Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sara Scott Harllee Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 465 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2013

I absolutely loved this school when I went there. Now a sophomore, I often compare teachers I have currently to the caring teachers I had at Harllee, and wish I had the opportunity to participate in as many activities as I did there. The TSA club was spectacular, as was my art class taught by Mrs. Lazar. I was definitely prepared for high school, actually I often found that I was over-prepared. As for Harllee Middle School, I completely and utterly give it a five star rating.


Posted August 19, 2013

Harllee was a frustrating, extremely disappointing experience. In fact, I just received a letter from our School District offering my son a "scholarship" to transfer out of zone because Harllee received a GRADE F by the state. My son has ADHD & Harllee teachers allowed him to sit all day, every day & do nothing. Since they could not motivate him to participate in class, I offered to have him do all his classwork at home, to which they agreed. However, getting them to consistently provide assignments was a nightmare, even after he was approved for the 504 plan that legally bound them to provide me a weekly assignment list. They "say" they encourage parental involvement, but not true. I am able to get my son to work at home, so I know it is possible; yet, they were either unwilling or unable to accomplish that end in an entire year. My son failed 7th grade because Harllee failed him, but thanks to Florida Virtual School, he completed & passed his failed courses. We accepted the scholarship offer & he will be attending a school with an 8 out of 10 rating. We are hopeful now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

Teachers have a lot of heart at Harllee. Many poor students, struggling learners, and uninvolved parents are a challenge. However, Harllee staff members really care about the kids. Boys and Girls club is on site after school and staffed with many school employees for a safe and fun environment. AVID and LEAD programs are competitive with any other middle school in the district.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 23, 2008

This school has the a great technology program! Third best in Florida! Problems with this school are very overrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

It was a great leaning experince.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

harllee middle school is a great school I'm honored that my son and daughter go there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

The school has a very good tech program. The Technology Student Association club at this school is among the top rated in the country. The things heard in the news are not as bad as they may seem. I suggest giving the school a chance.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 3, 2005

over populated and very difficult to get the teachers to give the kids what they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2003

This school fails in my opinion. The teachers are more worried about violence in the classrooms than in teaching. Pulled my children out of this school because of the violence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
22%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
14%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 43%
Black 28%
White 25%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 145%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 28%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 51%54%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JAMES HIRD
Fax number
  • (941) 751-7030

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6423 9th Street East
Bradenton, FL 34203
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 751-7027

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Center for Education
Bradenton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT