Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mann Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1144 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

My son really enjoys his teachers, and is having a great time learning and growing in Mann.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Mann Middle School is amazing! This is the beginning of my daughters 2nd year there and we love it! All the teachers and staff are very caring and understanding. The communication between parents and teachers is very easy and they are readily available to help or answer any questions. My daughter is in all advanced Honors classes, and it appears that there are many students in these upper classes as well. I've noticed just how many honors classes there are. So that tells me they are obviously doing something right!! I can't say enough Good things about this wonderful school!! Keep up the Good work Mann Middle School!! Sincerely, G. Raulerson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

My son will be attending Mann school next year. Ian looking for a before school care for my son. Does anyone have any suggestions??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

My son attends this school now, he's in 8th grade and in the AVID program and it is AMAZING!!! From the staff, to the teachers,and to the principal. They care for their students as if it were their own children. The teachers at this school encourage, motivate and educate the children. My son is focused on taking all the steps necessary to achieve his goals and his dream. Thank you to the teachers in Mann Middle school I look forward for when my next child attends here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

My son attended Mann for 6th,7th and 8th and he truly enjoyed it as did I. My daughter will be attending next year and I know she will like it as well. The teachers are very helpful and always inform you of any needed information. I am so glad they have Edline - all the needed information is posted there and you are able to communicate with all staff if need be. This school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

I went to Mann for my 6th, 7th, and I'll go their for 8th grade as well. The teachers are fantastic, sports are always fun, and the pep rallies are awesome! The teachers always tell you t do your best and they help you when you get stuck on something.


Posted May 26, 2010

My son has went here for 6th & 7th grade and will attend next yr for 8th, and we LOVE Mann! The staff are friendly, helpful and actually seem to care about the students. My son is in avance classes and the work is challenging, there are plenty of extra curricular activities to join and the Edline updates are nice. There is less parent involvement & everything is left up to the kids to inform us about, I understand they are trying to teach at this age, and thats great, but it would be nice to have a monthly newsletter or something. But overall, great school, we are very pleased with it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Mann middle school not the biggest its not a young school either but that school has heart and the teachers there care about the education for our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

This is my son's first year at Mann, he's an 8th grader. He attended McLane for his 6th and 7th years, what a difference in schools, this is the school he should have been in from the beginning, he is attending Mann on the Choice Program, thank goodness for that program. My only complaint is this is his last year of Middle School. Great School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

Mann Middle school is great! I am a student and I have been going there less than one year and I love it the teachers and students are great. Also the education it splendid.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

Awesome school! The pep rallies are awesome and all extra-curricular activities are FUN! The teachers are nice and caring. The guidance couselors are very helpful. Overall best school i've been to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2009

My daughter has been attending Mann Middle for 3 years and loves it dearly. The teachers are excellent and understanding. I feel comfortable that they make my child feel important and part of a inner family. The AVID program is a great tool to encourage full thinking skills and college prep. Edline is another great tool to see children's grades and communicate with teachers. I can not wait until my son can attend this comming August09. I would like to thank the teachers and all of the staff for their hard work. This is the school you need to send your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

it is the best school to send your child tii. i love that school. i attended that school for only one semester and i fell in love with the school. send your child there i recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

Im a student at mann,in the 8th grade..and i love it. The teachers get really involved with you, to help you suceed there. Some of you parents may say it has a lack of communication, but u can email them, and call. Mann is a great school, and i love it. To say that mann is a 2 star school, im rolling on the floor laughing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2008

Both my children attend Mann. My oldest is in the 8th grade and the youngest just started 6th. The teachers and staff are very friendly and helpful. I just love the school and would recommend it whole heartedly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2007

I'm in 7th grade at this school and it is honestly a great school. So all of u parents should have your child go to this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2007

My son was able to attend Mann through the Choice Program for 6th grade. He loves the school and the teachers. His first semester he made the Principle's Honor Roll and I'm very proud of him. They even had a party with nice little gifts for the students to show their appreciation for their hard work. Thank goodness for the Choice Program, It makes me feel good to know that my son really enjoys attending Mann and is doing very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

This school is da bomb! i luv this school any student thast goes will be proud
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2007

Well, I personally don't think that any school, teacher, principal is perfect, but the staff at Mann is more like a family, they are concerned about the education and well being of there students, my son was a c- student in 5th grade, when he came to Mann, he has been an honor roll student the last 3 grading periods. I am very proud of him and staff at Mann, I highly recommend Mann for their academic programs and their well trained staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

Mann is one of the best middle schools in the Brandon area. I have a child there and I find the Administration and her staff to be very helpful and pleasant. They are always willing to help you if you have any problems. My daughter's teachers are the best and always are kind in giving make up work if she has to miss school because of illness. I can't begin to say enough good things about Mann. I am also impressed with the parent involvement at the school. You can't go wrong with sending your child to Mann.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

403 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 42%
Hispanic 29% 29%
Black 20% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%67%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Barbara Fillhart
Fax number
  • (813) 744-6707

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

409 E Jersey Ave
Brandon, FL 33510
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT