Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

553 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Limona Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
This is our first year at Limona and the teachers are awesome and the ladies in the office have been very helpful. My grandchildren are very happy there.

Limona Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Limona for a year and a half. It has been a great experience! My daughter has loved both her teachers (both of whom were very welcoming of my desire to help in the classroom). Their new receptionist is very kind and always trys to find an answer to your question. I personally have been very impressed with the new principal that started back in March. I always see her treating the children with compassion, literally getting down on their level, even when you would think no one is looking. She is very active on campus and the kids seem to respond well to her. We are looking forward to another great year!


Limona Elementary School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a community member
I have no problem with this school except with the front office they need to smile a little bit more and not be so scary to the children

Limona Elementary School 1

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
Our son attended 2 years at Limona. Believe what you read about rude & uncaring staff. The front office staff never smiles and we were never greeted friendly. Our son has medical issues (stomach) & under doctors care; the school was well aware of this. However, they did not mention anything ALL year about putting him on a 504 Plan in order to assist our son; rather their solution was to hold him back. The "assistant nurse" is a joke. She has yelled at our son on several occasions; making our son cry. His 1st grade teacher was great but she is now retired. His 2nd grade teacher, is related to the "assistant nurse" and she also has a habit of yelling at the children. When addressing these concerns with the Principle she seemed involved but always took the side the teacher/nurse and not for the best interest of our son. We are not the type of people to complain but this school seriously needs to be evaluated. Their test scores may be high but their genuine concern for children is lacking, to say the least. We have since transferred to the school down the road and are extremely happy that we did. Our son actually looks forward to going to school now.

Limona Elementary School 1

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
I couldn't agree more.. This school has some very rude staff who does no wrong. My son has felt uncomfortable since he started and for good reason. His one teacher could care less how he is adjusting and brushes him off as annoying. My daughter tells me her teacher is too busy to listen to her when she is having a problem. The lady walking around directing cars for student pick up has a chip on her shoulder and is very rude with no consideration to the parents. the front desk however, seems genuine about concerns with parents and students.. it would be nice if other staff members could follow.


Limona Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2011
- a parent
Best elementary school in the Brandon area, didn't think I would be back but here Iam with another grand child

Limona Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended Limona a few years ago & now I pick-up kids for my after school program and through all the 8 years I've been associated with this school I can say I've had nothing but the best things to say about the teachers, principal and the car/bus line!!! Thank-you, from The After School Academy

Limona Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
I had to respond regarding the poster who said the principal and the front office staff could be more friendly. I find that to be the opposite. They know me when I go there even tho I am not one of the parents who hangs around helping in class, etc. The principal handled a complaint of mine very professionally and took me seriously. I guess it's just hard for them to convince a parent they are wrong in a nice way, when, in fact they are wrong. I also guess it's hard to be friendly with a parent who has a chip on her shoulder. ;)


Limona Elementary School 1

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
My son attened Limona for 3 years and my daughter is now in her 3rd year there as well, so I've had a few yrs to form an opinion. The teachers are great, although there seems to be a clique amongst them & their children (who attend Limona) which can make many situations uncomfortable for the kids & parents. The principal is very unfriendly, biased & can be blantantly rude. She doesnt care to actually listen to your side of any story, their school or staff do no wrong and they never accept responsibilty for anything. And the ladies in the front office could be nicer, they must really hate their job because they are always in a bad mood! Limona would be a GREAT school if it had a friendlier & less biased leadership and staff!

Limona Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I see where one of the prior reviews states that Limona is overcrowded. I beg to differ. I have two children in Limona and one has 15 kids in her class and the other 16. I think that is awesome!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Limona Elementary School
1115 Telfair Road, Brandon, FL  33510
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (813) 744-8200
Last modified Limona Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top