Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mintz Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 840 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2007

Great School...... Outstanding teachers'.. My daughter has been at Mintz for 2years now and Ms.Kraus and Ms.LeBlanc have been extremely helpful and caring. Mintz is a great school with wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Last year was our first year with school and Mintz Elementary made it a wonderful experience for us! Miss Desimone was awesome and we hope she'll be our younger son's teacher when they reach kindergarten. This school has my #1 rating as the best for both children and parents. Excellent education and friendly environment for our children to grow in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

My daughter is a second grader and I absolutely love her teacher, her Kindergarten teacher was great also, in the first grade we struggled a bit with the parent teacher interaction, I thought that her first grade teachers were negative and did not care about the well being of the children and it showed, I hope the trend of good teachers will continue in the 3rd grade and foreword. I have always had the good experiences with the office staff and find them to be very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

I have a 1st grader & a 5th grader @ Mintz. I have nothing but great things to say about the teachers as well as the administrative staff. Mintz welcomes volunteers to help w/tutoring, lunch room, and the media center. I truly believe it is all in how you approach every issue when it comes to your child's school experience. we as parents can make it wonderful or we can make it unbearable. I have been involved w/ Mintz for 6yrs to date and have 5 more yrs to go:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

When my son first transferred in the middle of the school year it was a bad experience because steps was not taken to place him properly. The office staff is not the friendliest of people. However I must say the past two years the teachers my son has had have been WONDERFUL!! They are very informative & encourage parent involvement. They have also made learning fun. This year for the first time my son wants to go to school and enjoys learning. His teacher is awesome. Thank you Ms Patrick, Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

After reading the other reviews that I saw from other parents I have to say that I strongly agree. I love to be involved with my children , especially their schooling, and I do feel that it is an inconvienience if I show up to visit the classroom or even help out. With 4 children and 3 years at Mintz having a total of 6 teachers (some repeated some left) I'd say I am batting 50-50 with awesome teachers. The bad seem to not care much about the students or the parents but the awesome are exceptional. Maybe a little boost for the not so caring teachers to steer them in the correct direction. I guess getting a good teacher at Mintz is like the lottery, hopefully my children will do better next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

not very impressed with the orbanizational level at this school.. parental involvement I dont feel is encouraged in the classroom...and it is discouraged for parents to show up unannounced
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

Mintz is a wonderful neighborhood school with dedicated teachers and staff. Everyone works to make sure our students are involved in exciting learning activities each day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2005

This school seemed overly crowded last year with picking students up being a nightmare. There is no parking for the parents to use in order to walk up and get students. Very congested roads.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

While there are some good teachers, overall there is a serious lack of communication between the staff & parents. We were made to feel like we were pestering the teachers for any information on how our children were doing. The school is overcrowded, causing many kids to be lost in the shuffle, in my opinion. We transferred our kids this year, and have heard of many other parents doing the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

When my daughter went to school a couple of years ago, they had excellent amount of resources, the only problem was that there was so many kids and just not enought classrooms, so there were portables. She had a different class everyday besides the normal classes, such as art was on mondays, computers on wednesdays and pe on fridays. The teachers were awesome! Overall a good school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 19, 2005

We transferred from another school in the District that was great with the communication between parents/teachers. So I was let down when I did not receive the same from Mintz. I spoke to Mintz staff to assure my son was placed in a class that would be a best fit. The front office just took what I said and let it go in one ear and out the other. The assistant principal and Counselor never carried thru on things they said they would do. The first teacher my son had was horrible, he had no patience and had no control over the kids. The one positive thing I can say is that the principal does listen to you and works with you to resolve any issues. She was wonderful and has helped in finding a classroom that was a better fit for my son and listened to my concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

My son has been at Mintz Elementary for almost 3 complete school years (beginning with Kindergarden). We have loved Mintz and will be very sad leaving it since we are a military family. I can say that our experience has been one of enjoyment (i.e. walking to school in the mornings, going to lunch together in the cafeteria) and enrichment (i.e. teacher conferences, PTA, clubs, competitions). Mintz is a part of our family that is hard to leave. We can only hope to find similar teachers, like those that have educated and prepared our son at Mintz Elementary, at our next duty assignment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

I had/have children at this school for five years now. Most of the teachers are wonderful, some need to exercise more patience. I have found the front office staff to be non-friendly this year. When a problem does arise the assistant principal did exactly what he promised to do and handled the situation effectively. The dismal procedure needs some work, teachers refuse to dismiss students when school is over, making parents wait, sometimes as long as ten minutes because students were talking in line.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 36%
White 28%
Black 26%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 79%67%61%
Master's degree 21%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1510 Heather Lakes Boulevard
Brandon, FL 33511
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8353

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT