Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mclane Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 915 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2010

<font face="Verdana" size="1" color="#999999"><br/><a href="http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=103321850" style="font: Verdana">MCLANE GOING WILD</a><br/><object width="425px" height="360px" ><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"/><param name="wmode" value="transparent"/><param name="movie" value="http://mediaservices.myspace.com/services/media/embed.aspx/m=103321850,t=1,mt=video"/><embed src="http://mediaservices.myspace.com/services/media/embed.aspx/m=103321850,t=1,mt=video" width="425" height="360" allowFullScreen="true" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent"></embed></object><br/><a href="http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=209228740" style="font: Verdana">'' HiiZ AMAZiiNq ''[LADY MELO]&#39</a> | <a href="http://vids.myspace.com " style="font: Verdana">MySpace Video</a></font>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

I heard great reviews about the orchestra concert for the 6th and 7th graders last night. Congratulations to the students and orchestra teacher for a wonderful program. Keep up the good work.


Posted May 17, 2010

I apologize to all if McLane Middle is your child's neighborhood school...Thank goodness for school choice. This school needs to be closed down. Most of the students there are out of control. It is really affecting the students that WANT to learn. The sad thing is some of the teachers "Don't Care" about the safety of the students. They really need better leaders in that school starting with administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

I love it when a school decides they can do better and takes the challenge personally. Mclane is going to be the school to watch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

My children go to mclane middle school and I think that it is one of the worst middle schools in hillsborough county. My children are supposed to be in an advanced/accelerated program and they bring home almost no homework. I come from a school district that took pride in learning; from the principals to the teachers and students. I have never seen teachers in this district that prides themselves on dressing as if they were going to the beach or the park. I have never been involved with a school district that allows so many 'teacher planning' days and the students have such low testing scores. If I had the money to send them to a private school, I would. these kids can't even bring home schoolbooks until they reach a certain grade level, in the meantime the parentsdont have a printed resource that would assist with at home studying. Poorschool
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

Mr.Oliver the princepal does have great leadership. Ever since Mr.Ellis left the school has been a lot safer for students and teachers. There has even been less fights and more learning mclane is a pretty good school if you know what it was before.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2009

i was a student at mclane middle school for 6th grade there was a lot of fights but i miss my teachers an friends now that i dont go there anymore
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2009

We are new to the state and was not aware of McLane's reputation. However, my son just started 6th grade this wk w/ advanced honors and so far he loves it. I am impressed with their gifted programs that they do have. I am disappointed though with their lack of extra curricular activities (ie sports). But, he's happy so I'm staying positive until I hear otherwise. I have also been volunteering there so that I myself can observe first hand. I encourage other parents to join the PTSA and be involved w/ their child's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

This school is the worst school my children have attended. There is No chorus program for children intersted in this subject! They really don't offer much accademically and safety is an issue. The children are out of control there ar frequent fights at the school. The fact is that my children don't feel safe. Some of the faculty is pretty nasty toward the children. It is absolutely the worst school my children have attended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

Never go to this school.At less you want your kid miserable.Horrible kids an d lazy teachers.My kid was always seeing fights and came home and told me all about it.Don't go to Mclane at less you want your kid to suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

Worse school unkind kids mean teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

This school is actualy a good school they have many field trips for kids that look forward 2 goin 2 college. People say its dangerous but it isnt. This school had the most events 4 students in hillsbrough county. Already had a field trip goin 2 a college. Some people were complaining that items stolen. In the first place parents shouldnt let children bring or buy a kid a $400.00 dollar ipod. Last this school has honnor programs for kids that have great teachers. Also avid 4 kids gets them a boost and a scholarship if they can. I know because i am a student get facts str8 parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

this is my son's second year at McLane, I am considering moving in order to avoid this school next year. the admin office is a horror to deal with. the principal is supposedly retiring after this year, thank goodness, the teachers have been okay except for his math teacher last year, but the advanced program means nothing in this school, this is his second year in advanced classes and he seldom has homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

i now this school has a bad rep but i was in 6th grade last year and both my sisters use to go there and i think this school is great
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2008

i love this school this school has bad and good but its the best middle school ever
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2008

Yes, the teadhers do care! I was a teacher at McLane last year. I tried everything I knew how to do and consulted every resource I could find to try to correct the situation, to no avail. Last year, the teachers, en masse, approached the county, demanding an intervention. The intervention was cursory, and ineffective. It was my first year of public school teacher, and possibly my last. I am a good teacher, and my academic credentials are impeccable. I've taught college, previously. I do care! The teachers receive no assistance or support from the administration and are blamed for everything. I couldn't teach at McLane, and I couldn't keep my kids safe. I quit last summer and sent a five page, single spaced missive to the school superintendant, Mary Ellen Elia, detailing what I had witnessed and experienced. The principal responded by bad mouthing me all over the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

Horrible, Horrible, Horrible. My daughter is in advanced classes at McClane and it is extremely upsetting that she only comes with homework, maybe 2x a week. In the beginning of the school year she did not receive homework at all. I feel as if the teachers and administrators are setting our children up to fail!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

Something really needs to be done with this school. I have to force my child to go to school, then I pray he gets home safe. He's to scared to concentrate. He is a smart kid given a chance. The good kids are the one's that are suffering and failing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

I go to McLane, and seriously, this school isn't safe. The only reason why I'm still going here is because I like a few of my teachers and it's in my district.Students will stop in the middle of the walkway, run around and do whatever they want to. Oh what, they get ISS? Big whoop! That doesn't change them, I hear what the students say, they think its funny! Give them ISS,a referall, suspension! What do they care? The kids at this school are out of control. Thanks, peace.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2007

My son has been harassed and had numerous items stolen from him. The principal doesn't seem to care or just says to take better care of personal items. My son does not feel safe in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

259 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

305 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

300 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
49%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 54%
Hispanic 26%
White 16%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%67%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. FRANK OLIVER
Fax number
  • (813) 744-8135

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

306 North Knights Avenue
Brandon, FL 33510
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mann Middle School
Brandon, FL


Brandon Academy
Brandon, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT