Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,255 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burns Middle School 1

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
My child is in this school and I can't wait until its over...the high rating is misleading. The students has lost control of all moral ethics and the teachers seems to accept this behavior. Today they were showing nude pix of a female. This school needs to be re evaluated. We will not be returning. The board of education needs to look at the administration and rate this school as it should be rate. The five stars are old and null and void

Burns Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
My child who is wise enough to know this should not be happening. I speak to her daily about her association and not allowing this behavior to rub off on her in order to fit in


Burns Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
I reported a couple of incidents in the school. That was disturbing such as female student displaying condoms in the girls locker room.

Burns Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
My child loves homework so I saw no problem with her keeping ip the assignments

Burns Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely not. The majority of the students has no alternative but to be exposed to this unethical contact which eventually affects their thinking


Burns Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
I can't answer fairly..if they have respect for the kids the would get control of the ones that has lost respect from themselves and others

Burns Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
The obvious is to look at the real ratings that are up to date. These rating are so old the school had lost its core values

Burns Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
Students and teachers should be held accountable for misbehaving and the teachers should take a personal interested in what is going on in this school. From drugs, sex, nude photos to fighting.


Burns Middle School 2

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
My 3rd and youngest is currently in 8th grade and I can't wait until he's done at that school. The majority if the faculty is rude and treats the kids horribly. They expect automatic respect even though they don't show it - it's a 2-way street. They gossip about the kids, warning each other about certain kids, effectively killing that kids chance of changing for the better. Kids are always smoking e-cigs and blunts (filled with pot) in the bathroom, kissing and fondling in areas teachers don't, monitor. Kids are horrible and there isn't a consistent discipline plan.

Burns Middle School 2

Posted October 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended 6th and now 7th grade and is in advanced honors classes. 6th grade was great, but 7th grade has been a nightmare! Kids kissing on premises, cursing and the sexting is crazy our of control! I caught my daughter sexting and called the guidance councelor and she didnt seem to think it was a BIG deal! My daughter is 12! This is not normal. She didnt call the boy in the office or even offer to have a parent to parent meeting. I am transferring her out of this school as soon as I can.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burns Middle School
615 Brooker Road, Brandon, FL  33511
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. (813) 744-8383
Last modified Burns Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top