Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Galaxy Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 389 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

My daughter goes to Galaxy just as I did and my father (it was a middle school then). The new school is amazing my daughter never wants to leave. She has a great teacher (used to be my preschool teacher) who is a master. The campus is beautiful and the new STEM curriculum is great. They even have a rooftop garden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

My son has went to Galaxy for 3 years and he really liked the school, my son has been a trouble child at times talking, and playing around like some kids his age do and Galaxy's teachers has been very helpful in keeping him focus and helping him get better. The staff at Galaxy really showed their love for my child and all the students. I appreciate Galaxy's staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

I appreciate the principal and the teachers at Galaxy due to their caring nature. The school needs more funds in other to function better. Let us not forgot that It does take a team to improve our children mind, body and soul. I am doing my part as a parent to ensure my children success. Failure is not an option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

This school has retained it's integrity through a lot of adversity and still produces a quality student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

In 2006 Galaxy was one shinning example of what could happen to a troubled school who has a great leader at it's helm. Then they lost their leader (principal) to another school and now its heading in the wrong direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

I love the teachers at Galaxy because they actually care about the students. The school is a bit run down, but I feel that the most imortant thing is the way the students are treated. My daughter is very happy at Galaxy and that makes me extremely pleased as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

My [child] began attendance at this school a month after school started. Ever since there has been lack of communication from the school to home. My child teacher was changed and several other changes occured with out notice to me. Also, when my child's grades began to slip, there was no notification on the schools behalf. No conferences were recommended regardless of if I wanted one or not. I am very disappointed in this school and plan to transfer my child this up coming school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

My child is very happy at this school and doing very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

My 2nd and 3rd grader attended this school for a brief time last year. My second grader has some behavior issues and delays, they did not have any programs available that fit his needs, he was put in a class with children with severe problems, and he was very unhappy there. my third grader did allright. The school itself is very run down, and looks pretty bad. I am hoping this school gets more funding, becuase it really needs some help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

Galaxy is a very well run school. The teachers are excellent and very caring. The actual school needs desperate repair. Very good learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2005

Great School! Great Teachers! Great Students! Teachers and Students work real hard.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 5, 2004

This school is in poor repair. The students do not have an inside gym in case of rain. I have noted very little parent involvement. Some teachers show great concern for students learning, others make you suspect that they couldn't pick your child (who is is their class) out of a line up!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
20%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
19%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 82% 23%
White 10% 42%
Hispanic 6% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%73%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Ed Capitano
Fax number
  • (561) 739-5650

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Galaxy Way
Boynton Beach, FL 33435
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 739-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Poinciana Elementary School
Boynton Beach, FL



St. Mark Catholic School
Boynton Beach, FL



Gold Coast Jr Academy
Boynton Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT