Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

956 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Congress Community Middle School 1

Posted January 03, 2016
- a parent
hide your kids from this messed up school. my daughter went in 2013 for 6th grade and she was bullied, cyberbullied and harassed and she got major depression, she self harmed, and started to starve and purge. she was baker acted because of the way that those kids made her feel and act. i highly recommend not to send your kids here and the staff is awful and the principle does nothing to discipline the kids who need to be. also if you look at the news stories online if you search up congress middle school, oh god that should just knock this school out of the running for your child's middle school choices

Congress Community Middle School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a community member
I was a student of Congress Middle School through the years of 2011-2014 and it was great. At the beginning it was weird but ever since last year they have changed the staff around and everything is smooth and I sometimes go there and volunteer to see my old teachers and help around. Love this school, offers a lot of clubs and really talented teachers in the gifted department.


Congress Community Middle School 3

Posted November 13, 2014
- a teacher
Do not substitute teach there. The principal will talk down and yell at you like you are a student. Unbelievable. Never ever treated that way at any other school. Substitutes beware!!

Congress Community Middle School 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
Congress Middle is a great because they are so many interesting and fun activities, programs for students. Also good lunch services.

Congress Community Middle School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
MY SON IS IN HIS 3RD YEAR AT CONGRESS MIDDLE SCHOOL. THE VERY FIRST DAY OF HIS 6TH GRADE YEAR, HE WAS HIT BY ANOTHER STUDENT. HE ENDED UP AT THE NURSE'S OFFICE AND BEGAN HIS DAY. HE DOES COME HOME AND HAVE SOME INTERESTING STORY'S ABOUT HIS DAY IN SCHOOL. HE IS A STRAIGHT (A) STUDENT, HE HAS HAD A LOT OF GREAT TEACHERS, AND 1 OR 2 NOT SO GREAT. HIS TEACHERS POST EVERYTHING ON ED-LINE, AND HAVE ALWAYS ANSWERED ME EMAILS. THE MIDDLE SCHOOL YEARS ARE TOUGH ! THEY ARE NOW TEENAGERS, SOME DO WELL IN THESE CHANGING TIMES, AND THERE'S OTHERS THAT THINK THEIR GANSTERS. SOME ARE GANSTERS, THE PRINCIPAL THEY HAVE NOW MS. O'CONNER SEEMS TO REALLY CARE ABOUT HER STAFF AND STUDENTS. I THINK THE SCHOOL WAS A VERY BAD SCHOOL YEARS AGO, BUT TIMES ARE CHANGING. WITH THE CHOICE PROGRAMS, AND NEW OFFICE STAFF. THEY APPEAR TO HAVE THEIR ACT TOGETHER. BUT IN ALL SCHOOLS, THERE ARE ALWAYS THOSE FEW BAD APPLES, BE THEM TEACHERS OR STUDENTS. I BELIEVE MY SON HAS GOTTEN A GREAT EDUCATION FORM CONGRESS MIDDLE SCHOOL, MY YOUNGEST SON WILL ATTEND CONGRESS MIDDLE SCHOOL NEXT YEAR. I HOPE HE GETS SOME GOOD TEACHERS WHO CARE. ALSO A GOOD GROUP OF NEW FRIENDS, THERE ARE NO GUARANTEE'S....BUT IS IS A G "GREATSCHOL


Congress Community Middle School 2

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
MY CHILD DOES NOT LIKE THIS SCHOOL, POSSIBLY WILL BE CHANGING SCHOOLS ASAP, OR HOME SCHOOLING FOR FLORIDA ONLINE, MOST OF THE KIDS HERE DONT HAVE HOME TRAINING , NO MANNERS, OR RESPECT FOR OTHERS. BULLYING AND CUSSING IS CONSTANT. TEACHERS NOT THAT MUCH DIFFERENT AS I HAVE SEEN AND HEARD FOR MYSELF. NO WONDER SO MANY PARENTS GET UPSET

Congress Community Middle School 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Never send your child to this school a child was knocked out while in a fight. also other students get hit with full milk cartons and other food from lunches. There are food fights every day and they force the kids to stay inside the cafiteria to get hit by the food to find out who is throughing it.

Congress Community Middle School 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a community member
Overall, the school is great! dont listent to what people say.. experience it for yourself.


Congress Community Middle School 2

Posted January 31, 2013
- a teacher
From a Teacher, After being a FT teacher for a number of years and subbing at a number of schools I could easily say this is in line with the worst schools I've ever taught at. Completely disrespectful kids, unorganized staff and often students are fighting all over: bathroom, classrooms and cafeteria. Even if done playfully it becomes a distraction to others. Cell phones and iPods can be seen all over and when told to put it away, the students bring them out again since no discipline. Kids removed for misbehaving are put right back in room just moments later. I'm actually embarassed for the school and all those that actually care to have a positive learning environment.

Congress Community Middle School 2

Posted July 25, 2012
- a community member
CMS has great choice programs, however, the school's staff is completely unorganized and disoriented. I went there for 6th and 7th grade and for both years FCAT started late because the head staff could not keep track of their own supplies. They blame the students for everything. Even though students do misbehave it is their responsibility to enforce the rules. They say wear uniform or you will be sent home and the next week everyone is wearing what the want, appropriate or not and the staff could not care less. I had one teacher that wore crop tops, short skirts, and 6 inch heels, the Principle looks at it like its normal. I also had another teacher who would let kids skip in her class and she barely got to teach because she was too busy laughing at kids making fun at each other. Lastly, fights are very common and popular around the school that includes lunch fights, hallway fights, in the class room fights, bus fights, and fights that are planed in school and done after they get off the bus. I dont recommend this school to anyone.

Nearby schools

Congress Community Middle School
101 South Congress Avenue, Boynton Beach, FL  33426
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. (561) 374-5600
Last modified Congress Community Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top