Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunset Palms Elementary School 3

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
I think overall it is pretty good. Many good teachers, though a few bad apples that the principal knows about, but they never get fired. Main gripe is teaching to the test, though I think this is happening district-wide. Also would like to see more computer instruction happening, across all grades. Science class seems to be mostly watching videos. Principal is very aloof to parents, does not have open door to parental concerns. Replace the principal and asst. principal with passionate people who care about the kids, and this would be a much better school.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
This is the best school ever! Everyone has its best interest at heart. Highly recommended!!


Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Sunset Palms is an awesome schoool frtom the moment you walik into the school you are welcomed. The Teachers and Principal are hard working. They positive atmosphere at the school is encouragaing to our children not to mention the media center.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Sunset Palms has proven to be an A rated school not only in terms of grades but as far as parental support, communication and charitable involvement in the community. The way it reaches out to all student and families in order to help those less fortunate has shown their commitment to the community, not only its' own school, but the neighboring schools.

Sunset Palms Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a community member
Continued -What They Did Gain Is The Love Of Learning,Reading,Science,Music,Art,Computers,Book Fairs,Fabulous Field Trips,Author Visits,Reading Celebrations,Incredible Imaginations,Fun Field Days, Bingo Nights,Holiday & Special Celebrations,Friendly Competition! To Win, Lose Gracefully-Receive 100% or To Prepare More,Maybe they did Their very Best For Now & Will Do Better Next Time.


Sunset Palms Elementary School 2

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
Is very overrated! Principal is never seen and her focus is ONLY on FCAT scores! There is no innovative teaching going on whatsoever! Children are being bullied at lunchtime which is most likely because of the way the cafeteria and the tables are set up as well as during recess. The guidance counselor and administration turn a blind eye to parent and student complaints by placating the situations. This school looks good on paper but in reality is no better than any other school with many internal problems with many low quality teachers and uninvolved administration. The hardest and most dedicated employees are the front office staff and assistants!

Sunset Palms Elementary School 1

Posted April 04, 2013
- a parent
Needs a lot of improvement. My child has also been doing differential equations. The method used was overly complicated. This is how the school is run - nothing makes sense or is standard from one class to another. Some great teachers but some awfu ones. One teacher has had compaints since the opening. Principal won't get rid of her. Principal should be fired. She is weak and doesn't manage or develop her teachers. From SAC meetings, I can say she is a "NO" person. Nothing can change or get better with this type of attitude. Florida has a terrible school system but with a strong principal, all students could still excel. I know because I've learned to teach my 3 children what that they don't get at school by reading and getting ideas online. The teachers teach from the book, that's it - no creativity. They also teach to the test when they teach: 5th grade doesn't do any writing because there isn't a 5th grade FCAT writing exam. Our science teacher shows a video, does digital lessons and allows the children to read their books. She doesn't acutally teach the class. I've been told many times C is average-it's OK. Such a poor attitude

Sunset Palms Elementary School 4

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
People (parents) need to get a grip. Do we need to push these kids so much that they are doing differential equations by the time they are in 6th grade? Not every 5th grader makes it to the National Spelling Bee Championship. And I am sorry to burst your bubble, parents, but not every kid is "gifted". This school is fine, regardless of what state it is in. They only need to make 3 improvements: 1. Give the kids a 1-hr lunch, so all the lunch talk nonsense can stop. 2. Create a more appealing environment in the school; it looks and feels too much like a penitentiary 3. "Gifted" classes should NEVER be based soley on test scores...GPA should always count more than anything else.


Sunset Palms Elementary School 3

Posted November 21, 2011
- a parent
Teachers are very nice but all they do is work out of workbooks and worksheets. Not much thinking out the box at this elementary school. Children are not allowed to read outside of their Lexile score even if they want to challenge themselves. A Steven Jobs, Albert Einstein, or Bill Gates would have failed out or been kicked out of a Sunset Palms!

Sunset Palms Elementary School 3

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
Teachers are pretty good, but school is very focused on the FCAT. Teach to the test and groom children for the test starting in kindergarten. The school has a very sterile, unfriendly feeling -- like a mental institution or something. Too clean and quiet -- it seems a bit eery when you walk the halls. Parents can't sit with the children when they visit for lunch, and the children are yelled at to be quiet at lunch, the one time they are free to let loose. PE is a joke; my child has not learned any sports. They are given equipment and just told to run around and play. There is no true computer lab/instruction at this school anymore, and science lab got cut. Not what I was expecting for my child's elementary school experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset Palms Elementary School
8650 Boynton Beach Boulevard, Boynton Beach, FL  33472
(561) 752-1100
Last modified Sunset Palms Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunset Palms Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top