Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palma Sola Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 591 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2014

Palma Sola is an excellent school. The staff and teachers are incredibly caring and amazing. The principal knows most of the children by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2014

I used to go there, wonderful teachers and staff. The best teacher I ever had worked there - miss French. -Conall


Posted March 25, 2014

Palma Sola is an excellent school that has wonderful teachers and encourages family values. My daughter has attended since kindergarten and is currently in the 4th grade . The staff is friendly and always helpful. Palma Sola always has activities or projects going on that incorporates teachers, children and their parents or grandparents. I couldn't be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

My son is going on his 4th year here he is behind and the principle wants to say its because he is ADD when in fact we have been to his pediatrician and they do not think he is. Instead of blaming ther self they blame it on the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

Amazing family... make you feel welcome and supported from day one... thank you Palma Sola you have made my son's life better each day...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2012

My child just started Kindergarten here after going to a private school for the past 2 years. He has a wonderful teacher and I feel that he is learning what all children are learning at this age. Of course he learned all of this a few years back in the private school but since our personal situation has changed, my children are attending public schools and this was a second best option for us. I see my child during lunch period and get to see a little of what is going on in their day. I would say that if you can visit your child during their lunch hour please do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

Our family loves the school and the staff is very loving - great with all children. The school is open to nature and not closed in like other school's great learning environment. She can not wait to get her personal laptop. Parents are very involved and the school hosts tons of family involvements and events. We are so glad to be part of the Palma Sola Family!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

The principle is condescending at best. She is against parent interaction and when you talk to her she puts her hands all over you treating you like a child. Technology is lacking in the school for there is no computers for specials and only 2 computers in the classroom. Some of the teachers are WONDERFUL however I also saw the flip side. I finally pulled my children out of there and choiced them into a much better school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

when I first came to palma sola my, kids had areally hard time starting at a new school.The principal and the gindece counsler where the best you could ever ask for.They made the change so much better and easier for my kids,and one fo the teachers there went out of her way to make sure my child felt at ease when he started.She did alittle project with the classes because it help my son adjust to the school so much better.my one child is also adhd and all the staff go out of there way to help these childern and it just makes it so much easier.Thank you some much to all at the schhool how as done so much to make it better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

Palma Sola is the kind of school you would want your kids to go to. I'm a graduate and my kids are attending now... Still searching for more school comparing sites to look at what other elementary schools are doing. I've had lunch with my child many times and the lunches are not silent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

Palma Sola is a fabulous school. Our new principal is young, energetic and is totally focused on the education of our children. Our teachers are very caring and work as a team to provide a fabulous educational experience for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

My son was lacking in so many aspects when we moved to Palma Sola. I believe the teacher was his saving grace, he became a much better reader in just a couple of weeks. The school itself is improving by enhancing the security level. When we first moved their anyone could go on campus and take a child going to the potty, now they have a buddy system no child is ever alone. I believe the new principle has really done an awesome job considering she had to step in at a time of change and with the degree of press and misunderstanding by the parents, I applaud her. The activities have been wonderful for the children and the adults, thanks to the PTA. Parent evolvement was encouraged from the time I put my child in Palma Sola. It is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2006

My children have been students at Palma Sola for 5 years. The new 2005-2006 principal came in and changed everything about the school before she took the time to see what worked. The teachers, on the other hand, are the best you could ever find. They are loving, caring, and eager to teach the children new things. They are availalbe to the parents anytime. You caouldn't ask for more from these teachers. Luckily for this school, the teachers make up what the principal lacks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

I brought my daughter to Palma Sola expecting the wonderful school I hear about, boy was I wrong. Her first three days in class were terrible. THe weeks that followed were worse. The teacher did not want to discuss it, the principal is as closed minded and tightlipped as they come. There was nowhere for us to turn for help. We had to pull her out of the school and send her to a school where the children are number one, not just a number. Palma Sola - thumbs down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

My family was a part of Palma Sola Elementary for 13 years until we moved to TX. The faculty, staff, and teachers are very caring, nurturing, and encouraging to all of the children. The academic programs were excellent. The parent involvement was very high. The only downside was that there were no school athletic teams/sports. As parents we were extrememly satisfied with Palma Sola Elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Palma Sola has, in our opinion, some of the best teachers in the county. However, changes being made are not benefiting the children (shorter recess, silent lunches). Palma Sola needs to remember our childern don't go to school just to score high on the FCAT, this is their time to discover who they are. The safety is a huge issue at this school. Outside bathrooms where ANYONE can go, open hallways, easy access to all children. I wish Palma Sola was still the school it once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

The teacher's at this school are good some are wonderful. Since getting a new principal the school has lost some of it's parent friendly style. It is an open style campus which is attractive but is not very secure. They do alot of fun activities and the kids like the school alot. I would rate it in the average to good level. For in town location it is one of the better schools but does not compare to the newer schools out east.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

Palma Sola is an amazing school. My daughter has excelled in this school. Best school in manatee county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

Great school. My daughter loves going which makes me feel great about sending her. Her teachers are good. We enjoy Palma Sola.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 67%
Hispanic 22%
Black 7%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 182%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 29%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 51%54%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6806 5th Avenue Northwest
Bradenton, FL 34209
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 741-3179

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Blue Heart School
Bradenton, FL


Edison Academics
Bradenton, FL



Learning Unlimited
Bradenton, FL



Learning Unlimited
Bradenton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT