Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manatee School Of Arts/Sciences

Charter | PK-6 | 133 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2012

I absolutely love this school, and better yet my daughter loves it! She enjoys being able to move ahead when she is ready to move ahead in a subject and no longer worries about having to wait for other students to catch up while she gets bored. The principal is very involved in ensuring each child progresses. She isthe only principal I know that greets each student every morning with a smiling face and a happy Hello. Thestudents here have art and science everyday and they love the opportunity to be creative and have fun. They also enjoy their Masterpiece Showcases where each and every student is a star while they put on their performances for the parents and staff. My daughter is so happy here she is doing the best in school that she has ever done and I couldn't be more proud. She really enjoys being able to express her true magnificent unique self! Sara Heuer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

I am a student who went to msas from k-5 and graduated in 2009 and it is a TERRIBLE school! First things first, the principal has no idea what she is doing and has no rules and no control. The principal hired HER SON to be a teacher there and she lets him do whatever he want to with the class, im not joking, I was in his class 2 years! The second in command in the school who I cannot name because of site rules is completley useless, she wont help anyone who has complaints, I know this because once my mother took me in to talk to her ofter a student threw me against a metal chair and the teacher didnt notice, and I was told to "work it out" with the student who hurt me. The test scores speak for themselves, they are really low, you can look them up. The school is really good at pretending they are a good school and have convinced many parents that it is, but I have been on the inside, and it is horrible. By the way, if a kid tells you it is good, they either dont know what they are talking about, or like the lack of work. From what I hear, its gotten worse since I left, they are now giving nintendo DSIXL's to anyone who enrolls as a bribe! Which they used instead of laptops!


Posted October 6, 2012

Manatee School of Arts and Science is a Excellent school all my children have attended my oldest Michael now 22 my daughter Rachael 16 and now my youngest Ryan 10 all have excelled in school and in life. All of the teachers and staff treat everyone like family. All my children love it there. The principal is wonderful and does great everyone at the door. Each student is walked to their car by teachers and opens the door morning and afternoon. They have great academic programs and I think the field trips are wonderful. Thank you MSAS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

A great place for children. We loved our experience at this school. The teachers really care about the students not just academically. The principal greets everyone everyday at the door. My children's teachers replied to all my issues in a timely manner. Most importantly my children loved this school! They got to sing, dance, and be creative!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

Worst,and I mean By Far the Worst school to Put a Child in ...My Child Was advanced when He/She started At this school ....Before the end of the year could even come I had to Pull My Child Out ....due to My Child falling So far back My Child will be Repeating the Same grade this new school year....Feild Trips "break for Teachers" are just about every month some twice in a month...Fun Raiser's every few weeks ...basically to much going on for childern leaving NO TIME TO LEARN ....Also this School Makes your Children Eat Out side ...Not a big deal right ? Wait until your child comes home Sick every week from eating in the cold Rain or from the Germs ...Food Left in eating area for over a week and NEVER ONCE Did i see anyone Wipe down the eating tables ...there is actually food wedged into the holes of the table ....All in All It is a TOXIC place for Children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

This school has a toxic environment. The principal needs to resign because she doesn't address the bullying problems at her school. I was told my child needed to grow a 'backbone' by her! I had to pull my child out because of the unsafe environment. He was physically and verbally assualted on nearly daily basis towards the end of his stint at MSAS. Parents BEWARE ... CHARTER schools are different than public schools ... they can do what they want there (the administrators) and get away with it. Oh and by the way, they don't practice Ron Clark's 55 Rules because if they did, they would go back to rule #1: WE ARE FAMILY!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I love it because they offer dance and music lessons. I think it is important for students to learn about the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

This school has a bullying problem and they won't address it. My child was assaulted at school and I was never informed nor did I receive an accident report. All I got was a call stating that I had to agree to get me child counseling and the agreement had to be signed! The principal's policies on how she handles things are inconsistent. I had to pull my child with only two months left before summer break and might I mention that he was an HONOR ROLL student ... all because the school refused to address the bullying going on there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

My student was always bored, and acting out at their previous school. When I switched them to Manatee School of Arts and Sciences, Inc. she came alive. Projects are relevant to their everyday life and interests. Studies culminates with trips that excite her and make her want to do the work that allows her to a movie, or on a field trip, or to a special party related to their studies. This school is so unique and looks at each child as an indidvidual and provides help when needed on a one on one basis. I have never seen a more caring administration or staff. Each child is special and important at MSAS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

It is a awsome school! Mr.J is awsome Mrs. Jolly is a great principal!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2009

This is a small charter school in Manatee county, my child gets individual attention and is not just a number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

I had to take my child out of this school because academics were replaced with trips to Oakmont to HighSchool Musical 3 and Madagasgar2 just to name a few. Nepitism has overtaken professionalism and the principal's attention has shifted away from the children and their best interests.My heart broke when my son said he wanted to throw away awards from the principal because she doesn't mean what she says. His teacher was wonderful but the environment was hazardous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

I have a boy that went to this school last year. He struggles hard in school. I tried homeschooling for a year and gave up. They worked hard to help him make it and now he is moving into the next grade. Many Thanks to this school. I'd give them a 4.5 stars only because I probably would never give a 5 star, because no one is perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

Great school, wonderful teachers and staff! Would reccommend to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

MSAS is a great school. My child's teacher always keeps in contact with me and I feel very comfortable to contact the principal at anytime, she is always willing to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I am very pleased with MSAS. The teachers go above and beyond to provide a great education for my child. The school offers fun after school activities that the teachers spend their extra time to support. My child is very happy at MSAS. The principal wants every child to succeed and she is always willing to meet whenever needed. MSAS is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

I am disappointed in the schools ability to follow through in providing for needs of struggling students. I feel the school is only concerned about excelling students and its students scoring high on the FCAT to boost the school's rating up from a C.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

There is no communication between parent and school. I have never been able to resolve any of my concerns about our child with the principal. We are simply ignored. I have no clue as to why it is called MSAS (Arts and Science). There is hardly art or science. We will be looking for another school for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

This school has wonderful communication lines that have been set in place. The teachers I have had the pleasure of working with has always been very willing to work with me and my daughter. They make it fun for the children to learn and the children really grasp what they have been taught. I am very proud to say that I have been an MSAS parent for the past 3 years and my daughter is endng the school year with straight A's!! Thank you MSAS for all that you do each and everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

Poor communication, does not seem like this school has their act together. Lacks class.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

27 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Hispanic 18%
Black 17%
Two or more races 8%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Female 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 90%54%61%
Master's degree 10%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 32nd Street West
Bradenton, FL 34205
Phone: (941) 755-5012

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oasis Middle School
Bradenton, FL



The Star Center
Bradenton, FL


Radebach School
Bradenton, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT