Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frank W. Springstead High School

Public | 9-12 | 1636 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2014

My daughter attended this school for the 10th grade and we moved to weeki wachee school district and I have done everything I could to keep her in Springstead for the ROTC program that she has participated in for two years going on three. The staff has done nothing to help, given me no helpful information and has been utterly rude to me and my daughter. There is a new principal at the school this year, but it may be too late for my daughter. If they would have given me the proper information I could have applied for special circumstances months ag,o but no one would help. I would prefer my daughter in weeki wachee but unfortunately they don't offer ROTC and this could drastically change the direction of my daughters future and no one seems to care. But if I walked in and said I was homeless and needed my daughter in school, they would be happy to sign her up without documentation....that just doesn't make sense! Now last second waiting to hear where my daughter will be going on Monday morning. The staff at this school really needs to be re evaluated and given some proper manner courses to deal with people!!! So frustrated!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Honestly, as a sophomore, my freshman experience was mediocre and not memorable, academically. If I walk into the door 5 seconds past the bell, I am sent to the tardy table, where I waste even more time and missing even more class activity. I was prepared for the IB program, but many teachers tended to be insensitive to the workload and didn't care if you were failing or not. That being said, there are the few gems that aimed to connect to the student and teach and help and guide. I have three years to go, and I'm still unsure whether or not Springstead will positively or negatively impact my high school experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2012

I am very pleased with the school & staff @ springstead high school. My grandson is doing very well academically,he also plays baseball for the EAGLES. I am happy that he attends springstead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

This school and its administrators/councelors/teachers are ALL a joke. The lack of concern for these children is simply appalling. There main priority only appears to be test scores NOT the students. This school turned there back on my son when his GPA was low and encouraged him to drop out and get a GED. To make a long story short I signed my son out of this school immediately only to enroll him in another High school and he graduated High School with his diploma,and now is enrolled in Full Sail University. So to assistant principal Ms. Michalicka and the counclers who never thought my son would NEVER make it..THANK YOU FOR BEING THE MOTIVATION BEHIND MY SONS SUCCESS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

I have seen this school go steadily downhill in recent years. There appears to be a great lack of control at this school as the students deal with overcrowding; they are subjected to a continuous lack of respect, inappropriate language and behavior, harassment and fighting by their peers; with a seemingly tremendous lack of concern by administrators, counselors and other staff. The main priority appears to be test scores not the students. This makes for a very unpleasant atmosphere for students to 'learn' in. F W Springstead HS is no place for ESE students due to the lack of knowledge, compassion, understanding and training to accommodate students. I have seen questionable practices as administrators/staff appear to have their own set of rules and the freedom to do as they please. Parental involvement is not welcome, other than gathering volunteer hours in extracurricular activities. The only bright side this school seems to have is the theater and music programs, along with some of their sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

I think most of the staff bring down the students self esteem. I am not at all happy with the school. Also their enforcement of tardy-absence borders on ridiculous. Yelling at these kids in hallways, and if they are tardy by a few minutes/seconds and the bell just rang and they are in class with door closing behind them, they get sent to the tardy table which makes them even later and missing start of class and disturbing class. A more positive attitude should be shown to these kids in highschool to particapate more in activities, PE, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2011

I moved to Spring Hill in 2003, at that time I enrolled my son into Springstead HS. When my son was in HS there were over sometimes 40 kids or more in his class, the staff was overwhelmed, and disorganized. Some of the teachers tried but with no support from the district office they started to give up. Now it is my daughters turn to be enrolled in Springstead. After the bad experience I had with my son, was expecting the worst for my daughter. But, I was pleasantly surprised, the class sizes are much smaller, the teachers are willing to help. And the staff is just wonderful exspecially my daughters consulor. She was accepted into the wevb design program and she absolutely loves it. The only complaint I have is that the school does not offer enough variety of of electives. I am very happy with this school and I am proud that my daughter is a student at Springstead HS>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2011

I want to comment on the athletic part of the school. The athletic director is just their for a pay check. He is not active on creating what every other school has. Its 2011 C'mon man update your school web site. Keep parents and students informed. Post pictures of game highlights and news. I look at other schools we compete with and I am embarrased. The site has not been updated since 2008. Get a new young athletic director who is passionate about the sports and school not just a pay check. This guy now has the personality of a rock. Also start making changes at head coach of the football team. His game plan has not changed in 10 years. Time for someone who knows how to mix it up and run a program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

This school is deplorable, my daughter transferred here from a Kentucky high school, if we could go back we would. Springstead behavioral discipline is non-existent. Students publically curse, fondle, kiss, yell and are unruly and disrespectful to peers and teachers. The faculty turns a blind eye to it all. However, their enforcement of tardy-absence borders on ridiculous. My daughter continually gets marked absent for attending approved senior school functions and the teacher gives her 30 minute lectures about how it's NOT HER JOB to correct the absence. If you have a choice, don't send your children here. It's a small town, but this high school is straight out of inner city Detroit (where I went to school, and it sucked).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2011

I cannot begin to say how proud I am that I graduated from Springstead High School. I recieved an amazing education by inspiring teachers and a great faculty who I know care for their students like we are their own children. I've never heard of a student getting OSS for three days because of one tardy...I know this because I have been tardy before and that has never happened. They give all their students chances when they make mistakes (like being tardy) and make it a point to relate with us on a personal level. Springstead houses some of the best teachers in Hernando County. We now have the IB program and an overwhelming amount of AP classes available. The electives to choose from are abundant also, with our Band and Theater program leading the way as some of the best in the county. I reccomend any parent who is thinking about enrolling their child in school in Spring Hill to consider Springstead!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2009

Springstead is filled with teachers that actually care that we succeed. I am proud to be part of it and the IB program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2009

I agree with most of the parents reviews. The principal is nonexistant, the V.P. never remembers anything we have discussed prior and my son is always suspended for being late to class. I understand, its important to be on time but getting a 3 day OSS for each tardy is insane. The teachers tell me that my son is a pleasure to have in class, very polite. He just recieved a combined OSS of 10 days and failed several classes this marking because he is not allowed to make up any work when suspended. Thats 10 F's for each class (during exam week too).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

Almost every day I'm glad to get up and go to Springstead. I just recently got home from an FVA, (Florida Vocal Association) competition and we placed straight superiors. Not only were we the only high school to achieve superior, but we were also the only high school to get straight superiors, which is amazing.! The art program is great, the band program and the chorus program are one of the top rated in the state. Classes are great and there are so many options for a student to embrace; such as: IB/DE, Honors, AP, musical arts, art, computer, and much, much more. We've always been top rated in the county, and probably even the state. I'm glad I'm a student at F.W. Springstead High School.:D
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

Springstead is an excellent school. It is a B school which is fantastic considering Florida's average school rating. It also has the only IB Program in Hernando County.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

The band program they provide over at Springstead is fantastic! Mr. Dasher is a wonderful teacher and is great that students can learn from him. As some people I know would say, Mr. Dasher rocks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2008

springsread is a great schoo thay have anmazing drama department band and choris what more is their to say if you have any intrest in art this is the school for you
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2008

Maybe if teachers had a raise in their wages, they would have an incentive to work harder. I, personally, believe Springstead is a school of merit and it should receive more credit for what its staff and faculty do. I have been enrolled in a number of AP/DE courses and I strive to grasp the most I can out of my education. Those parents that don't like Springstead probably are receiving skewed perspectives from their children and are not involved enough in their child's education to see that there is good in this school. Unfortunately, Florida ranks just about the 50th out of all the states in the U.S. in positive standards of education. Maybe it's because the first thing that the government cuts when money is low is funding for public education... lets see what can be done for Springstead, other schools, our children, and generations to come.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2007

Lack of communication from both teachers and councelors. Over crowding of the basics (math, english, reading, history, etc.) On the other hand, the band program is phenominal, and if your child is interested in Marching Band, Mr. Dasher's guidance and commitment will be hard to top!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Springstead offers many opportunities for students to excel. The ROTC program is one of the best. As parents, it is our responsibility to keep up with our (almost adult) children, not the school's responsibility. It's sad to think there are people who still think school is a baby-sitting service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

I have to say I am very impressed with Springstead. I enjoyed meeting my sons teachers at the open house. I think it is wonderful how they are available with tutoring if needed and explained what there plan for this school year will be. Plus how each child has been informed on upcoming events,and homework projects. They get 5 stars from me. I love there art departments too, they work very very hard. Way to go ! !
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

371 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

378 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

424 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

469 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
67%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

413 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
58%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

377 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 70%
Hispanic 18%
Black 5%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 168%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 76%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%64%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 Mariner Blvd
Brooksville, FL 34609
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wider Horizons School
Spring Hill, FL


Golden Branch Academy
Spring Hill, FL


Aldersgate Academy
Spring Hill, FL


Faith Christian Academy
Spring Hill, FL


Hernando County Jail
Brooksville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT