones. One teacher has had compaints since the opening. Principal won't get rid of her. Principal should be fired. She is weak and doesn't manage or develop her teachers. From SAC meetings, I can say she is a "NO" person. Nothing can change or get better with this type of attitude. Florida has a terrible school system but with a strong principal, all students could still excel. I know because I've learned to teach my 3 children what that they don't get at school by reading and getting ideas online. The teachers teach from the book, that's it - no creativity. They also teach to the test when they teach: 5th grade doesn't do any writing because there isn't a 5th grade FCAT writing exam. Our science teacher shows a video, does digital lessons and allows the children to read their books. She doesn't acutally teach the class. I've been told many times C is average-it's OK. Such a poor attitude


Sunset Palms Elementary School 4

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
People (parents) need to get a grip. Do we need to push these kids so much that they are doing differential equations by the time they are in 6th grade? Not every 5th grader makes it to the National Spelling Bee Championship. And I am sorry to burst your bubble, parents, but not every kid is "gifted". This school is fine, regardless of what state it is in. They only need to make 3 improvements: 1. Give the kids a 1-hr lunch, so all the lunch talk nonsense can stop. 2. Create a more appealing environment in the school; it looks and feels too much like a penitentiary 3. "Gifted" classes should NEVER be based soley on test scores...GPA should always count more than anything else.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 3

Posted November 21, 2011
- a parent
Teachers are very nice but all they do is work out of workbooks and worksheets. Not much thinking out the box at this elementary school. Children are not allowed to read outside of their Lexile score even if they want to challenge themselves. A Steven Jobs, Albert Einstein, or Bill Gates would have failed out or been kicked out of a Sunset Palms!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset Palms Elementary School
8650 Boynton Beach Boulevard, Boynton Beach, FL  33472
(561) 752-1100
Last modified Sunset Palms Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunset Palms Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top