Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Brandon, FL
Students enrolled: 1,260
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Burns Middle School 2

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
My 3rd and youngest is currently in 8th grade and I can't wait until he's done at that school. The majority if the faculty is rude and treats the kids horribly. They expect automatic respect even though they don't show it - it's a 2-way street. They gossip about the kids, warning each other about certain kids, effectively killing that kids chance of changing for the better. Kids are always smoking e-cigs and blunts (filled with pot) in the bathroom, kissing and fondling in areas teachers don't, monitor. Kids are horrible and there isn't a consistent discipline plan.

Burns Middle School 2

Posted October 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended 6th and now 7th grade and is in advanced honors classes. 6th grade was great, but 7th grade has been a nightmare! Kids kissing on premises, cursing and the sexting is crazy our of control! I caught my daughter sexting and called the guidance councelor and she didnt seem to think it was a BIG deal! My daughter is 12! This is not normal. She didnt call the boy in the office or even offer to have a parent to parent meeting. I am transferring her out of this school as soon as I can.
1 person found this helpful


Burns Middle School 5

Posted July 29, 2012
- a community member
a great school i went there has great classes you learn a lot the saying not in our house!!

Burns Middle School 4

Posted August 01, 2011
- a community member
Okay school. I've only gone for a year and I don't like it. Rude people. We had 7th graders drinking in the car pool. Trust me, you won't like it in the long run. Not all teachers are the best, but there are some really good ones.

Burns Middle School 5

Posted March 23, 2011
- a parent
One of the Best Middle Schools in the country! High School level Academics, Caring Teachers and Staff, Outstanding Music Dept. especially the Orchestra.


Burns Middle School
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
Excellent middle school! I moved into the area to get my son away from McClane Middle School. I was partially nervous that all middle schools were the same, but Burns was great! Every teacher my son had has been very caring, they actually care about the students, not just their paycheck. My only warning would be about the PE department. If you have a child with any condition that can cut into PE time, there are a couple of PE teachers who will give your child a hard time. Be prepared to get involved and do NOT let him intimidate you.

Burns Middle School 5

Posted June 11, 2009
- a student
Hey I went totally awesome and the koolioest year ive ever had academic wise and behavior wise its unbelievable

Burns Middle School 4

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
Burns middle school is very good academically and especially the music department is great as well. My son feels at home. Thank you.


Burns Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2009
- a parent
Amazing leadership from Brenda Nolte. Music program one of the best in America for middle school kids in a neighborhood school. The music teachers are heroes. My kids are about to graduate high school and their success began at Burn's. Superior academics with strong, traditional teaching in all subjects.

Burns Middle School 5

Posted December 09, 2007
- a parent
awesome middle school and encouraging

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burns Middle School
615 Brooker Road, Brandon, FL  33511
(813) 744-8383
Last modified Burns Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Burns Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top