Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Worth Christian School Society

Private | PK-12 | 460 students

Christian College Prep Education

 

Living in Boynton Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $87,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

Thinking about putting your child in LWCS? My daughter attended for many yrs. Elementary = great experience, great teachers! Middle= no problems. High School = diff story! not so much the school as the sports. My daughter was on the JV/V basketball/volleyball teams. the athletic director is in a position he should not be in. He took my child for meetings w/o my knowledge or presence, and then would NOT have an adult meeting. He is childish and confrontation with the children. school is great, as long as you DO NOT participate in sports. My daughter left the school this year because of this. It was extremely dishearting that a child that has been at a school for 11 yrs and now is leaving because of sports and their director. This christian school is being run by people who are not so christian.. Be cautious!! It seems to me that as long as your child does what they want, they are fine. If any problem they all stick together even if they are wrong.... Administration leaves alot to be desired!! send your child for elementary, then leave. That is my advice to you as a parent leaving this school after yrs of time and money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

LWCS teachers make the difference. The experience, talent and dedication of these teachers is demonstrated every single day, both academically, and in the way they care for their students. This school is a cut above the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Lake Worth Christian School is an excellent educational experience for both students and parents alike. The mission of "Growing Christian Leaders" isn't just a statement, it is lived each day at the school. It would be upsetting to have to send our kids to school anywhere else. Thank you to all the staff, teachers and support personnel for all you to to make the educational experience of our kids a positive one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

I have a child in high school, middle school and elementary and love the school and teachers. Per the website, all classroom teachers have their degrees and a majority have their masters! My children are challenged appropriately and the peer pressure they receive is to try for an A rather than an A-. Their friends are great kids who come from church attending families. We are very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

This school is not a good school at all. A number of there teachers lose assignments and projects, then give you a zero. The reason my review isn't a 1 Star is because they do have a good Christan environment. Also the school is very overpriced. You will be lucky if they give you finical aid, if you get it they will barley take off any money. The kids at this school are very rude and do not have any respect for each other. In the LWCS welcoming video they say they are 2 grade levels above the public school (for the middle school) while the grade averages for middle schoolers and high schoolers is a D. LWCS has insane detention rules. For instance, if you get a Saturday detention it will be for 4 hours and you have to work (cleaning up class rooms, raking up leaves, ect.). I am a student at LWCS and this is by far the worst school I have been to. I have been to 10 different schools and 11 different houses. If you want to send your child to LWCS you will be wasting $12,000.


Posted February 24, 2011

My children have attended LWCS for four years. This school uses religion/Christianity to lure hopeful parents to spend thousands for a sub-standard education. The majority of teachers are not certified to teach their subject and fail to possess a fair and caring Christian manner. My children will NOT attend LWCS next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

I've attended this school for more than 3 years now, and it's turned around my life. I learned to be a better Christian, and so much more. Most of the teachers are great people who really want everybody to succeed. They actually care about you too, induvidually. I like it much better than any other school I've attended, and I definitely recommend considering to go here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2008

I recently left LWCS and went to Park Vista Community High School. LWCS has gone way too far with money wise, raising the tuition to $9000 and they're raising it more each year. Also, now you have to pay $100 for your child to play a sport and you have to pay $4 to attend their home game. That's ridiculous. Although, the teachers are great and they actually care about your grades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

This is our children's second year at LWCS. We have 1 girl in 2nd grade and 1 boy in 9th. They are both very happy. My son has attended many Christian Schools (through no fault of his own) & he's never been happier. The curriculum is diverse & challenging, many of the teachers have their masters, a few teach at the college. The parents are Very envolved. They offer music & numerous sports, but no longer offer Track & Field. LWCS is one of the best Christian Schools in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

While the Christian principles set forth by most of the teachers are great, just about everything else is lacking. The only extracurricular activities offered throughout the year are mainly sports. What about the kids that have no interest in athletics? The art department is far too small and severely underfunded. I have yet to see a recent graduate of LWCS do anything financially successful. Honestly, the only good thing I can say about LWCS is that the teachers are Christians and that a select few of those teachers are good at what they do. It seems the administration likes to run off the good teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2005

Our daughters attend LWCS and we have been there for nine years. The teachers are unbelievable examples of true christian leaders. They go beyond what is expected and we could not ask for a better extension of our home. We have 435 students for 2005/2006 school year. The school has a wonderful sports, music and art programs. The school also has an AP classes for High School. Parent involvement is wonderful and is welcomed at all levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

This is the first year for our daughter at LWCS and she has adjusted very well, we couldn't be happier. The fact that the class sizes are small and the teachers know her by name is a bonus. We see our daughter growing every day at LWCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This school gives individual attention and allows one to become a young adult gracefully. It also prepares one for the challenges that college will bring.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 42%
Hispanic 7% 29%
Black 6% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Florida State University
University of Florida
University of Central Florida
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
German
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Robert Hook
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopalian
Associations
  • FCIS
Fax number
  • (561) 586-4382

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Teacher-run
  • dual enrollment
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
102
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
261

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Florida
Florida State University
Palm Beach State University
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7592 High Ridge Rd
Boynton Beach, FL 33426
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 586-8216

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Quantum High School
Boynton Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT