Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mclane Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 915 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2007

Well, This school is pretty much controlled by the students, as myself saying i don't like the school I think we need a couple more police officers there to scare the unruly students...
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2007

This school is totally out of control. I have been there many times during the day,and seen this first hand. There is zero parent involvement. It is my opinion that these teachers do not care one way or another what happens to the children, they are just there for a pay check. The principal shows no sign of real leadreship to pass on to the kids. I could really go bad forever but there is not enough space.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

My experience with McLane was shocking to me. The school has no control over the students. These are suppose to be educators that teach kids not only from a book, but lead by example. If you do not have proper leadership, guidance, and resources to deal with the social issues and the difficulty of this age group, how can you expect a child to conduct themselves as though they are in a learning environment when they are surrounded by chaos? Why are they not trying to get the community/parents envolved to work on a solution? Do they care?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

I truly do not care for this school, the only good thing they have is Mrs. Mabrey a wonderful guidance counselor. But the lack of punishment for the violence there is ridiculous! Glad my children are no longer there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

My child hates this school. They don't challenge the students academically and there seems to be a fight everyday. Two months ago I left a detailed voicemail concerning my child and I'm still waiting for someone to return my phone call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

This is my son's first year at this school. He has three EXCELLENT teachers, one average one, and one that shouldn't be a teacher. Despite our complaints and those of several other parents, our requests to move our child from this classroom and into another was not honored by the school. The school seems to be handcuffed by district policy and lack of resources to either assist this teacher improve or be removed. I believe that overall, the staff is caring and tries to do what is right for the kids, but lacking in resources and support from 'the system'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

My son has a learning disability and was given an IEP from his elementary school that went ignored for 3 months at McLane. He was placed in regular classes and received poor grades. I called a meeting, and none of the teachers showed up. We've tried to get into other schools, but all are full. If we don't get him into another school by this August, we will home school him. Too much violence and threats of violence, which seems to be the focus of some of the students there which goes unchecked. This school needs proper funding and training.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

I am extremely dissatisfied with McLane. I am in the process of removing my child due to the multiple problems she receives here. The faculty does not seem much to care, but rather make excuses that 'kids are kids'. Death threats to my child are not 'ok' to me. Also, my complaints to the school board to less than 'important'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2004

This is an aging school that has been featured on a news program entitled 'Dirty Dining.' There are several dedicated teachers who strive to lead the pupils to excel in academics and in life. However, the school is woefully overcrowded, underfunded, and unable to provide adequate learning resources to the students. This is a school with all the problems of an inner city school and without the resources to deal with those problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2004

Mclane is a good but certain teachers are not as good as they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

I really don't feel that this school gives their 100% to the children, we come from a different area and the teaching ability differs from there to here. Maybe because we don't put enough emphisis on learning for our children, we would rather play are sports, acting and other things than fund our teachers what they need and deserve to teach our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

Good school, overall. Overcrowded though, not enough classrooms or textbooks. I think most of the teachers are very caring and the staff is great. They need to enforce the dress code like they promised to do at the beginning of the year. When they held parent/teacher conferences this month not many parents showed up for my daughters team. There were four teachers there from her team, each teacher had about 150 students they taught a day, only two parents showed up for the conferences and we were one of them, pitiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2004

I am a grandprant of two students at this school they do not have homework and can not bring the text books home to study from. They need this to help improve with their grades. We have a study time for them after school. As parents of the children that attend this school we all have a responabilty to the school to help our children.We need the support of the teachers and the parents to make sure that our children get a good quality education. We do not need to hold the teachers at fault for all of the down falls of the children, as parents we need to make sure that our children have a study time when they come home, and to assist them with their study time. The teachers have more than a hundred students a day and we my only have two or three please help.Vsb
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

In my opinion, this is the worst middle school in Hillsborough County. The academic's here are substandard, and the school does not participate in the '0' tolerance for violence. Not as far as I can see anyway. I will be pulling my daughter out of this school as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2004

I find our sons teachers caring, but lacking in supplies or support. This year is difficult for everyone with all the reconstruction of the buildings. There appears to be little or no enforcement of a dress code or interventions for foul language and gestures. This should not be tolerated as it errodes the ability of the teacher to teach and other students to grow in an atmosphere conducive to education. These folks need help. Parent participation and volunteers at the school would be a start. Visit sometime and take a look at what these educators are dealing with on an everyday basis. It's a shame! The school board needs to wake-up and help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

The problem with McLane is not the staff. My son in 7th has a core of good teachers however, the school is critically over crowded and my son was robbed and a student attempted to beat him up. As a result his grade are suffering and he now says he hates school. I am looking for an alternative for my son's sake. It's a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My children just started going to this school and so far I am very disappointed. There are approx. 1,600 students which is far too many. There are no text books. My children aren't learning correctly because they cannot bring home text books with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

259 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

305 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

300 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
49%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 54%
Hispanic 26%
White 16%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%67%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. FRANK OLIVER
Fax number
  • (813) 744-8135

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

306 North Knights Avenue
Brandon, FL 33510
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mann Middle School
Brandon, FL


Brandon Academy
Brandon, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT