Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Limona Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 467 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

Our son attended 2 years at Limona. Believe what you read about rude & uncaring staff. The front office staff never smiles and we were never greeted friendly. Our son has medical issues (stomach) & under doctors care; the school was well aware of this. However, they did not mention anything ALL year about putting him on a 504 Plan in order to assist our son; rather their solution was to hold him back. The "assistant nurse" is a joke. She has yelled at our son on several occasions; making our son cry. His 1st grade teacher was great but she is now retired. His 2nd grade teacher, is related to the "assistant nurse" and she also has a habit of yelling at the children. When addressing these concerns with the Principle she seemed involved but always took the side the teacher/nurse and not for the best interest of our son. We are not the type of people to complain but this school seriously needs to be evaluated. Their test scores may be high but their genuine concern for children is lacking, to say the least. We have since transferred to the school down the road and are extremely happy that we did. Our son actually looks forward to going to school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

I couldn't agree more.. This school has some very rude staff who does no wrong. My son has felt uncomfortable since he started and for good reason. His one teacher could care less how he is adjusting and brushes him off as annoying. My daughter tells me her teacher is too busy to listen to her when she is having a problem. The lady walking around directing cars for student pick up has a chip on her shoulder and is very rude with no consideration to the parents. the front desk however, seems genuine about concerns with parents and students.. it would be nice if other staff members could follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

Best elementary school in the Brandon area, didn't think I would be back but here Iam with another grand child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

My daughter attended Limona a few years ago & now I pick-up kids for my after school program and through all the 8 years I've been associated with this school I can say I've had nothing but the best things to say about the teachers, principal and the car/bus line!!! Thank-you, from The After School Academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

I had to respond regarding the poster who said the principal and the front office staff could be more friendly. I find that to be the opposite. They know me when I go there even tho I am not one of the parents who hangs around helping in class, etc. The principal handled a complaint of mine very professionally and took me seriously. I guess it's just hard for them to convince a parent they are wrong in a nice way, when, in fact they are wrong. I also guess it's hard to be friendly with a parent who has a chip on her shoulder. ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

My son attened Limona for 3 years and my daughter is now in her 3rd year there as well, so I've had a few yrs to form an opinion. The teachers are great, although there seems to be a clique amongst them & their children (who attend Limona) which can make many situations uncomfortable for the kids & parents. The principal is very unfriendly, biased & can be blantantly rude. She doesnt care to actually listen to your side of any story, their school or staff do no wrong and they never accept responsibilty for anything. And the ladies in the front office could be nicer, they must really hate their job because they are always in a bad mood! Limona would be a GREAT school if it had a friendlier & less biased leadership and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I see where one of the prior reviews states that Limona is overcrowded. I beg to differ. I have two children in Limona and one has 15 kids in her class and the other 16. I think that is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I took my son out of this school and feel it was a good decision., He was at Limona three years, the teachers could not control the bad behavior in the classrooms and many times the bad behavior was what recd lots of attn and good students were left to fend for themselves. I met with the teacher and principal multiple times and I truly feel the principal would say things that weren't true and she tried to make me feel like I was being overly judgmental. I think the principal made statements that were just words that sounded good but had no basis in fact. I had a meeting with the asst principal and she upset my son by disregarding his feelings so much he didn't want to go back to the school. The teacher favored the girls over the boys and had a hard time controlling the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

Limona is by far the best school that I have ever been involved with. I used to teach at Limona until we had our first daughter and began to stay home with her. The teachers that I worked alongside went far above and beyond to meet the individual needs of their students. The principal is efficient, effective, and works very hard, this school has been an 'A' school for many years! Now that my own child has begun going to school, my positive experiences with Limona are even more solidified. If we could move back to Brandon so that our own daughters could attend Limona, we would do it in a heart beat. We would be lucky to attend a school as good as Limona. Hanneke Olson
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 7, 2008

I love this school. My family and I moved from New York and from the beginning we loved this school. It will be my daughter's 3rd year and my son will start next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

Nice school but very overcrowded. Not very impressed with my child's teacher or the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

This is my son's first year at Limona and he and myself absolutely love it. His teacher has been wonderful and is always there for any concerns a parent would have. He will definately continue his grade school years through this elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

Excellent school. Both of my sons attended there, and I cannot say enough about the high quality expected of them while attending, and how far they came academically. I have nothing but praise for this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

Limona Elementary School is amazing. My eldest daughter attended the school from kindergarten through fifth grade. My middle daughter attended Limona from fifth grade through third grade. I moved my middle daughter to another elementary school for fourth grade because I was having another baby and she could walk to the school we were zoned for. That was the biggest mistake I ever made! I had been spoiled by the wonderful principal, teachers, and staff at Limona. I knew that Limona was an excellent school, but I didn't realize how far superior to other schools they were until I experienced another school. My daughter will be returning to Limona for fifth grade because it is the best school in the county and totally worth the 20-30 minute drive to get there from our house. Also, the uniforms are wonderful, especially when it comes to getting the kids dressed in the morning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

Parent involvement/volunteering are not encouraged at Limona Elementary. The PTA is non-existent and very low quality. No one knows what the PTA even does. Limona s teachers are arrogant, do not listen to feedback, and want parents to be seen and not heard. They are extremely defensive and not open to simple communication. Families who are new to the school struggle to find information and are often intimidated to ask for help. Teachers and the administration roll their eyes and complain about parents who simply ask questions. The front office team seems to resent their jobs. With the right management team or maybe even help from the School Board, this school could be great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

This is my daughters first year at Limona. She is in Kindergarten. We were fortunate enough to get into the school choice program as she has been at a private daycare which buses to Limona. Her teacher is absolutely wonderful. My daughter is reading already! The teacher pushes the children beyond what we think they are capable of, and it's working! The school is very structured, which I like. We feel very blessed to be a part of such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

It has been a very unjoyable experience at this school.Our children will be going to another school.The principal is unfriendly,and she and the staff have a policy of yelling at children at the pick up line.This behavior carries over to the school patrol children who also yell at children,when they are not looking disinterested in helping younger children to their cars.Also the ese program consists of them watching many movies and their is not a 'continuous progress' program as they claim.Also a lack of vision with this school as well as very lttle if any extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

I believe Limona is a wonderful school. The school is very organized. It has teachers and staff that seem to go the distance for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

My son started kindergarten at Limona elementary in 2005. He has had a wonderful experience and has the most wonderful teacher. We came from a small, private day school for preschool and there has been some adjustment for me about the stricter policies and more structured atmosphere. I volunteer one afternoon a week in his class and strongly encourage involvement in the school. The principal seems very formal and serious, but I know that her first concern is the safety of the students and I have come to appreciate that. There is a uniform policy, which I am not fond of, but we are adjusting. I highly recommend the school and I look forward to his years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

Great School, wonderful parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 42%
Hispanic 32% 29%
Black 12% 23%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%67%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1115 Telfair Rd
Brandon, FL 33510
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT