Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brooksville Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 778 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2009

The atmosphere at this school is very cold. The staff seem very unhappy. Both the principal and assistant principal are not easily accessible or caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

We have the best and most dedicated teachers, kids, families and community in the state. We are the DEFINITION of what is means to be a community. WE ROCK!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

I used to work at this school. It was a wonderful school then and it still is today. The teachers are great and the special ed dept. is the best. I was honored to work there.


Posted March 21, 2009

I believe that Brooksville Elementary School is an outstanding Institution. My two childern both attend and I'm amazed at what they learn every day. They have grown in confidence and knowledge far above what I expected of the school system. I Have personally met with 5 of my childerns teachers, and have nothing bad to say about any of them. I believe that Micheal and Sarah are in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

BES is so unfriendly, the front office is rude.We as some parents put it, we are nothing compared to them.Worked for Santa Shop for 4 days, not once did you get a thank you,hello are anything else. This office stuff needs a complete make over. I can say this,the prison graud we have at the front desk needs to just retire!My kids teachers are GREAT!! I won't do any more work up at the school. But like i said a GREAT THANK YOU TO MY TEACHERS : Mrs Wilson 1st & Mrs Ferraro 4th
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I am very happy with the school. The front desk, back office and teaching staff are all good and helpful at all times. Sure they get busy but then you have to understand! My son has excelled there and the homework is taxing and keeps him on his toes.I rate this school highly and recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

My son has been going to BES for one year now. He has really excelled since coming to BES from a PASCO school. The teacher he had for Kindergarten was outstanding. His first grade teacher is also good. He's learning a lot and I think the teachers love teaching our kids. Keep up the good work. I will have to agree with the previous mom's comments about the office staff. It does seem more often than not, when you come in, they seem to busy, or that you are bothering them at times. This is not the way it should be. It's all about customer service. This area needs some work. Overall a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

I never feel welcome when I come into the front office. I get very bad attitudes every time I go there. The office staff needs a lot of work on their people skills. The teachers are ok from what I have seen so far. My kids have been going there for 2 years now. I am happy with the way that they are treated in the classroom, but if the office staff treats adults the way that they do, It makes me wonder how our children are being treated. I'm not happy at all with them. I could understand if it was just one or two times, but to be treated like dirt every time, there is something wrong there! It needs to be fixed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2006

I think this school is a terrible place. They seem to pick out the less than rich families! they ignored me anytime I called or came to have a meeting with the principal they would tell me that I had no app. When i called a week before to sechule? This is a very low quality school. And I am very glad my children won'tbe back therre this school year!if you are just putting your children in school I would think twice about this one! If there is one promise you can get from me it is that this school lacks in every department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

BES is a very good school. The teachers really care for our kids. The pick up was a little crazy at the beginning of the year, but they now have a new system in place and it is very secure and safe. The best indicator is my two children that attend are growing and learning and they love it! Great Job BES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

This school is older, the school is crowded, the office staff is stressed, and the pickup system for the students who don't ride the bus is far from secure. Beware, anyone can pick up your child here if they know your childs name. Scary stuff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

Outstanding school with great leadership from staff. The staff members care about students and education. Children that attend Brooksville love all aspects of the school from the staff to the parents involvement at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 73%
Black 12%
Hispanic 9%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 179%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%64%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JILL RENIHAN
Fax number
  • (352) 797-7114

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

885 North Broad Street
Brooksville, FL 34601
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7014

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hernando High School
Brooksville, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT