Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rowlett Magnet Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 897 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2013

This is my 7th year with a student at Rowlett. What I appreciate most are the love for learning and the understanding of how to meet the needs of students (not just administer whatever is required by the county and state). The teachers are highly committed and passionate. There are many different opportunities for growth and learning outside the traditional classroom. The sense of community among teachers, students and staff is strong. I hope that the values my son learned and pride in his school last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

We have a daughter in 3rd grade, she"s been their ever since kindergarten. We are very pleased with this school, especially with the teachers and the principal. We have talked with other parent's about the school and they all say the same thing, they all say they love the school. We haven't heard anything negative about the school. I would recommend anyone that's thinking about sending their kids to Rowlett Elementary. I would rate this school a A++++++.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

Do you want your child at a semi-faceless school, or do you want your child at a school where almost everyone there knows your child's name? Rowlett is an amazing school that proves the idea that children should come first. This school provides an education for students that goes beyond the normal local elementary school. The extras this school manages to provide, through parental funding and a caring staff (both paid and volunteers), are life-learning experiences the children take with them when they leave. They learn Spanish every year, they are afforded after school activities, there are caring professionals ready to help your child through any problem they may face, and supporting teachers there for your children and you, too, if you need extra support. I have one son who has graduated from Rowlett and another with two years to go. We started out at a different school and choiced into Rowlett, and there isn't a day that we haven't rejoiced at that decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

If you are looking for the BEST school in Florida look no further. The focus is on educating the whole child, providing positive reinforcement and as much enrichment and extra curricular activities your child can manage. The school community shares a positive, corporative and respectful approach from: the Principal/Assistant Principal, Teachers, Para Professionals, Cafeteria Staff, Maintenance Crew, Parents, Volunteers and Students. Rowlett Elementary was best summed up by a former teacher when she said: Rowlett is one voice many verses. You will not be disappointed by making the Choice for Rowlett. Next year, Rowlett will be a Charter School and the future is looking brighter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

We could not be happier with our choice in schools for our children. The fact that Rowlett is now going to be a Not-for-profit Charter School is a bonus. The school district in Manatee County is lacking in leadership and knowing that our children's school will be under the control of people who care deeply about children and education takes away the need for worry. I wish they'd consider expanding into the middle school grade levels. It will be hard to replace Rowlett as our children progress in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

The thing about this school that makes it so special is the school community, made up of dedicated teachers, supportive administration and active parents. Rowlett really supports the education of the whole child, academically, socially, emotionally and physically. An added plus are the many extra's like Odyssey of the Mind, TSA, Drama, Dance, etc. I could not ask for a better start for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

In a time with high stakes testing, Rowlett focuses on educating the complete student. The core classes as well as the arts are all encouraged and supported at Rowlett. Also, all grades from K-5 have Spanish 3 times a week. The staff and faculty love and support the students and go that extra mile. The school is a family and it is wonderful to see staff, faculty , admin and parents working together to educated their children. I love this school and only wish it went thru middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

It is such a privilege to take my kids to Rowlett every day. I know when I am dropping my daughters off that they are in the hands of a community that cares about them and their success. The administration, teachers and staff are all wonderful. They do such a great job of making learning and school fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

Rowlett is an arts and communications themed magnet school which is also 100% school choice. The school environment is focused on the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People and this theme is visible throughout the entire culture. Student academics are NOT based on one-size fits all but rather meets the needs of all types of learners. The staff are warm and friendly and it seems more like a home rather than a public institution. I am honored to not only be a teacher at Rowlett, but have witnessed the success of my three nieces throughout their education at Rowlett Magnet Elementary School. Visit their website for more information...you will not be disappointed.


Posted October 9, 2013

I am the Gifted teacher at Rowlett Elementary School. I am blessed to affect the lives of over 140 wonderful students a week in grades 1st-5th grade. Rowlett is an amazing place to work. No matter what is going on in the World, I get to work and I feel happy and safe. When my smiling students enter my Discovery classroom I experience feelings of joy and gratitude. Rowlett has no discipline problems, because the students are so engaged in inquiry learning and STEAM projects, they are thrilled to be at school and strive to do their best each day. When the regular school day is done, over 700 of our students participate in free enrichment classes that include everything from learning how to cook, to playing the violin, yoga, and even gardening! The staff at Rowlett is a family. We are here for each other to share teaching experiences, and knowledge so that we can provide the best well-rounded education for our students. Our Parents are our raving fans, and volunteer in so many ways. When funding was taken away for a media specialist, our parents volunteered to run the media center everyday. Rowlett is a fabulous place to work and educate our future leaders of America.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2013

We are thrilled that our son attends Rowlett. Because of the care from all of the staff and faculty he has soared in his academics and loves school. We are looking forward to another great year at Rowlett and our 2nd son can't wait to start Kindergarten next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

The principal of Rowlette Magnet Elementary is awesome. One of the reason why Rowlette is a great school: EXCELLENT LEADERSHIP. The teachers and the staff have a passion for the educational development of students. Parental involvement has played a critical role in this school's success; the parents who send their kids to Rowlette ~ CARE. I love the school because it offers well-rounded education (with diversity) that will prepare our child for the real world. We are a professional family ~ MD and Accountant. We could have easily continued to keep our child in a private school, but chose Rowlette because of its reputation and all the reasons listed above. Diversity was/is important in every facet - racial, social, economic, etc. It was important for our child to see teachers representative of all cultures and background. The quality of education is good... The Magnet aspect exposes our child to the arts. This is great! Our daughter loves school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

We're sad we couldn't take this school with us in our move. It was amazing. Brain Flynn is a wonderful principal whose dedication to his students, parents and teachers was beyond every expectation. My children thrived. They did very well academically but that seemed like an added bonus. There was just so much to experiece there and I always felt welcome. Less then a year ago we moved out of state. The kids now attend a AAA school in the top school district in the state. While I appreciate the staff teaching and caring for my children, the school simply doesn't hold up to the Rowlett experience. The whole family still talks about the fun and caring environment the entire staff at Rowlett provided our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

Best elementary school in Manatee County! Ignore the rating...look at these reviews from real parents with real students who attend Rowlett. You will not be disappointed!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

I could not be happier with our choice to attend Rowlett! This school is AMAZING! The students, teachers, principal and support staff work together to make this school the best in town!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

My daughter attended K this year and I could not be happier with her progress both socially and educationally. Brian Flynn the principal, is a model to all the students. Her teacher Mrs. Tomecki was an absolute pleasure and certainly one of the reasons my daughter did so well. I wish I could clone her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

This school has a strong, caring administration and staff, and many involved parents. The principal has done a wonderful job holding parental cliques at bay by forming a family association versus the standard PTO. This translates to many to do a few things, versus a few, doing it all. Keeps away the burnt out feelings, frustration, and clique mentality. The children are well cared for and very involved. It is a very positive school that gives a wonderful base for the students and parents alike. They teach the "7 habits" and also live by example. Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Offers a great deal of enrichment and the kids are loving going to school


Posted November 25, 2009

I have a daughter in 5th grade and a son in 1st. I could not be happier with our school and I wish more kids were as fortunate to have an option like this available to them. Brian Flynn is a model of what leadership within a school should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

This is my daughter's first year at Rowlett and she's loving it! They do so many extracurricular activities and she loves her teacher! The principal Mr. Flynn knows each of the students' names and even knows the adults' names and even knew my daughter's grandmother's name. He is so nice and funny. All of the staff members and I'm so glad my daughter is in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 26%
Black 14%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 129%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 29%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%54%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. BRIAN J FLYNN
Fax number
  • (941) 708-6109

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 9th Street East
Bradenton, FL 34208
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 708-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Manatee Glens
Bradenton, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT