Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freedom Shores Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 876 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2014

My son attended the 2013-2014 school year at FS as his first year in third grade since we moved from the Northeast. I was aware my son needed help in reading comprehension, attended several parent conferences, he attended the tutoring program, and yet his reading score had not improved. I had my son do reading exercises plus extra reading at home on top of doing FCAT preparation and normal homework. It was 3 hours of rigorous time afterschool. I might as well have homeschooled him. There is also a huge segregation between parent and school community. For a 1100 student count in this school, 5% or few parents partake in volunteering. This is sad. The type of culture we experienced in this school was as long as you pass your tests, who cares that learning can be fun! There are limitations to school holidays, field trips, and even the science projects. We are not returning back to this school because of those reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2014

Freedom Shores has been a great school for my kids. With the exception of one teacher, all teachers have been wonderful. It really depends on the teacher you get if your child needs extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

2013-2014 school year was my sons first year at this school needless to say he will not be returning. This school waits till the last minute to help my child seek help after I had already inform them that my son needs extra help in reading. My son was choked at school no parent or teacher told me I found out from my son that he was choked by another student and could not breathe. I do a better job teaching him at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2014

Congratulations to the Principal at Freedom Shores. She was awarded SECME Administrator of the year. My son is part of the SECME program and loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

School is great. I agree with the posting below. I volunteer sometimes and I always feel welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2014

i think this school has ppotential and the teachers give dicipline that is why kids dont misbehave all over the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

heard a lot of staff are not happy anymore, not many volunteers either. The PSO board has been reduced.


Posted July 12, 2013

Freedom Shore is an excellent school my fifth grader graduated from their last year. It is such a great school that my kindergartener will attend there this year. The staff is very friendly and the teachers are amazing. The Principal always had a smile on her face and greeted the students with a good morning and a hand shake. I read the comment below and I don't think that is fair that the parent is criticizing the principal on not being their when she on maternity leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

the principal may have been saying hi to the kids more recently, she did not when school first opened...but this is because parents complained that she did not. but now she is not at school anymore...it's crunch time now and the principal is gone! The other week I saw her shaking kids hands just a few feet from the crossing.... Not a safe place for her to be shaking hands there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

Wonderful school. Teachers are great and very caring. The school has a very safe and nurturing atmosphere. The new Principal is very nice and attentive. She has an open door policy and is always willing to sit down and listen to any concerns. My son loves going to school and likes that the principal says hello to him and takes the time to see how he is doing. The teachers always seem to go above and beyond for the kids. I just couln't say enought good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

Great teachers, prinicipal and staff! Great parent volunteers, close knit community...I have 2 kids there now and I couldn't be happier with the education they are getting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

AWESOME AWESOME SCHOOL....AND THE AFTERCARE PROGRAM IS UNBELIEVABLE MY SON LOVES IT....GREAT TEACHERS AND COMMUNICATION
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Freedom Shores teachers, support staff and Administration have been wonderful in every way to our grandchildren for the past 4 years. The Aftercare Program...I can't say enough about how good it is. The counselors and Director put 150% into the daily program but also into having the Talent Show, Mommy & Me, etc. Summer Camp, the same. We are very fortunate to have them all. I also love the way the different teaching styles of the Fourth grade compliment each other. A terrific balance that all children can adapt to for the first year of changing classes. Kudos to all at Freedom Shores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

dedicated teachers,great principal ,excellent out put in every way
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2009

Great Aftercare program! My children have been in it for years. Both of my children are in the gifted program and they love it. Summer Camp is the high light for my children at Freedom Shores! A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

since the old principal left the school has gone down hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

I think my review from April 17 was deleted. Anyway, GREAT SACC Program (offers Tai Kwon Do, Hip-Hop Dance for a fee) and many other included activities, pretty challenging curriculum for gifted. Great teachers (so far) have one entering 4th grade and one entering 2nd. Safe school (thorough checking of ID's upon entry, pickup.....) A lot of parent involvement (volunteering) for those teachers that want help. Clean facilities, well-maintained grounds, kids like cafeteria food, friendly school nurse, Library good, fully operational Reading Counts! program with plenty of opportunity to participate, Chess Club one of the best (place high at state tournaments), parking for volunteers up front so they can pick their kids up first, appropriate discipline, bullying not tolerated ( I know because my son so much as changed name to make it sound funny, and he was immediatley disciplined-apparently creating nicknames is considered 'bullying'). TVnews network run by kids-very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

The school definately has gone down in quality since the departure of the old principal and her staff. It is better to send your kids to a regular school then the gifted program here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

I have a son in the gifted program and I am very disappointed with the school. I think the the curriculum is in a disarray. The irony is the regular classes performed better than the gifted classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

I absolutely love Freedom Shores Elementary. My children are in the Gifted Program and have been blessed with the best teachers! I really hope that the reviewer of April 15th gets a teacher next year that works better for her and her child. The teachers that have taught my children reply to any comments I send to them in the communication folder or email. I do, however, tend to be hands-off as far as letting the teachers do their jobs, but I am very involved in my children's educations. I am blessed with a job that allows me to volunteer. The April 17th reviewer is correct. The school has 'Concretables'. The only disadvantage is that they don't have water fountains in them. But the children go to the main school building for specials and lunch and are also encouraged to bring water to school with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

193 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 35%
White 32%
Black 25%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%73%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PATRICIA TREJO
Fax number
  • (561) 804-3150

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3400 Hypoluxo Road
Boynton Beach, FL 33436
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 804-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Royal Palm School
Lantana, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT