Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frances Wakeland Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 570 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2013

I went here from 1st through 5th grade, and it was a great school. They handled bullying (When it happened) really well, and I learned a lot. I am going into Algebra this year, and it is in part because of Wakeland.


Posted July 29, 2013

Change in leadership and county cut backs have caused us to rethink our choice of Wakeland. We believe in the IB methodologies, but staff turnover and reduced funding are taking their toll. Factor in that Johnson Middle's IB program is struggling and the incentives to choice to Wakeland are not what they were two years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

As I look back at my sons first year of school, VPk, I am overwhelmed with the knowledge he has learned. My 4 year old is making sure he is a Risk Taker when trying things for the first time, being principled and caring, and learning how things relate to his own body by the choices he makes and how that personally effects him. The principle is awesome! His teacher was AMAZING. Every Friday you receive a weekly review of what the children has learned. Each child also has a daily agenda to communicate from teacher to parent. I am so thrilled and honor to have my child attending Wakeland !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

Wakeland Elementary is a wonderful school. Great staff, teachers and administration that truely care about each child. I highly reccomend it to anyone looking for an amazing education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

I cannot say enough about this school.The principal and entire staff are 110% committed to the kids. My children love being there and they are growing and becoming internationally minded young people, while being constantly challenged in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

Can not put into words how amazing this school is. You have to be part of it to undstand it! LOVE WAKELAND
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

My grandson as improved his math, reading, science and all other skills since he has attended Frances Wakeland Elementry School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

I love Wakeland IB, because of the whole world learning environment and real world diversity. We have extremely dedicated teachers and a principal that it out of this world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

IB program in general is pretty good as it more closely resembles international standards. This school has an excellent leader in principal Dr. Fradley and the teachers follow the leader. The faculty's commitment and energy is obvious. The IB program in other states have been well known and draws so many students that the waiting list could be so long. We feel lucky to have one within reasonable driving distance. Our child is in 2nd grade, had been here since K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

This year I moved both my kids to this school and they are loving it. The school is kinda far from our home and we do our own transportation as the school bus does not arrive at our community but it is definitely worth it. Being in technology industry, I consider myself a global worker and not quite sure where my job would take me next, so I wanted my children be taught in such a manner that they could survive anywhere. I believe Wakeland's IB programme provides such skills and exposure to my kids. Principal is great and he knows every kid by his/her name and very hardworking teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

This school has been great for my son--challenging, and lots of one on one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

The staff and faculty at Wakeland are excellent. My wife and I chose this school because of the World IB Program. The Principal Dr. Fradley is excellent and very involved with the students on a daily basis. I recommend this school to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

I am very satisfied with this school. The teachers are dedicated to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

I love this school. The staff goes above and beyond to be on the cutting edge of the latest research in the different ways to teach our students. The campus is gorgeous and very peaceful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2006

I feel the acamedics at our school are excellent We are highly trained not only in developing literacy in our classrooms but implementing the IB PYP program using the inquiry method in which students decide where they want to take their learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2003

My boy had lot of problems. The teachers worked hard with him and now he do great! He read and write now, and he like school now! Thank you everybody!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2003

I was amazed at how quickly my daughter learned to read while attending kindergarten at Wakeland. Her teachers are excellent and have great communication with the parents.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 42%
Hispanic 36%
Black 12%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%54%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MR. MARIO MENDOZA
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (941) 741-3549

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1812 27th Street East
Bradenton, FL 34208
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 741-3358

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Horizons Academy
Bradenton, FL



Manatee Glens
Bradenton, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT