Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Congress Community Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 966 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

Overall, the school is great! dont listent to what people say.. experience it for yourself.


Posted October 10, 2013

School is great, I love the gifted program and the new Principal, everything is better now and the uniforms are not that bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

From a Teacher, After being a FT teacher for a number of years and subbing at a number of schools I could easily say this is in line with the worst schools I've ever taught at. Completely disrespectful kids, unorganized staff and often students are fighting all over: bathroom, classrooms and cafeteria. Even if done playfully it becomes a distraction to others. Cell phones and iPods can be seen all over and when told to put it away, the students bring them out again since no discipline. Kids removed for misbehaving are put right back in room just moments later. I'm actually embarassed for the school and all those that actually care to have a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 25, 2012

CMS has great choice programs, however, the school's staff is completely unorganized and disoriented. I went there for 6th and 7th grade and for both years FCAT started late because the head staff could not keep track of their own supplies. They blame the students for everything. Even though students do misbehave it is their responsibility to enforce the rules. They say wear uniform or you will be sent home and the next week everyone is wearing what the want, appropriate or not and the staff could not care less. I had one teacher that wore crop tops, short skirts, and 6 inch heels, the Principle looks at it like its normal. I also had another teacher who would let kids skip in her class and she barely got to teach because she was too busy laughing at kids making fun at each other. Lastly, fights are very common and popular around the school that includes lunch fights, hallway fights, in the class room fights, bus fights, and fights that are planed in school and done after they get off the bus. I dont recommend this school to anyone.


Posted May 7, 2010

office personnel....unprofessional to say the least! They seem to have no respect for parents. They tend to be rude and dismissive of parents and they speak to students in a very rude and nasty tone when not necessary. It is obvious they have no respect for their students and they are generalizing their student body as well as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

As a student graduating this year I feel that there is alot that needs to be done for congress. The teachers ( aside from the gifted classes) don't care about students and the rules are not enforceed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2009

This is really good for your child. It has great school lunches. It is very clean. The learning experience is great. They have activities like dances,fun raisers so on and so forth. The teachers are well educated and ready too teach. My child really loves it here. They have good quality books here. They even have a pre-medical program for the kids. We have cheerleading, softball, soccer, baseball, basketball. And we are now an A school. There are no fights and no trouble. we send letters home of absences and bad grades. I must say this school is...is very very excellent in so many ways!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

The principal really wants the kids to succeed , she works with the students and the parents. She has an open door policy, very approachable , she listens to kids and parents and takes appropriate actions. She has a hard job, she does not receive much parental support, nor do the kids. You see her everywhere on the campus taking care of everything. My son loves his magnet program , his teachers and his school. This school is getting better every year due to the dedication and hard work of the administration, the teachers and the staff. The education that my child is receiving from the magnet program is well above average. Thanks to everyone at Congress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

Im in advanced and honors classes so i dont really see bad behavior in my classes , but once i step out of my classes it's a little frightning. A little a bit more than half of the students make rude comments but that is pretty much it as long as you ignore it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2008

I feel this school can be a little too uptight. The teachers and APs make too many rules for us kids. It gets tiring...
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2008

Real bad,managment of school really don't care about good students.Many rules ,that really don't work and really are hurting good students.Some office personal,really out of touch with parents,helpless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

I'm very happy with the job the teachers are doing for their students. The only problem there is the poor parent's participation that I think it is the major problem in our education system. However, my both kids went to Congress Middle School and we always been there for any reason. Believe me, it works. The vocational program is wonderful and it is giving them a great opportunity to explore in the areas where they are interesting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

My child had a wonderful experience at Congress Middle School due to the Choice Programs that were offered. These classes gave him an opportunity to view his talents as possible future career choices in technology and the arts. They do change their minds, however exposure to these classes is what these kids need especially since we are living in such a technological world. The staff are receptive to the needs of the students and work hard to see that they are successful. Let's face it, they are our future aren't they? Thank you teachers for your dedication and consistency.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

As a parent of a kid in congress middle I'm so worry about the people speeding at the crosswalk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Parents are not involved with the education of their children. Students have a hard time completing homework and focusing on academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

My worries were with the teachers. There was an inconsistency with the teacher quality. Some were excellent and others could not even keep the class under control.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2005

Middle schools need to be erased. The return of elementary schools would control a lot of the discipline and learning problems in schools earning a poor rating, such as Carver and Congress Middle Schools. (Congress' higher rating is due to the magnet program. If students weren't bussed in, this rating would be the same as Carver's.) One teacher all day long for 6th, 7th and 8th grade would stop the outlandish behavior experienced in these two schools. These preteens aren't ready for this type of freedom, which they are being bombarded with too many hormones that are out of control. The nurturing of one teacher who knows the student inside and out is truly needed at Congress and Carver Middle Schools. When will this school and the county realize this is their primary problem?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 13, 2005

I definatly would reccomend my child or any child going to this school. This school has a wide variety of sports and clubs. This was very important when finding a school for my child. This school is now a 'B' rating which is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

I think this school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

This school is ok. My child always complains about the rudeness distributed throughout the campus! Although in return my child receives good education with extra magnet programs like pre-medicine and pre-engirneering and computer classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

322 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

322 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

301 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

313 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

313 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

292 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
96%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 61%
Hispanic 23%
White 11%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%73%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 28%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. DENISE O'CONNOR
Fax number
  • (561) 374-5642

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 South Congress Avenue
Boynton Beach, FL 33426
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 374-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Gold Coast Jr Academy
Boynton Beach, FL



St Mark Catholic School
Delray Beach, FL


Unity School
Delray Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT