Advertisement
Advertisement

Immanuel Lutheran School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brandon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

This school is awful. Outdated facilities, curriculum, and they use their religious beliefs to control your interaction and involvement I the children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

Love this school!!! Teachers are very energetic with great ideas and a sincere care for the children. They love teaching and it shows. Kids are very respectful and care for each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

Immanuel Lutheran School provides a great education in a Christian learning environment. Our daghter has attended Immanuel since kindergarten and we could not ask for a better experience. Not only has she developed close friends at school but our family has become close friends with many of the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

Immanuel Lutheran School is outstanding! I've been attending ILS for eight years now. I'm currently in the 7th grade. My older sibling also attended ILS for 9 years. I was around alot when I was a small child. I always felt welcome. Immanuel is my home-away from home. Some improvment I believe the school could use is not being so strict on the dress code. Other than that, it's a fantastic school enviorment. Are grades are PreK-8th grade. The classes are very informative, and the after school extra curricular activities are wonderful. Whatever grade your in,I can assure that you will have a great friendship with the whole student/staff body. The teachers and staff are all kindhearted and trustworthy. I know I can come to them with any problems I have :)) Thanks, -Student


Posted January 30, 2012

The pinciple is great they have a new system for iformation Sycamore. The teacher student ratio is low. The school is very family oriented with several after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

Very good school - teachers who actually teach, structure, discipline and religious (moral) values evident. Good activities for kids - band, chorus, sports. Family atmosphere. Small class size and personal attention. Faculty and staff know all kids by name. Qualified teachers with strong educational/academic backgrounds. Very glad we send our child here - he was originally in public school and we made the switch to private when we moved from out of state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

Problems with discipline. It appears that the new leadership (principal) which was anticipated to make changes just has not happened. Edline is not used consistently and effectively. Great participation from parents. Strong friendships form with classmates.


Posted October 4, 2009

Immanuel Lutheran maintains very high educational standards. Whereas I have grave concerns about the public school system, I believe students attending Immanuel will enter their adult life with an advantage.


Posted May 20, 2009

Our child has attended ILS for the last 2 years (7th & 8th grades). What a great experience it has been! The level of one on one involvement, caring, and patience the teachers invest in the children are amazing. Education, happiness, and wellbeing of the children are top priority at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I went to ILS for 5th grade and middle school. It was a great opportunity, you make great friendships (long lasting at that), and you are cared for and respected as an individual. Obviously religious observances are expected, however the school does an amazing job at not overstepping boundaries, setting strong academics alongside faith. It was an amazing way to prepare for high school. I hope that they will establish a high school soon, it is rather tough leaving after being there for so long. I would highly recommend this school to everyone who is looking for good academics and faith principles.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 10, 2006

At Immanuel Lutheran school we teach advanced math and science courses, e.g. pre-algebra (grade 7) and algebra I and IPS physical science (national high school science curriculum; both in 8th grade). Seventh graders study life science. Fourth and fifth grade science classes have studied, among other topics, local Florida plants and trees, astronomy, mineralogy, and geology. Much enrichment material is offered. Grades 3, 5, and 7 do science fair projects and compete in a science fair. The music program at ILS is unusually good for a small private school, e.g. band instruction in many instruments. ILS has championship volleyball teams! Perhaps the most outstanding characteristic of Immanuel is the degree to which students here love each other. The school is like a big extended family. People here CARE! Parents notice this and remark on it. And at ILS we CAN talk about God! Christianity is not censored out! Lawrence Hoyt, ILS Science Teacher
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2005

I went here for nine years. As far as academics go it's a step ahead of public schools because of the teachers. They actually take care of each individual student, which isn't done as well other places. The rules enforced are a bit unneccesary, and often times a hassle for parents. One thing I can say is your child will find lifelong friends here. It has had problems with staff in the last three to four years though. By the 06-07 school year things should be fixed though.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 8, 2005

The academics at Immanuel are higher than those of my neighbors kids schools. The overall atmosphere is geered towards academics while involving Jesus Christ in day to day activities. I could not have picked a better school to send both of my children to. We went through 7 other school interviews and Immanuel Lutheran far outranked the rest in terms of academics, faculty and just overall getting a great Christian eduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2005

Academic programs are excellent. Sports and extracurricular is only available at higher level grades- a bit of a disappointment. Level of parent involvement is good- almost too much at times. Lacking in quality, stable leadership which is a disappointment from year to year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

The academics is a little behind what we were hoping for in a private school. The administration however is very helpful and listens to the parents. The children do form lasting relationships here.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

Hopefully with the new principal this year, overall leadership will improve. I already notice some positive changes. In the past, I have had several issues where the teacher disregarded my child's safety and health. I don't think this will happen again, now that there is a principal. In general, I think it's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

The curriculum in Kindergarten is excellent, they teach the kids phonics at this level, and both the teacher and assistant are very good with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 44%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Hispanic 7% 24%
Black 3% 29%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (813) 681-6852

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2913 John Moore Rd
Brandon, FL 33511
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 685-1978

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT