Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Charter At Lakewood Ranch

Charter | PK-5 | 471 students

We are best known for individual academic experience.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 17 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

This school staff isn't diverse. Average age of teachers is approximately 30 years. Only one male teacher in a content area. Constant employee turnover and zero job security.


Posted June 3, 2014

I can not say enough about this school! My son stated in 6th grade he was very shy! He is now finishing the 8th grade. He has made leaps and bounds and I owe it to the teachers and students at Imagine. He is a A-B student! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

Imagine! Working at a school where you feel valued and appreciated, sometimes even by the students! :) We are a school, a community, and a family and our goal is to work together for the benefit of all. "Ms. Q" our principal always has our kids best interest at heart. Plus she is there for her staff in every way. Are we perfect? By no means, we have our ups and downs. We face the "downs" with a positive attitude and celebrate the "ups" with joy Yes, we are a small school in numbers, even though we have students from VPK to eighth grade, yet we do our best to see that our students have the opportunity to participate in a variety of after school activities. Okay, let's get real and clear. My school, Imagine Lakewood Ranch, "Rocks"! However, I would love to have a Smart Board, classroom computers, and we would all love more text book and other resources,and just to mention unlimited copies While I am sure there are many deserving schools, I know that we will make the best use of every dollar down to every penny with our focus on our students. Like I said, Imagine working at a "Rocking" school with warmth and heart. Thank you ever so much for considering our school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 7, 2013

That last post was ridiculous. So now this parent knows more details that have not been reported at all. Probably one of the parents and probably one who has issues at home trying to defer the blame..... own up and go see a therapist
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

This is the second year my kids have attended Imagine and I am pleased overall with the school. There are some really great teachers who go above and beyond...and there are a few who do the minimum. I stayed involved in their classes last year feel they had a great experience and this year has started off even better. When they finally are able to weed through a few of the "less-than" teachers, this school has amazing potential! The principle is wonderful, so involved, and present on the school property before/during/after school! The front office staff is great as well and I really feel most of the teachers truly care about the childrens' success. I have been blessed with two years of great teachers and am excited to see them grow at this school. I have & would recommend others to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

I am completely displeased with the middle school teachers at. Bad attitude, bad teaching techniques, bad everything. In the last month of school, all of the middle school teachers decide to cram all of their projects in. They could've been a lot less stressful if they were spread throughout the year. I do not suggest this school to any middle schooler. The elementary area is very nice, however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

A terrific new principal with caring and involved teachers. My daughter has blossomed there and I look forward to continued growth and success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

There is a big difference between a Masters degree in a subject area like English or Spanish and a Masters degree in Educational Leadership where you focus only on studying and becoming proficient in instructional leadership and how to be a principal. Check out the new administrators credentials carefully. Learning "on the job" like the last principal did was not good for the learning community at Imagine. That is where the for profit provider, the Imagine Corporation, drops the ball. All I can say is, buyer beware when it comes to charter schools, and this one in particular.


Posted September 8, 2012

I could not be happier with the new administration. The school is definitely headed in the right direction. The new school leader is wonderful. She really cares about the kids and how they are doing. Not sure where the other person had gotten their information from, but she does have a Master's degree. She also has taught English and Spanish. The teachers are excellent. I would recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

I attended Imagine School of Lakewood Ranch, and I must say It was one of the WORST schools I have ever been to. I feel as if I have not learned anything this past year ! I graduated rom that school, and SO many things were never punished . I was bullied BAD and the princibles never even punished them. I suggest that any parents who are reading this , you should choose a diferent school for your child,


Posted August 6, 2012

I began working for Imagine School the first year it opened, but left at the end of the 2010/2011 school year.The program has so much potential, and this year with all the changes made to middle school and leadership roles, I believe it will make a comeback from last years problems! Go Sharks! I believe in you all!


Posted May 30, 2012

This school is great I have there kids a son that in 5th grade and a daughter in 3rd they both love it. My other son went there last and now goes to BRHS we love this school Go Sharks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

ONE OF THE WORST SCHOOLS IN MANATEE COUNTY! IF I COULD GIVE THIS SCHOOL ZERO STARS I WOULD. THERE IS NO DISCIPLINE IN THIS SCHOOL AT ALL. THEY HAVE STUDENTS WHO BEAT UP TEACHERS AND BREAK THEIR FINGERS AND ALL THEY GET IS A 10 DAY SUSPENSION. THE ELEMENTARY GRADE TEACHERS ARE AWESOME BUT THE MIDDLE SCHOOL TEACHERS ARE AWFUL. TEACHERS ARE HAVING AFFAIRS AND MY CHILDREN ARE COMING HOME AND ASKING ME WHAT IS GOING ON. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE. THE PRINCIPAL IS TOO YOUNG AND IS NOTHING BUT A JOKE. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS SCHOOL!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this school. No school is perfect but this one has come close for us. We have attended the program since it opened 4 years ago and my 2 boys have received a quality, individualized education in a strong character building environment. They have been allowed to grow as individuals as well as develop a respect for others. The principle and staff have always listened to all concerns and suggestions with an open mind and a willingness to continually improve their program. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

My daughter entered the Praesto Academy as a 5th grader in August, 2011. Her teacher, Ms. DeSena was excellent. The school lacks a sense of focus and the Middle School children are out of control. We recently withdrew our daughter to home school her. Also, if you're volunteering at the school be aware of the poor insurance coverage. I slipped and injured my back and knee in the front lobby. The school refuses to cover my injuries in excess of $15,000. My back surgery will be in excess of $50k and my knee surgery will be $5-7K or more. I was dropping off ISLWR clothing at the time of the accident. The parent company is more interested in doing whats best for the school as the injured suffer. We were so pleased last fall, now we know why so many teachers, staff and students have left. I'll be shocked if the school lasts more than a few years unless there are major changes. I would avoid entering the facility at any cost. Stay in your car. Leaving Gene Witt was the worst mistake we've made as parents!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

My daughter has been going here for two years and loves it. Her teachers are great. She is learning a lot. I am happy that she keeps the same teachers and classmates for three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

This school is great. I had two sons there and now have only one as the older one went on to high school. The kids at the school are the best buch of kids you can find in a school setting. The sports program is getting MUCH better and the quality of the education that you receive is second to none. I have known a few parents whose children have had a hard tiome at the school but thos e same kids hav ehad just as hard a time at the next school and the next school they went to. I would highly recomend this school to anyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

N.Y. RESIDENT COMING BACK FOR PRAESTO ACADEMY/ lakewood Ranch!! We moved to Sarasota this past Summer (2011) JUST to attend the "national recognized" Gifted school "PINEVIEW".. only to see that this "unhealthy,stressful, inhumane" school was definitely NOT what we were looking for; eventhough my child had no difficulty keeping up with the advanced work, and as a result we took our child out after only a few months. In addition, my husband and i definitely do not care about "status" - as we found out soooo many Sarasota parents do. We also met so many "real" parents that would never send their child to PINEVIEW GIFTED SCHOOL...for the same exact reasons as us. So, with that being said..... We cannot wait to start the PRAESTO ACADEMY @ IMAGINE SCHOOL IN LAKE WOOD RANCH, FLORIDA!! Yes, were coming back with "bells on"! Allison McCrann - Long Island/NY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2011

I cant say enough great things about this school. The project child style has helped my one child. My other child has been in the Middle School since it started. The safe and smaller environment has helped him excel in so many areas. All my kids have a confidence that they would have not developed anywhere else. The focus on character is wonderful especially at the MS level. Every year they get better and better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

Imagine School of Lakewood Ranch has been an amazing experience for my daughter. She has been there for three years and has loved all of her teachers. The teacher will go out of there way to help out in any way possible. It is a different type of school than a regular public one, and it does require more involvement and commitment from both parents and students. The more involved you are with the school the more you will get. The quality of education provided at this school to my daughter is excellent. We could not have picked a better school for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 9%
Black 6%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 96%54%61%
Master's degree 4%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Polish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. SELENIA QUINONES
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (941) 750-0966

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Montessori
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • We strongly believe that every student should have a unique educational path. We strive to create an individualized learning plan for each student that meets their particular needs. At Imagine School at Lakewood Ranch, we have a strong group of decicated and talented teachers. Our teachers strive to create fun, innovative lessons that keep our students engaged.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Manatee District Public Schools
Private Schools in the Area
Home Schooled Students
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10535 Portal Crossing
Bradenton, FL 34211
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 750-0900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT