Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

835 students|Brevard
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Manatee Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Worst school experience we have ever had. Thank God our oldest only started middle school here in Viera and did not have to attend. Teachers are elitist and condescending to students. If you ask questions and look for clarification your child will be targeted and given unreachable goals so they can set them up to fail. Took a gifted 5th grade straight A student and made them appear to be incapable of success due to their lack of teaching and structure in general. Ruined any opportunity for being considered for any special programs in middle school. Quest is a much much better choice. The teachers and administration at Quest actually care about the children and want to help them succeed. Run don't walk away from this school.

Manatee Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 08, 2016
- a community member
For my oldest I would like to say thank you to the teachers that made the biggest difference but two are not there. They left due to all the drama they were dealing with. The other is Mrs. Kraus. For my youngest it would be Ms. Bunner-Eckert and Mrs. Duffy for being so compassionate and knowing personality wise how to deal with my child.


Manatee Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 08, 2016
- a community member
The teachers my youngest had from 1st - third were very effective teachers, just loved them all. My oldest had very effective teachers from k - 2nd.

Manatee Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 08, 2016
- a community member
They show no respect toward the student and are not honest with them. So what is being taught at home is thrown out at school.

Manatee Elementary School 3

Posted May 08, 2016
- a community member
Manatee is a great school as long as you are on admins good side and even then you better be some one that can do something for him. The teachers are great from k - 3, only about three I would stay clear of. After that your kid is on their own to fend for themselves on a daily basis. Don't worry so much about the rest of the kids but about the teachers and the admin on how they handle it all. No consistency what so ever. The teachers at this point are untouchable. They push the kids way too far and just to say how great they are but the kids really get no credit for it at all. The parents are ridiculous the ways some treat the teacher’s right in front of their child. The teachers only grade by test so if your child only had three math test and/or quizzes they better have received an 80 or better on each, because that is their grade for the nine weeks in math. I already had a child that was there from k to 6th and I thought well they just lost their way. They have been doing great in middle school and are looking forward to high school. I thought with my youngest being the opposite it would be different. Was I wrong, what a ride it has been. Unfortunately, they will not finish their last year at Manatee next year. It saddens me because this is the reason we moved hear so many years ago. But I cannot put my child through another year of this anymore. ALL ADMIN NEEDS TO GO ALONG WITH THE FIFTH GRADE TEACHERS. There is a sixth grade teacher that should go to, but they also could do no wrong.


Manatee Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
I have a daughter that has attended Manatee since kindergarten, she just now started third grade. I have been very pleased with all the school has to offer. The teachers through the years have offered great ways to stay connected, through emails, notes, and last edline. The principal and staff do a great job making the school feel like a community, they do several activities through the year for the family. Their library is awesome, my daughter has a love for reading and she constantly brings books home. They have fostered in her a love for learning, and she has great appreciation for her teachers. It has been a great experience, we are now learning how to deal with the more demanding structure of third grade, but there is a learning curve with anything, this is just one more example. I hope you find this helpful.

Manatee Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2015
- a community member
No school is perfect, but the sign of a good school is when you have a problem, the teachers and administration are quickly helpful to parents and students. This is the case at Manatee. They are helpful and really do care. It is a great community.

Manatee Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
Manatee is a wonderful place of learning. I have two children at Manatee and both rare excited to go to school every morning. The teachers I have encountered are nurturing and care about the students. Correspondence is constant for both good and bad reports . There is great parent involvement. The activities are many and always well attended. My girls love going there.


Manatee Elementary School 4

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
We moved here two years ago from Chapel Hill, NC. We have one child in the 4th grade and one in the 1st grade. I am an education researcher and have found that Manatee is a good school by Brevard County standards. So much depends on the classroom teacher, as far as individual instruction and differentiation. Concerns about testing and state mandates aren't really a school site issue, although I see some complaints here based on such. The faculty is friendly, the office staff could use a kick in pants. YOU must work with your children on homework and assignments if you want them to succeed (as it should be at every school). There are many morning and afternoon activities. The morning mile is great for extra fitness and odyssey of the mind is a wonderful afterschool club. If you look at school scores, school of choice Robert Stevenson scores tops for the county, but Manatee is a good school. If you want your children to exceed the average, I suggest a tutoring service and extra help outside of the regular school day. The school could improve by offering extra content work outside of the school day (kind of like the summer science camp).

Manatee Elementary School 2

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
We moved up from S. Florida thinking we found the perfect school and we were excited. Our child was an honor roll student and as soon as she started at Manatee her grades dropped. Had several conferences with the teacher and all we heard was don't worry. Also, only having 3 days of recess is not enough for a child, they need to get out and relax their minds. If I knew what I know now, I wouldn't have bought our home for this school zone. Look at Suntree, Quest or Ralph Williams Elementary Schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manatee Elementary School
3425 Viera Boulevard, Brevard County, FL  32940
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. (321) 433-0050
Last modified Manatee Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top