Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

742 students|Manatee
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Manatee Charter School 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
Great School with excellent academics. The extracurricular activities are wonderful. They have music, drama, and foreign language which is great for my middle school son.

Manatee Charter School 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a teacher
Great school! Friendly staff. Bilingual staff. Excellent curriculum. Close to home. Very clean. Highly recommend.


Manatee Charter School 4

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
Parents complain so much about this school. However, some of the parents are part of the problem. They are so rude and think that they can do whatever they want. I say some not all.... I sit and wait in the front office at the end of the day, and I have overheard tons of parents cursing the front office staff out and administration and all they do is smile back. Crazy!!! I commend the front office staff and administration.... I wouldn't want their jobs!!! they are easy targets to blame.... I'm partly responsible for my child's.... learning... Sincerely, Concerned Parent

Manatee Charter School 4

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
My children have attended this school for two years now. It is a wonderful school and the staff is VERY caring. My only complaints to date are that there are no bus services and their gifted services are lacking, but on par for Manatee county. Aside from those, my family has had a wonderful experience.

Manatee Charter School 4

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
I moved my son from our district public school to Manatee Charter and so far it's been a huge improvement. The teachers communicate well, the curriculum is challenging, and my son is much happier.


Manatee Charter School 1

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
Manatee Charter-I have mixed reviews I moved my kids to this school due to my oldest being Bullied. This was a great move for him even if the best teacher they had was fed up & left. I pulled him due to the fact that they did not have enough advanced students for a program. This was a DISASTER for my youngest son. The first year he had five different teachers including one that was just giving out A's to every student and not teaching them. The school did have a special summer program for this classroom ...but I think the damage was done. The next year for my son (3rd grade) he had a first year teacher who was very nice but I do not really feel knew how to teach different types of students (everyone learns differently) when she was asked questions we received blank looks. My son now has to repeat the third grade. I feel like a failure and wished that I had start asking questions of the other parents. When I did I found MANY are unhappy. Last night I had to hold my rough tough boy in my arms crying due to having to repeat the third grade. I know that my son and I are also to blame but I feel if you are looking at going to this school DO NOT DO IT!!!

Manatee Charter School 2

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
Manatee Charter (Charter Schools USA) The teaching is great for being a school only open for its second year. The changing of administration this year has been a disaster. Walk in every few months new people at the front. Got People in the cafeteria thinking they are doctors and say your kid has an illness which is not even anything.

Manatee Charter School 1

Posted March 17, 2014
- a parent
Manatee Charter deserves a rating lower than it's current F. My child attended a year and a half. Prior to MC he was performing above his grade level and in a gifted program. By the time I pulled him, he wasn't passing his benchmarks. In the 5 months since, he is surpassing all elementary students in Manatee County. His class had 5 different teachers in 1 year. The quality of education is very poor. It's not surprising considering you often hear staff complaining about their job, principal, that they don't get a planning period, their not protected by a union and that their classes are too large with ese students being mixed in with the rest. Most emails sent from the office staff contain serious grammar and spelling mistakes. Even the commercial they run on TV has the school's logo spelled Manateee instead of Manatee. At an event I volunteered at teachers spoke openly, laughed, and named a girl that was caught in the bathroom with a boy. The children are screamed at and demoralized. Many teachers publicly humiliate kids. I received a note from one stating "I would appreciate if you didn't reward him for bad behavior." I feel like a FAILURE as a parent for not pulling him sooner.

Nearby schools

Manatee Charter School
4550 30th Street East, Bradenton, FL  34203
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (941) 465-4296
Last modified Manatee Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top