Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

604 students|Hernando
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Hernando Middle School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Do the school choice if you are zoned for this school, or choose a private school if you kid has and IEP or 504, get the mckay scholarship and choose another school , this one is very bad!!

West Hernando Middle School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Not at all, they don't even respect parents, imagine how they are going to treat your kids


West Hernando Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
They don't care about your kid they just there for a paycheck, very sad but it's true

West Hernando Middle School 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
I went here for 8th grade and enjoyed my year there. Being mostly a lonely student and just trying to focus on my studies; all my teachers except one were very nice and graded fairly. Art was fun, and I usually hate P.E. but this past year I liked it because they let you do so many different things. The 8th grade dance was awesome, with popular music for kids our age and a slideshow running in the background of pics of us. Lots of food and drinks for free, the only things you had to pay for was $5 for a ticket and I don;'t remember how much for pictures. 8th graders also get a graduating T-shirt with all the names of the 8th graders on the back, the t-shirt design was a drawing contest last year. We also had a field trip to Epcot for those of us with no really-bad disciplines, and you could run a fundraiser for money to go. 8th graders - as long as things stay the same, I know you'll have fun.

West Hernando Middle School 1

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
This is to all parents that have children going to this school or will have children going soon.. Some of the teachers in this school dont care about teaching only a paycheck. The principal Rufa is all talk and NO action so dont waste your time having a meeting with him. I also noticed they dont care for hispanics. If your child will be attending this school good luck with your teachers. There are a few teachers that are young and love to teacha few men as well but thats just a hand full of them.


West Hernando Middle School 5

Posted June 07, 2011
- a community member
I LOVE this school. It is the best school i have ever went to. I <3 WHMS!!!

West Hernando Middle School 2

Posted December 06, 2009
- a student
i hate that school it is mean and dumb but also cool i like the teachers and students but not mr.rufa

West Hernando Middle School 4

Posted November 01, 2009
- a student
this school is fun and very interesting


West Hernando Middle School
no rating

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
My son is doing fantastic at this school and he enjoys all of the tachers and fellow students. This school gives students P.E. everyday, no school uniforms, and the outdoor Aviary they have is so nice. My son is an 'A' student and in 'AP' Math and LA/Reading classes. I was concerned that he would not be challenged enough, but thanks to the new highly professsional principal and her wonderful teaching staff I am very happy with our decision to keep our son at WHMS. A special thanks to Dr. Marcia Austin for starting to Rev Up the math in our county!!! My son loves it and is doing Fantastic and for those of you who have children that excel in Math & Science then you will be very pleased with the new math program she has interjected in our schools!! Thank You

West Hernando Middle School 5

Posted February 28, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has gone through middle school here and it has been an absolutely positive experience for us. The administration is very responsive to parents' concerns and I had no problems with my child's teachers or the course content. Her academic teachers as well as extra curricular teachers were supportive and encouraging. This is an excellent school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Hernando Middle School
14325 Ken Austin Parkway, Brooksville, FL  34614
(352) 797-7035
Last modified West Hernando Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Hernando Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top