Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


47 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Congress Community Middle School 3

Posted November 13, 2014
- a teacher
Do not substitute teach there. The principal will talk down and yell at you like you are a student. Unbelievable. Never ever treated that way at any other school. Substitutes beware!!

Congress Community Middle School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
MY SON IS IN HIS 3RD YEAR AT CONGRESS MIDDLE SCHOOL. THE VERY FIRST DAY OF HIS 6TH GRADE YEAR, HE WAS HIT BY ANOTHER STUDENT. HE ENDED UP AT THE NURSE'S OFFICE AND BEGAN HIS DAY. HE DOES COME HOME AND HAVE SOME INTERESTING STORY'S ABOUT HIS DAY IN SCHOOL. HE IS A STRAIGHT (A) STUDENT, HE HAS HAD A LOT OF GREAT TEACHERS, AND 1 OR 2 NOT SO GREAT. HIS TEACHERS POST EVERYTHING ON ED-LINE, AND HAVE ALWAYS ANSWERED ME EMAILS. THE MIDDLE SCHOOL YEARS ARE TOUGH ! THEY ARE NOW TEENAGERS, SOME DO WELL IN THESE CHANGING TIMES, AND THERE'S OTHERS THAT THINK THEIR GANSTERS. SOME ARE GANSTERS, THE PRINCIPAL THEY HAVE NOW MS. O'CONNER SEEMS TO REALLY CARE ABOUT HER STAFF AND STUDENTS. I THINK THE SCHOOL WAS A VERY BAD SCHOOL YEARS AGO, BUT TIMES ARE CHANGING. WITH THE CHOICE PROGRAMS, AND NEW OFFICE STAFF. THEY APPEAR TO HAVE THEIR ACT TOGETHER. BUT IN ALL SCHOOLS, THERE ARE ALWAYS THOSE FEW BAD APPLES, BE THEM TEACHERS OR STUDENTS. I BELIEVE MY SON HAS GOTTEN A GREAT EDUCATION FORM CONGRESS MIDDLE SCHOOL, MY YOUNGEST SON WILL ATTEND CONGRESS MIDDLE SCHOOL NEXT YEAR. I HOPE HE GETS SOME GOOD TEACHERS WHO CARE. ALSO A GOOD GROUP OF NEW FRIENDS, THERE ARE NO GUARANTEE'S....BUT IS IS A G "GREATSCHOL


Congress Community Middle School 2

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
MY CHILD DOES NOT LIKE THIS SCHOOL, POSSIBLY WILL BE CHANGING SCHOOLS ASAP, OR HOME SCHOOLING FOR FLORIDA ONLINE, MOST OF THE KIDS HERE DONT HAVE HOME TRAINING , NO MANNERS, OR RESPECT FOR OTHERS. BULLYING AND CUSSING IS CONSTANT. TEACHERS NOT THAT MUCH DIFFERENT AS I HAVE SEEN AND HEARD FOR MYSELF. NO WONDER SO MANY PARENTS GET UPSET

Congress Community Middle School 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a community member
Overall, the school is great! dont listent to what people say.. experience it for yourself.

Congress Community Middle School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
School is great, I love the gifted program and the new Principal, everything is better now and the uniforms are not that bad.


Congress Community Middle School 2

Posted January 31, 2013
- a teacher
From a Teacher, After being a FT teacher for a number of years and subbing at a number of schools I could easily say this is in line with the worst schools I've ever taught at. Completely disrespectful kids, unorganized staff and often students are fighting all over: bathroom, classrooms and cafeteria. Even if done playfully it becomes a distraction to others. Cell phones and iPods can be seen all over and when told to put it away, the students bring them out again since no discipline. Kids removed for misbehaving are put right back in room just moments later. I'm actually embarassed for the school and all those that actually care to have a positive learning environment.

Congress Community Middle School 2

Posted July 25, 2012
- a community member
CMS has great choice programs, however, the school's staff is completely unorganized and disoriented. I went there for 6th and 7th grade and for both years FCAT started late because the head staff could not keep track of their own supplies. They blame the students for everything. Even though students do misbehave it is their responsibility to enforce the rules. They say wear uniform or you will be sent home and the next week everyone is wearing what the want, appropriate or not and the staff could not care less. I had one teacher that wore crop tops, short skirts, and 6 inch heels, the Principle looks at it like its normal. I also had another teacher who would let kids skip in her class and she barely got to teach because she was too busy laughing at kids making fun at each other. Lastly, fights are very common and popular around the school that includes lunch fights, hallway fights, in the class room fights, bus fights, and fights that are planed in school and done after they get off the bus. I dont recommend this school to anyone.

Congress Community Middle School 2

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
office personnel....unprofessional to say the least! They seem to have no respect for parents. They tend to be rude and dismissive of parents and they speak to students in a very rude and nasty tone when not necessary. It is obvious they have no respect for their students and they are generalizing their student body as well as parents.


Congress Community Middle School 2

Posted April 25, 2010
- a student
As a student graduating this year I feel that there is alot that needs to be done for congress. The teachers ( aside from the gifted classes) don't care about students and the rules are not enforceed.

Congress Community Middle School 1

Posted April 06, 2010
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Congress Community Middle School
101 South Congress Avenue, Boynton Beach, FL  33426
(561) 374-5600
Last modified Congress Community Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Congress Community Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top