Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Branford Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 671 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

We are very pleased with our first year at BES. My son who is in Kindergarten has been able to advance his education to a level exceeding our expectations. We feel he could compete at the 2-3 grade levels easily. His academics have been more than adequate and the school esprit is very good. We are proud to send our son to BES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

Having problems with bulliying I did reseach here and found that it was a problem with this school. I made them aware of my findings and suddenly all good reviews appeared. Covering up the problem dosent make it go away. I did have a chance to meet a few amazing teachers however. They seem to genuinely care about the children they just havent found the best method to stop Bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

My School for my kids,is amazing its smaller and a lot less packed then others so kids have a better chance od learning..they are very clean,nice nd are only out for the childs best intrest and b.e.s.is one of the most family oriented.i went to suwannee as a child nd regret not goig to bes,,,soo for a small town our school system is on top of there game for the kids sake
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2011

This is our first year here. The teacher my daughter had was o.k. I meet with her once the whole year. My child did well. The bus was the problem there was alot of bulling and kids crussing and talking nasty to my child. The bus driver don't seem to care. So if you want your kids to learn cuss word and about sex and every foul thing you can imagine put them on Branfords school buse, the one that goes to O'Brien that is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2010

Branford E.S. is in need of improvement! I am transferring my son from this school after only attending for one year. He was bullied on a regular basis in the cafeteria and at P.E. Despite the fact that the guidance counselor was aware of the situation, she never met with my son. The student teacher ratio in his class was barely acceptable at twenty students. His teacher complained regularly about having too many boys in her class to be able to keep them on task. In P.E., they combined three classes of children with only two teachers to supervise them. My son was hit with sticks, kicked and punched on numerous occasions during P.E. I did notice remarkable improvement in my son's academics, but I can't expect him to focus at school and continue to enjoy school if I don't protect him from bullies and poor school funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

my childern love branford elemantary school. they come home playing teacher or school and there school name is branford elemantary school .2 of my childern go there they are josh and priscilla your childern might know them. most of all i give this school9-10 stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Branford Elementary is a great 'small town' school! My children go there and i love the teachers they have had so far. I dont like that there isnt an art program..but maybe we parents can raise money for that in the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

I love branford elem! go bucs! this is the best school both my girls have been in. My oldest has been is 2 other schools and branford tops them both! I would give the teachers a a+ they are all so caring. The office staff a+ also everyone is always very helpful and nice. The principal is very nice also this is her 1st yr back but she is doing a great job! I hope the school reads this because they are truly doing a great job! thanks to all of the branford elem staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

I give Branford Elementary big kudos for being a wonderful school. They have excellent curriculum for the students and show a real interest in not only the student but the family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

I love the family feel of Branford Elm. I have three children in the school and love all of their teachers. They are very helpful and available for questions you might have about your child. I found the principal to be very friendly and always available. He is always within the school talking with the kids. He is a great asset to the school. The office is great and friendly also everyone is very helpful. I would recommend this school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

over all the school isnt to bad altho security situation isnt so good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2003

I fell overall that Branford Elementary is a great school, with very caring teachers. Most teachers make themselves readily availiable for confrences and any other questions you may have. I have never had a problem with getting any information about my childs progress, or help should he have needed it. I feel the children are rewarded very well for their efforts and accomplishments.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 85%
Hispanic 9%
Two or more races 4%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 170%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 23%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%76%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. JENNIFER BARRS
Fax number
  • (386) 935-6311

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26801 Highway 247
Branford, FL 32008
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 935-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT