Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bayshore Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 736 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2013

This school is terrible! I can not wait to move and finally be able to pull my daughter out of this trash. The principal is a stuck up snob who could care less about the school or its students. If you bring a problem to her attention she just looks at you with an empty glare like you are beneath her. And my child's teacher is a joke. We cant ever get any answers out of her. They never learn anything in class, they just watch movies everyday. Its like the whole school is full of lazy incompetent staff members who just show up to get paid. Dont bother trying to be involved with the school or your child's day to day routine because you would have better luck communicating with chimps. The school is a slum STAY AWAY!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I have been consistently disappointed in this school from the beginning of the school year. This is my daughter's first year here and I can't tell you how many times this school has made my heart sink due to unfriendliness of the staff, lack of communication with the parents, and their poor judgement. As I said, it has been consistent throughout the year-so I know that it's not just one person messing up or one person having a bad day and I have realized that it is not just me. It is not a 'bad' school, but it could be much better. I did not care for the principal very much at all. Never even spoke to me or looked at me while I was at the school. I attended and helped with many events and it was definitely obvious that she picks and chooses who she wants to interact with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

I love it at bayshore. My child was so happy there. She loved her teacher and her teacher loved her just as much. Although we've moved so she had to change schools and I really do not like the new one she is in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

My daughter has attended Bayshore elementary for years. She started out in full time Pre-K at a very young age. The staff at Bayshore is exceptional. Sorry Mrs. Elianna Sirrochi left she was an amazing teacher. The new principal is a very welcomed change. Miss Kay is awesome and cares so much for every child there. I have no issues what-so-ever with safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

We are a new family to Bradenton. Finding Bayshore Elementary was a God send for us coming from a Christan Academy invironment in Alabama. We found the staff, the school, the PTO members, as well as our daughter's 1st grade teacher to be of a great comfort to us during this transition. They all made us feel welcomed and helped us to feel at ease. I certainly believe this school has a lot to offer my children. And to the family! Be involved and Be blessed, Wendy D.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

Bayshore Elementary is a great school. We have been here 4 years. The staff is great, the new building wonderful. I have never had any questions about my children's safety there. The only safety issue I see is the parents that don't use the cross walk & run their kids across a very busy street, but that is no fault of the school, because the staff begs every year for parents not to do this. Thank you Mr Levingood & staff for all you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

Not happy with the principal or staff members. They need to 'smile' more and improve safety and discipline at parent pick-up. Teachers need to focus on their jobs more and complain less. The school also needs more activities, tutors, teachers aid, etc. This school is kinda okay, but not the best choice in town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

Very nice new building, great principal and AP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

I think the principal leadership at bayshore elementary is the best i have ever experienced. If you ask him a question you get an answer!. That is unheard of back in maryland. This principal really cares about my kids and their safety while at school. The parents should listen to him when he talks instead of complaining all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

The school is not bad, but they need to expand the curriculum to include more classes, like Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

I feel this school has a high level of academic programs. And the level of parent involvement it also good, however sometimes difficult to get volunteers. It would be nice if class sizes could be smaller. My daughter had no less than 28 students in her class this past year, and that makes a difficult time for the teacher to do their job. I also don't agree with the proposed new starting time for next school year. Starting 15 minutes later but ending at the same time does not make sense..especially when teachers already have a hard time cramming everything into the limited time they have with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

There is a new school being built, that is wonderful! My daughter just started there and so far its great. She absolutely loves the guidance counselor Ms. Tomeo, shes great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2004

My son is currently in 4th grade and has been attending Bayshore Elementary since 1st grade. Mr Levingood is the best principal. He has the patience of a saint, and a heart of gold. Not only does Mr. Levingood listen to the parents ideas and suggestions, he listens to the children which is most important. The teachers and staff will do everything in their power to make sure your child will succeed and they will never give up. I would not want to see my child attend any other school and I know he will miss them all when he moves to middle school, but at least I still have 5 more years to enjoy Mr. Levingood & staff as my daughter will be starting kindergarten there next year. Way to Go Bayshore Faculty & Staff, you are the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My fourth grade daughter has attended Bayshore Elementary since she began kindergarten. The adminstration and staff are caring and truly concerned with insuring that Bayshore is a quality learning environment. They welcome visits and input from parents and have a very effective PTO. Kudos to Bayshore Elementary for providing their students with a top notch education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2003

this is my childs second year at bayshore and she enjoys learning and while i visit often i belive the staff and teaching staff are doing a wonderful job all the way around by teaching respect for others,caring,responsibility and learning in the classroom.Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 45%
White 37%
Black 9%
Two or more races 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%54%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANNETTE CODELIA
Fax number
  • (941) 753-0802

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6120 26th Street West
Bradenton, FL 34207
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 751-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Center for Education
Bradenton, FL


Central High School
Bradenton, FL




IMG Academy
Bradenton, FL


Stepping Stone School
Bradenton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT