Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Church Of The Resurrection Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2012

If you love Polk County and want your kids to live here forever with you at your house while working at Cracker Barrel, this is the perfect school for your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

The role of the elementary/middle school in developing the foundation of our children to be good citizens that serve God, our community, and each other is so important. It must compliment and expand what we do as parents. This foundation must be built on growth in faith, social behavior, & academic skills. Resurrection Catholic School accomplishes this in all areas with their gifted and caring teachers, staff, & the leadership of it's principal along with the support of a strong parish community. Our eldest son attended RCS from grades PK3 - 8 and is currently a senior at Santa Fe Catholic HS. I am so proud of him as a person & where is going and I thank RCS for its role in that. Our other son started in PK and is in 4th grade currently. As a RCS parent for 15 years now and 4 more to go, I can not imagine sending my child anywhere else. The academic test results show the advantage your child would have by attending RCS. See the happiness in the students to witness the community, service, sports, activities, and faithfulness that makes RCS so special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

I have three children attending Resurrection Catholic School. Their scores on national academic tests are proof that they are getting a great education. However, what I really love about Resurrection is the feeling my children and I get when we step into the school. There is a strong sense of community and it feels like home. When something unfortunate happens to a family here, the school community bands together to help that family in need. I love that my children are also learning that giving back to the community is the right thing to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

We've had a very positive experience with both the administration and teachers at RCS. Teacher to parent communication is excellent, and the education is top-notch. It's not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Besides all of the great things you expect from a strong Catholic school - good academics, welcoming and caring faculty and staff, and a good moral environment - my children have really benefited from all of the extra opportunities RCS provides. As an example, the middle-school science fair program incorporates volunteer science mentors for each child to excel. Thanks to this program I've had two sons win participation to the State Science Fair. What a fabulous learning opportunity for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

Our two kids attend this school. The most important benefit we see, besides a great education, is that parent involvement is encouraged and welcomed. As volunteers ourselves, it's great to get to know other parent volunteers, and know that our kids go to school with other kids whose parents are very committed to their education and spiritual growth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

We have three sons attending this school and we all love it there. Our sons are all receiving a great education through the many quality academic programs offered. The teachers are all wonderful and really care about their students. We have always felt at "home" and love the sense of family and community at RCS. We highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

Both of my sons attended this school K-8 and are now both on full academic scholarships at UF and FSU. I attribute their academic success largely to the excellent educations they received at Resurrection Catholic School. The principal has devoted her life to catholic education and is a winner of the National Distinguished Principal award from both the National Association of Elementary School Principals and the National Catholic Educational Association. The staff genuinely cares about the students and their development not only academically but socially and spiritually. One of the best decisions I ever made as a parent was to visit and then enroll my children in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

We have been pleased with the school for 6 years. I love the religious education and support. Safety is imp. to them and our principal continues to try to make it a stronger school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

By far RCS is the best private school (if not best school in general) in Florida. The teachers and the staff are very nice and they go out of their way to keep us safe
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2009

My two children attend Resurrection Catholic school and we are more than pleased with the faculty, staff and administration. Every teacher and support person at the school know my children by name and go out of their way to create a safe and warm learning environment for my children. My children are receiving a great education. We consider Resurrection to be our spiritual home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

Our children s education is a priority. Their spiritual and academic development far exceeds our expectations each year. As parents, we know that we have made the right decision in choosing to invest in their future. Our family firmly believes in Resurrection Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

I have three children that attend Resurrection, and the fourth will start in the fall. We are on financial aid, because I feel my kids are worth the best education available. Resurrection is by far the best PK-8 school in Florida. Example: I forgot to apply for financial aid one year for two of my children, resulting in their placement in the public school system. The public schools suggested I move both of my kids up one grade. Instead of doing this, I got them back into Resurrection 6 weeks later via the help of an anonymous donor. That is what Resurrection is about. The faculty and staff I have experienced are incredible. The principal is amazing, and lives her life around that school. Great leaders like her are often adored by many and hated by some; I encourage enrollment before you judge. Just my 2 cents...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

My child attends this school, and while I love the teachers and support staff at the school the principal needs to go. She is full smiles and promises but will lie cheat and steal to make you feel like you are getting what you ask for. I expect a principal to be trustworthy and truthful, even at the expense of a parent not hearing what they want to hear. This snake in the grass is not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

My son attended Resurrection Middle School and did very well there. I feel he was more than prepared for High School due to the quality of academics taught and teachers. I liked the uniform policy as well, however I can't say that it prevented 'less fortunate kids from being judged according to what they wear' because one can hardly attend Resurrection and be 'less fortunate' as the tuition is undeniably significant. Parental involvement is a must because it is required. If you know you will be unable to meet the quota of hours required you must 'pay out' (at a steep dollar amount as well). Our overall experience was mostly positive, however parent conferences are quite uncomfortable in their round table fashion - the parent seated amidst all teachers at once is intimidating at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

My oldest child (daughter) recently graduated from Resurrection Catholic and is now attending Santa Fe'. I have 2 other children still attending Resurrection (boys). My husband and I have been very pleased with the education our children are receiving from this fine school. The teachers are outstanding, loving and caring people who have went above and beyond the call of duty on more than 1 occasion! The standards of operation that have been implemented by the school to make sure the children are safe at all times is top-notch! I can leave my children there and KNOW they are well taken care of. The discipline standards are very strict. We happen to appreciate this quality very much. It teaches our children that the older they get the more responsible they must be for their actions. It also teaches them (slowly and with love) how to be prepared for the real world. Extracurricular activities are available, but limited. Hopefully as the school grows, so will this area. Uniforms are mandatory which is another aspect we truly love. No worries about what to wear from day to day. It also does NOT allow for children who might be less fortunate than others to be teased because of their wardrobe. Everyone looks the same. Having covered all of this ... Would I recommend this school? Only to those with the desire to achieve and become more than what they are. Children leave Resurrection with the knowledge and confidence necessary to walk into any High School and KNOW they will succeed! Thank you ... the staff at Resurrection for giving 150% every day ...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 17% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • FCIS
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (863) 648-0625

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Orlando
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3720 Old Highway 37
Bradley, FL 33835
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 644-3931

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Horizons
Mulberry, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT