Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakewood Ranch High School

Public | 9-12 | 1952 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2014

Lakewood ranch high school is an amazing school. They have a lot to get involved in, and most of the kids their are nice. The teachers are great too they help you reach your goals they are really encouraging to all of their students. Lakewood ranch high school has the most school spirit that I've ever seen in a high school they are also an A school. It's one of the best schools that I've been to and I'm not leaving any time soon.


Posted January 23, 2013

. We were undecided on public school when coming to Manatee County from Clay County, outside Jacksonville, FL, and a private school, but with A-rated schools here in Lakewood Ranch, we gave them a try. All have been very good, if not better. He was given the opportunity to earn high school credit in middle school to bring to LRHS in order to take a more rigorous course load once in high school. This advancement has made a strong impact in his striving for higher levels of learning with AP. My oldest son is currently in 10th grade at LRHS. He has had the opportunity to challenge himself academically as much as he wants. He brought over 5 classes from middle school and has now taken 4 AP classes and 1 dual enrollment class (college.) He is able to choose the classes that suit his individual needs, and the AP classes and dual-enrollment have been quite rigorous, but he is getting a wonderful education and will get college credit upon successful passing of the AP Exams at YE. He is socially and academically happy at LRHS. We struggled with the decision on choosing an IB Program, but our son is happy SOCIALLY, and the AP Program is GREAT! This was the best choice for HIM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

I believe that overall, Lakewood Ranch High School is a fairly good school and I have enjoyed my time here at LRHS. Based on personal experiences: Highlights of LRHS: They have a fantastic TV Production program, and have a morning news show Lakewood Live, thanks to Mr. Stedman. They have a great sports program. If you are in Band or orchestra this is the school for you. They have all kinds of clubs to choose from as well as many opportunities to earn your volunteer hours. Their are some truly amazing teachers, some of my favorites are Mrs. Austerman, Coach Thomas, and Coach Sponsel. Some parts of the school are very nice: the upstairs classrooms, the auditorium, the gym, and the football feild. Some of my least favorite things about LRHS: The bathrooms are aweful, and everytime I go in it reeks of cigarette smoke. The school lunches are not the best, so bring your own lunch. Some of the teachers really should not be teaching. In all my time being here I have not once seen or heard the principle, and don't even know who she is. Teachers give ridiculous amounts of homework. The campus is a bit dirty, and some of the classes are in portables.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

New principal has re-energized the staff and students to achieve maxium potential
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

I love this school. It is a little small for the population of students attending, but isn't as bad as everyone said it was. New schools in the area have helped with the class size. If you are into drama or band, their programs are superior. The campus is relatively clean, the cell phone policy is extremely strict and the dress code is strict too. The teachers are pretty good, overall well rounded, some hard, some 'easy A'. Watch out for Mrs. Thomas, Mr. Thomas though is one of the best. Overall an excellent school. Oh, yeah... Pack your own lunch.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2009

I liked LWR, and went there this year as a freshman. They have some great clubs, and programs there. I am very much involved in the performing arts, and I did showchoir there with the chorus teacher Ms. Bond, and loved it. (who is amazing!!!) On the other hand, I ran into some problems with some other freshaman girls. I wish the school was a bit more.... serious. But other than that I cant complain. Had a great time! Wont be returning, due to having my heart set on another school, but it was a great experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2009

I loved LWR High School. Great learning experience for both my girls. No problems at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

I have 3 children and I am aware of 'school choice.' We are districted for Lakewood Ranch High School and are happy we did. My daughter loves the school, the teachers are great, and the curriculum is challenging. She is learning a great deal and is involved with many great clubs the school has to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

Lakewood ranch is awful for your child, unless you want your children educated in violence and unsatisfactory and savy staff


Posted May 28, 2008

ive been going to lrhs for my freshman and sophmore year then for the begginning of my junior year i went to 2 different SMALL schools, yet for the last semester i came back to lakewood. i love this school and even though it is huge you still know the majority of the people at the school. it has a huge variety of fun classes to take and the teachers are fun and interesting. the school alwyas has functions going on and stuff to do. i love this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2007

Perfect school my 14 year old son said it was great as well do I and I am truely glad we chose this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

A great school and I am glad we chose it as a family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2006

I'm a Senour this year at LRHS, and I've been there for all four years of high school. For the most part it would say it's a decent school. It's true there are some clueless teachers, but the bulk of the staff is tuned in. There is alot of community involvement here as well. LRHS hosts many family and teen aimed events, included the Fall Funtacular and a Battle of the Bands, which takes place in a controlled environment. This year though they have dramatically cracked down on discipline. This is a fairly young school and is still growing. The campus is extremely large covering almost 100 acres of land, 20 of which is the physical campus while the rest consists of sports complexes, training fields, parking lots, and a large ag department. ~Bert
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2006

This school has some very poor teachers. So that my child did not adversely suffer the consequences of poor luck getting one of them... I had to hire a tutor so that she has a chance of passing.(Not tax deductible!) there are a few teachers that she can honestly say; she did not learn anything from! how sad is that? The principal is not very helpful and school rules are ridiculous when a child has a complaint about not being able to comprehend a teacher and feels she needs a new teacher.. Schedule changes are not allowed! so what is a parent to do? Pay the price for poor luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

I am a university professor and I believe this school is doing an excellent job preparing kids for college. My kids have been in a number of good schools throughout the country and LR has been the best. They seem to be very well funded. For example, each student has two books for each class--one for home and one for school. The TV production labs are amazing and the instructor is excellent and very knowledgeable. They also have an OUTSTANDING band program. This is BY FAR the best school around if your teen is musically inclined. The golf program is one of the best in the state, but you will have to be a scratch (zero handicap) golfer to make the team. One downside: Since the school focuses on academics, the football team typically goes 1-10. Serious football players might want to look elsewhere. The other sports programs--including track--are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2005

Lakewood Ranch High School is developing and implementing small learning communities within the school. This is a great enhancement for a school with over 2,500 students. The administrators and teachers are committed to the success of each student. Parental involvement is good for high school level. The biggest challenge is communication which is being addressed through quarterly newsletters and continuous improvement of the school's website. There are endless opportunities for students to participate in sports, clubs, music programs and more. Students have the opportunity to have an excellent high school experience here both socially and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

Great School in our area, offerss good academic programs, good sports activties, friendly staff and lot of parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

I have been a student at Lakewood for one year now and am going into my jr. year. I think that overall it is a good school. The academic quality depends upon the teacher because some teachers are not as in depth in their material as others and it is hard to learn as much. Some classes are overcrowded and the school in general is very large with over 2000 students but if you are enrolled in honors classes it is not as bad. The sports programs are very competetive with such a large group to draw players from. There are many clubs and extracurricular activities to participate in. Lakewood is a great school and i couldnt be happier. If i could change anything i would make the school smaller and more personable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2005

With only 43% of the school passing the reading FCAT, this school was horrible in academics. Much improvement is needed in all categories. Kids like the staff, however they need to be more disciplined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

Lakewood ranch high school is overall a great school they have a wonderful administration. their teachers are some of the best, and there extracurricular activeities not only focus on the sports but also the learning of leadership. I would reccomend any parent/student to lakewood ranch. The lakewood ranch community is very peaceful and safe. L.R.H.S. is a great learning enviorment!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

521 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

492 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

500 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

383 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

507 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

452 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 12% 29%
Black 5% 23%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 92%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%54%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Linda Nesselhauf
Fax number
  • (941) 727-6099

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5500 Lakewood Ranch Blvd
Bradenton, FL 34211
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 727-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pinnacle Academy
Bradenton, FL


Beyond the Spectrum
Sarasota, FL


Narrow Way Academy
Sarasota, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT