Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hernando High School

Public | PK, 6-12 | 1352 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2012

LOOKING FOR REGINA SPILMAN I KNEW HER WHEN HER DAD OWENED THE CAMPGROUND IN 1977 OR 1978


Posted June 13, 2012

I went to this high school and graduated in 96. I am now, after a lot of starts and stops, going to college full time at Arizona State University. My time at HHS, and in the ROTC program in particular, really helped me build the self confidence, discipline, and life long friends that have helped me in life since i graduated. No, the school isn't perfect. But is any school? I loved my time here and I think any student who tries their best, put themselves out there, and doesn't cause trouble will enjoy their time at HHS as well. Class of 96!!!


Posted August 28, 2011

I am currently a junior at HHS. I am on the swim team, I play soccer, and I play tennis. Hernando is a interesting and diverse school bursting with opportunities in every area. However, you (the student) must be willing to strive for excellence! This means: being respectful to yourself and others, challenging yourself, and giving each class your best effort. Communication also plays a key role at this school; especially with the guidance counselors and teachers. Switching classes is no easy task - especially at the beginning of the school year! Guidance is SWAMPED! So, make sure the proper procedures are carried out. Also, be aware that Virtual School is available if a specific class is not available on campus. I especially recommend switching to Virtual English classes!!! The Normal English classes are teaching subjects which should have been taught in middle school - and definitely mastered by or before freshman year of high school! Overall, I am very satisfied with my education at HHS, and I am looking forward to graduating in 2014. If I were a parent I would probably have no problem sending my child to HHS. Campus life is pretty lax, and it's possible to learn AND have fun too.


Posted January 14, 2011

My child is a sophmore at Hernando High School and I was very cautious about sending him to this school. A lot of people in Hernando County told me not to send my child to Hernando High School. I was told the school is segregated and still has a 1960s menality regarding race relations. I'm glad I sent my son here because he has met some great friends and the staff at this school is great. Sure there is some self segregation going on but that does not bother me at all. The black kids don't bother the whites and the white kids don't bother the black kids. Everyone seems to get along. Hernando High School may be self segregated but it works!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

This school has offered my daughter several acedemic opportunities that otherwise she would not have. She is excelling and I am so proud of her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

i went to hernando high for 3yrs freshman thru junior year and then ended up moving for my senior year. but all in all hernando has been the best school i have ever been to, i would have loved to have graduated fron that school. The staff and students are wonderful and nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

I am an alumni from this school, and I would have to say, that this school is good. It may not be the top in the county, but it's good. The teachers, and friends that I've met and have made while I was going to this school are all cool, and the same as everyone else. Not everyone that comes from Hernando High School is Stupid. A lot of people that i personally know have went on to Major Universitys. Quit judging this school and the students becasuse it's not right. We are all the same on the inside. We scream, when we are angry, we laugh when we are happy, and we cry when we feel pain and sorrow. And all of us makes mistakes each and every day, but we learn from the mistakes that we make. so stop the non sense judging
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 29, 2008

I sincerely doubt that many students from this school went on to colleges in the Ivy League. The young man that posted earlier is perhaps the lone student to actually leave the state from his graduating class to attend a top tier college. Many student's simply lack the drive to leave the area due to family constraints. A girl with a 4.0 gpa went on to attend USF, which arguably is the sixth or seventh best college in Florida. Shouldn't students be lead towards bigger and better things rather than be steered towards mediocre colleges simply because they are safe?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 15, 2008

To be blunt this school is a mess. No doubt there are good students in the school, and good teachers, but the one must review SES of Brooksville to understand this school's failures. Many students, particularly those in older grades, have been pushed through the system in Hernando county with little to no demand for improvement, and as a result you have a large number of students that do not want to work and by and large don't care about or respect their teachers in anyway. While there are excellent teachers in the system, they have become so disenfranchised due to the poor leadership, namely the inept skills brought by Betty Harper. They plug teachers with no experience into classrooms with little support because administration is kept far too busy attempting to handle the myriad of discipline problems at the school.


Posted December 23, 2007

I went to this school for the last two years of my high school education. This was the worst school anyone could be sent to. The faculty gave little to no help with trying to further your education beyond high school. The majority of the teachers were horrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

I graduated from Hernando High School in 1974 and went on to complete a PhD. My son is currently enrolled in Hernando High School. The faculty and staff have been very professional and have encouraged him to excell. My hat is off to the faculty and staff! Patricia Holley, PhD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I totally disagree with most of the other reviews posted here. I graduated from this school last year and am currently attending an Ivy League university for my post secondary education. Albeit, Hernando High School is slightly behind in academics when it is compared to the newer schools but they make up for this in the quality of their students and staff. My teachers were wonderful people who motivated me reach for goals and to fulfill all of my potential. With each passing year HHS's standards are being raised. I believe that what one receives from their education is equivalent to what they are willing to put into it. This school offers every opportunity that is needed to succeed, all one has to do is strive for it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 4, 2006

Maybe instead of blaming the teachers the parents should take a look at themselves. These students were problems way before they got to high school. make the parents come to school with the kids and make them behave. These bad children make it almost impossible for the ones who want to learn to succeed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 8, 2006

this is a very poor run school. The principal has no clue, being that she used to be a social worker before becomming a principal. No Clue about the kids or even the teachers that work for her. As for the kids, they are not motivated to go to college. I was amazed how disrespectful the kids were at graduation and how poorly run it was.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

373 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Black 12% 23%
Hispanic 9% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 3%N/A2%
Graduation rate 68%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%64%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 6%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 16%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Bell Ave
Brooksville, FL 34601
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7015

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Endeavor Academy
Brooksville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT