Advertisement
Advertisement

Lighthouse Center for Creative Learning

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brandon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 20 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

Lighthouse is a good school. They have many fine teachers and only a few average ones. They pay their staff just a little over minimum wage with no benefits so one musn't expect the creme of the crop. The seem to do well with what they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

Has excellent teachers that understand a childs need no matter what kind of learning ability or disability. Kids can shine and learn. Teachers see the potential in every child. My daughter is in the 3rd grade and finally her spirit and light can shine. She is very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

My three children really love Lighthouse, and I love the learning environment they provide. The classes as small, so the children don't get lost in the shuffle, and continue to learn with a teacher that really cares about the child's education. The head of the school, Pastor Butch, really has a vision for the school, and it trickles down to the entire staff. My one daughter even wants to go in the summer! This has been a positive transition, as my children were homeschooled before entering Lighthouse. Thank you so much for providing such a great school with a basis on Faith in God, and the love of the student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

My son has attended three different schools in the last four years all in an attempt to find the best fit and environment that would nuture his distinct learning and developmental challenges. After an extensive search throughout the tampa bay area, we settled on Lighthouse Center for creative learning. The staff have been excellent and my childs developmental growth and overall interest in learning have increase sevenfold. After experiencing public and other private institutions, I can say without a doubt that the care and dedications the staff takes to addressing individual students needs and learning style is one of a kind, and this have made a profound possitive impact in our childs life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

This school has saved our family! Our son was in a public school where he felt so overwhelmed amd inadequate that he had given up on trying. With having Autism Spectrum Disorder he had shut down and refused to try. LCCL has taught him more in the last nne weeks he has been there than the first 3 years at public school. He has become a happy, confident child and looks forward t getting up and going to school each day. Thanks to LCCL staff for helping save our child and our sanity!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

This school is excellent to me because 1 it is a Christian school, there are not alot of students in the classes which enables the teacher to spend the necessary time with each student. My child is learning a lot more than when she was in a public school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

my grandchildren go to Lighthouse and I couldn't ask for a more caring and helpful staff. I only wish I had known about it earlier so I could of sent my son. This is the way all schools should be!!


Posted February 27, 2011

Trying to find a school that would academically challenge our son with Mild Autism, while ensuring that he felt secure, was not easy. Yet we have finally found the perfect combination at Lighthouse! They TRULY care about how the kids are doing and how they FEEL in their environment. So much thought and kindness has gone into everything they do. Pastor Butch & Kelly Bedwell, along with Mrs Radder and the entire teaching staff are the most FABUOUS group of Educators I have ever seen. God Bless Lighthouse!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

This is my son's third year at Lighthouse and I am so happy he is a student here. The teachers at Lighthouse took the time to get to know him and his "best" learning style. They opened my son up by helping him to feel comfortable to be himself therefore gave him the confidence he needed to be able to learn. The teachers always kept me involved-gave me techniques to help me at home with homework. Now 3yrs later-my son can read-and comprehend what he is reading, he is doing math-add/sub/mult and learning history and science. All the while being taught in a loving Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

I am proud to say that my son attends the Lighthouse Center for Creative Learning. My son has enjoyed a healthy environment where he has grown in academics and in his spiritual walk. Many thanks to Pastor Butch, Mrs. Radder and Miss McMorris for their love and patience and helping to create that environment for my son and his classmates. We look forward to our daughter attending with him in the Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

I believe this is one of the best schools in the Brandon/Valrico area! All of my 3 children have/or are still attending this school. They are able to offer regular curriculum and more special one-on-one attention for students. Pastor Butch & Kelly Bedwell and all of the teachers and helpers are so kind and like family to us. LCCL always has the children best interest at heart and that is their calling in life. We have been definitely blessed to have them in our lives. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who wants their child to grow-up with good morals, love, compassion, and great academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

Myself and my daughter love Lighthouse. She has been there a year and has already shown much improvement in her academics and her social skills. This is all due to the wonderful principal and teachers at Lighthous.They are so patient and loving and kind. Being a single mom it's wonderful to know that my daughter is left in good hands. She comes home talking about something knew she learned just about everyday. Lighthouse is more than a school, it is a wonderful family that we are blessed to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

This is our son's 2nd year at Lighthouse. he has excelled in social skills in which he had a problem with in the public school system. Being a "special needs child" we are very happy with the time and care that is taken in the extra minutes used to have our child understand his work more. The teachers and staff are wonderful as well and really care in the childs learning as well as the parents concerns . Being in a smaller school and teacher to student ratio is perfect and we feel finally our son is not falling through the cracks as we were told numerous times in the public school system. When we meet other parents with children we always tell them of how happy we are with the school that we have chosen for our son. We have always tried to have the best doctors as well as school for our son. We feel we have met that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2011

My son attends Lighthouse and he so much happier, confident, and generally seems to enjoy learning. When he was in the public schools he was frustrated and struggled with his piers. What a change. Lighthouse creates a great environment for children to learn in a comfortable secure environment. We are very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

Lighthouse has made a really BIG change in my daughters life! It has impacted her academically, socially and emotionally! We had her in the public school that was not doing anything for her. She was just taking up space there. Since she has been at Lighthouse going on year three she is writing, reading and has friends! I tell everyone I meet that has a child struggling about Lighthouse!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

Lighthouse has been an exceptional resource in aiding with our son learning disabilty.Since attending Lighthouse he has shown incredible improvement in his speech and general ability to learn new things.We pray this school keeps growing and helping our families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

I am so thankful I found Lighthouse School. I have three kids that attend now and it is simply amazing what a difference they have made since attending. I love the small class sizes and the staff is amazing. You do not get this kind of love in other schools. It is like extended family now. I LOVE Lighthouse School and would not change schools for anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

Our son has thrived in the caring and nurturing environment. The administration is accessible and is genuinely interested in the success and future of each student. Teachers are focused on each students strengths and have the freedom to exercise the approaches necessary to help students acquire improvement where it is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

I love this school!!! My son who is five has improved so much that he is begining to read. The teachers are so helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

Lighthouse is a great school. My son has attended the school now for 3 years. They are attentive and with small class sizes. My son gets alot of one on one which he needs to succeed in school. Everyone is caring and friendly. I love the fact that my son can do therapy at school and that they offer various therapies to help him with his speech, cognitive development and auditory processing. It is well worth it to check out Lighthouse Center for Creative Learning!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 44%
Black 7% 29%
Hispanic 7% 24%
Two or more races 7% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special education

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

516 Corner Dr.
Brandon, FL 33511
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 655-6505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT