Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

State College Of Florida Collegiate School

Charter | 6-12 | 450 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

Outstanding school for those looking to advance and become college ready. This schools is not for everyone. My son was bored silly in regular school and we worried about placing him in this advance school. It was the best thing we could do as he is very challenged and really get the opportunity to do more hands on projects then public schools. The small environment, outstanding teachers and great student body makes this an outstanding opportunity. Many students that attend public high school are moving over to SCFCS for the opportunity to take college courses full time. Many kids by Junior year have all their need requirements for graduation. This school allows them to continue on and receive a two year AA at graduation as well as High School Graduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

My school is State College of Florida Collegiate School and I believe it is the best opportunity in Manatee County to produce children who are college graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

I'm very glad this opportunity was available for my daughter. This is not your regular school. They are very focus on the real world and I love it, since I want my kids to start thinking of a future in a career that they enjoy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

My sn has been at SCFCS since the beginning and it has been awesome for him. He has learned so much! He has learned to think outside the box and organize his time wisely. I would recommend SCFCS highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

The school design works well for my girls. The style teaches them independence, self confidence and self motivation. The technology puts them far above the rest and allows them the flexibility to work and communicate with their teachers easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

The school works well for children that are motivated and independent thinkers, this school is NOT for every child. As a parent, you need to gage your child s interests and use this to decide if this is a good option for them. Extra-curricular activities are limited, this needs to be taken into consideration. The kids work off iPads and the smaller school size helps the kids know all their teachers (and vice versa). Since this is a Charter school, it is the last to start I strongly suggest if you can get your child to school on your own (early) do so. They can use the extra time in the morning to work on projects, get tutoring, etc.. This time is valuable in keeping up with daily tasks, etc.. since they have not been permitted to take home their iPads yet. I have found a significant difference in grades and my children s attitudes based on getting there when the school opens vs. taking the bus that gets the kids there right when school starts. I am very pleased with the results I have seen at the school (this is our third year) and look forward to my family continuing to work with them this truly is a partnership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

This is my childs third year at SCFCS. I am very happy with his progress. I like the smaller atmosphere for the kids. SCFCS has 264 students from grades 6 through 9. Next year it will be around 330 with 10th grade added on. There is an 11th grade but the students are on the college campus already.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

What a wonderful Learning Model! My Student has had the opportunity to grow & be challenged daily. The consistent support from the Learning Coach is GREAT no problems are left unaddressed! The communication is so good and the staff is very responsive to any concerns that come up weather it be safety or academic. My son is very fortunate to have this once in a lifetime opportunity to Grow & Learn in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

This is both of my daughters first year at this school. So far, what we see is a dedicated staff who sincerely care about the students success. We consistently receive updates to keep us connected to what is going on at the school and we can go online and see our child's grades as well. Both of our girls agree that enrolling at SCFCS was the best decision we have ever made concerning their education. The Head of School is always accessible and seems to be a very knowledgeable engaged leader. Big kudos to the guidance counselor who treated my kids as if they were the only kids in the world when we had questions. I'm sure she does the same for every student. Every day when I drop my children at school, I am convinced they are receiving a top notch education that even private schools could not match.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2012

I have three children at this school. They have raised their grades since starting here. Why? Because the teachers really care about the student's success and style of learning. We are very happy but most importantly my children are happy and they can't wait to get up early in the morning to make it in before school starts to get ahead on their projects. With response to the parent who only gave the school a 3-star. It sounds to me like you don't have any children at this school. Every parent here knows that there is NO traditional High School experience here. This is why we chose this school. We are not interested in that, we are interested in our children learning and being prepared for real professional jobs. Please do not rate a school where you don't have children and don't have a true experience of it's successes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

SCFCS is still in the flegling stages and has assosciated growing pains. But, the atmosphere is mostly positive, the teachers are engaged in their student's success, and the teaching concepts are adaptable and fluid. Even the school design is intended to encourage different learning styles - from individual to small group to full classroom. Computer integration (each student has their own Ipad/laptop) and use of multi-media keeps students on pace with technology. The school is physically located and integrated into the local college. This integration allows use of the college's resources such as the Science labs, library, and performance hall. Students have been included in 2 of the college's play performances as well as done 2 musicals of their own. Although they lack some of the extra-curricular activities (no organized sport's teams, band, etc) the students will be allowed to join these types of activities at other schools, since they are still part of the county school system. Overall, a solid academic experience with a few "glitches" still to work on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

Wow - surprised at only the positive being stated since there are some pretty serious issues. We (and several others ) have found this school to be billing itself as the alternative for kids who are higher level or "gifted". The problem with this is that students aren't being realistically prepared for what they will need to do to complete their high school level and then college level courses (because they lure folks in with the promise of kids having an AA degree by graduation). Guess what - if your kid doesn't do the extra work involved for these courses, they are not magically going to get an AA upon graduation. Gadgets and technology, along with self-directed learning only, cannot hide the need for children of all ages to have structured academic interaction. There is also concern about students having a traditional high school experience that is age and maturity level appropriate - not sure high school age kids should be sent out on a college campus for classes (even though the partnership with SCF is the best thing going for this school). If parents and students don't care about this, then it's a valid choice. Also a note of due diligence - check teacher credentials...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

Quality Education. The technology; iPads, computers, smart boards, and professional/caring teachers are noticeable. Goal setting and college readiness is big. There is an excellent drama/musical/theatre to be part of. I'm impressed with all the use of technology in mastery projects, iMovies, keynotes, wheel. Seeing students everywhere learning in little groups at their own speed is neat. Fun PTO ..dances, poetry slams, ect., STEM, excellent field trips, before school clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

SCFCS has been a godsend for my gifted child! He is able to work at his own academic level and actually now finds his work more challenging and exciting! The teachers challenge the students with "out of the box" thinking and assignments. Very happy that we found such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

If you have a child that is self-directed (wants to learn on their own), interested in technology, or is bored with the structure in a mainstream school, SCFCS is the place to be! The County does very little to encourage gifted students in their talents. SCFCS has been the ONLY school to engage my daughter at her level (whatever level that is for that subject -- she is great a math, but needs help in science). They are deeply committed to an easy to understand rubric (parents have to UNlearn some things like homework grades are NOT everything). They are truly preparing them to think critically, write well and achieve their goals in school and college and life. Can't be happier!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

SCFCS offers an educational experience for the student and parent that is willing to learn and adapt to new ways of learning. The curriculum is challenging and interesting and the teachers and administrators provide support and direction to help all students navigate through the areas that may be challenging. My son and I have both enjoyed the experience at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
93%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 67%
Hispanic 18%
Black 7%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 44%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/AN/A
Female 56%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%54%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5840 26th Street West
Bradenton, FL 34207
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 752-5491

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Center for Education
Bradenton, FL




IMG Academy
Bradenton, FL



Stepping Stone School
Bradenton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT