Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK, 9-12|Public district
2,409 students|Manatee
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Manatee High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
They really seem to care a lot about how well my son is doing. Always available to him.

Manatee High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
He's in the honors program and so it's hard for me to judge. He does have his hand's full. Not much time for other activities (well, he plays Lacrosse, sails and engages in track at Manatee High)


Manatee High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Surprised at the level of difficulty associated with his exams. I hold a doctorate from an IVY League school and at this point in my career, I really can't offer much assistance!

Manatee High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
I've have found both the teachers and student body to be exemplary. At age 15, in the 9th grade, I've detected no "attitude" at all as a result of Manatee High. He's remained a really "good, respectful kid".

Manatee High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Again, my child has had a wonderful experience and has befriended some really fine peers, each who care about how the other one is doing.


Manatee High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
I've witnessed nothing else to say anything to the contrary. Everythinh has been very upstanding.

Manatee High School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Teachers appear very dedicated to wanting their students to excel. My son's in the "Honor Class" and exams do appear quite rigorous. We had wanted him to go "private" although it was his decision, he really likes Manatee High, and he is excelling.

Manatee High School 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
Are you kidding me? Charging for graduation? Is this not a public school? Even if I was rich, I wouldn't pay to see a graduation for which I have already paid through fees and taxes. It's the principle for pete's sake. Com' on man! I wish only the worst for the entire administration or whoever came up with this idea. You need fired and never allowed to work in a public setting again as you evidently don't know what it's all about. Geeezzz!


Manatee High School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
I have nothing but great things to say about MHS. I am alumni and my child now attends MHS. He plays football and has had a great experience playing for Coach Kinnan. It's not all about footbal...every Thursday they have a guest speaker after practice for character development. They teach these boys how to go out and be prodeuctive members of society and to strive for the best. My child's teachers do the same and really encourage the student's to do their best. The guidance counselor's are always available to discuss my child's progress and what the steps to take to apply to colleges. Past and current student's that have bad things to say about MHS are the ines that don't get involved whether it be sports, clubs, arts, etc. I know because I used to be that student and now look back and wish I had done more at MHS instead of complaining about wanting to be out of there.

Manatee High School 5

Posted October 20, 2012
- a parent
I am proud to say my family and I are apart of the manatee family, we just moved to the area and was very nervous about choosing schools for my children. I am very pleased with Manatee High thus far.

Nearby schools

Manatee High School
1 Hurricane Ln, Bradenton, FL  34205-3299
(941) 714-7300
Last modified Manatee High School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top