Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Brandon, FL
Students enrolled: 915

2 stars
Based on 84 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


91 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mclane Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
Wow this year the teachers are really strict I think they have to be really strict to the students this year to focuse better and learn more the consequences are way better.

Mclane Middle School 5

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
I love this school my daughter comes home and says "i love my school I love the rules helps me focus better" and ever since she went she hasn't complained she is very excited everday to go to school she says its a good school I do believe her iI looked at the rules and this year I can tell they are going to be successful goes to a D school to B or better hopefully more kids join McLane


Mclane Middle School 5

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
Best school ever my son can finally focus more because of the rules gos bless this school.

Mclane Middle School 3

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
I have to agree with the post from August. My daughter is also in the 6th grade @ McLane. Every morning when she is getting ready for school, she gets sick. I really think it's her nerves. Back when i was in Middle School, there wasn't much bullying to worry about, nor was there so much crime. I think many kids are afraid to go to school nowadays....to the point it's making them ill. My daughter has asked me several time to be home schooled, but her dad & I work, so we can't do it. I want her to love school !

Mclane Middle School 2

Posted September 25, 2014
- a community member
McLane is a school on the move. An emphasis on high expectations has begun to transform this school into a middle school to be proud of. Great work by the principal and staff in creating an environment of respect and achievement.


Mclane Middle School 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
I'm so afraid for my son in this school. He has been nervous since he started in the 6th grade. Don't like this school kids be bullied a lot. And scare for my son is not good when you don't have another choice of school when this is the school you have assign. need other options

Mclane Middle School 1

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
since my kid start going to McLane he's behavior change he's attitude change is like I have another boy at my house. The teachers at McLane are not professional...McLane is the worse school
1 person found this helpful

Mclane Middle School 1

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
no communication between school staff and parents, also teacher are very disrespectful in front of your child. Teachers curse and bring their boyfriends with them


Mclane Middle School 1

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
My son just completed 6th grade in the Robotics Academy at Mclane. I can't say enough good things about the teachers in the robotics program and the standards they set for their students. The rest of the school, however, is in complete chaos. There are 200 students in each P.E. class and 4 teachers. When my son was grabbed by the throat and slammed into a wall 1 of the coaches told him that if he didn't know the name of the person responsible there was nothing the coach could do. This was two weeks into 6th grade. Later in the year my son witnessed a massive food fight in the cafeteria that resulted in the suspension of 40 students. Worst of all was the day my son came to me and said he had seen one of his female classmates surrounded by a group of boys who proceeded to touch her inappropriately. This was in an overcrowded elective classroom, when he asked her why she didn't tell the teacher she told him that it was a daily occurrence and wouldn't stop. not know his attacker's name the coach couldn't help him. That was two weeks into sixth grade. Later in the year he witnessed a huge food fight in the cafeteria that resulted in the suspension of 40 students. Worst of a

Mclane Middle School 1

Posted August 08, 2013
- a community member
I just graduated there and here is a helpful hint -never take your kids there Please It's horrible

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mclane Middle School
306 North Knights Avenue, Brandon, FL  33510
(813) 744-8100
Last modified Mclane Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mclane Middle School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 91 reviews. Top