Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Powell Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 824 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

This school has come a long way with the current administration. The office staff, teachers and even the custodians are so helpful and have the children's best interest at heart! Way to go Panthers!!


Posted October 20, 2013

This school is by far the worst school ever, I have been to! I have been called names, the teachers take to much favorism, the princible is a mess, isn't she supposed to get to school before anyone else?! Some teachers buy other student presents, I think that's wrong, if your going to do tiny do it privately! Oh yeah there is this hing called panting I the locker room, I suppose the pe teachers have no control? I don't like this, I'm going to a new school next year for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted July 16, 2013

My daughter is starting 8th grade, and with the exception of 1 teacher, we have had nothing but excellent teachers. The chorus program is phenominal and is the main reason we chose this school. If your child is interested in the arts, this is the school to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2012

I am in the 8th grade, and this is my first year at Powell, and..I HATE IT. I just moved here from a different state. It's terrible at Powell. Students can say profanity, and all they'd get is a "Watch your language!" At my old school, we'd get in huge trouble. And the students at Powell, oh my lord.. they're all smokers, and getting arrested, stuff like that. There are SO MANY fights here, too. We had like 2 fights a year at my old school. If you were ever thinking about letting your child go to Powell, don't. Send them to Challenger K-8, Winding Waters K-8, D.S. Parrot, etc. I used to love school, but once I came to Powell..I already hate Powell and I've been here only about 9 weeks. If there was an option to put zero stars on the star rating, I would.


Posted May 23, 2012

My son has attend this school for three years now. The teachers are very helpful, always response to emails. The track team was great my son is one of there top runners. Mr. C is awesome. Coach uncle buck is great. Unfortunately they are losing some teachers to budget cuts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

Kids are nothing but bullies, teachers really don't care. The teachers have their favorites and if you're not on their list oh well. Dance teacher doesn't give anyone group or solo parts if they aren't one of her favorites. Teachers watch bullying going on but won't say anything. This has been the worst 3 years of my daughters life. I am so glad she has only 1 more month to go and then can go on to a better school. My daughter stays out of trouble but the teachers treat her horribly. One student has been in so much trouble but they won't kick her out. It's not a safe school at all. My daughter always liked school till these last 3 years. I also do not feel they promote academics as much as their performing arts. Academics should always come first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2011

This school doesn't really care if the students learn anything or even if they WANT to learn. The new principal is terrible and the students are out of control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

It seems to me that this school is more interested in keeping the teachers that don't put any effort into their actual teaching and they get rid of the ones that actually CARE about the students. They are more focused on disciplining the students and creating ridiculous rules than actually making sure the students there flourish and are prepared for high school. It's a middle school, not the military. Keep the good teachers and get rid of the bad ones. It's funny to me how the teachers that have students with high test scores are the ones being fired. THAT'S a good way to ensure you get money for that budget.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

This school is a great and safe school. The teachers and administrators deal with all this issues and they do not tolerate bad behavior! We moved down to this district 2 years ago from up north and I have been very pleased with Powell Middle School. I'm extremely happy that my children attend this school. Some of the other schools in the district are lacking in the discipline category however, not Powell. This school is not afraid to deal with the very few problem students that attend Powell!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2010

I attend Powell Middle School. I'm a 6th grader and this is my first year here. So far it has impressed me. Although, the Geography teacher is my main problem. She barely helps you. Her name is Mrs. Bradley. And i'm not saying ALL the 7th graders do this, but a few of them are complete snobs. But most of them are fair. The eighth graders don't bother anyone. I currently have 5 B's(Math, Dance, Science, Band, PE,) 1 C(Advanced Language Arts,) and 1 D(GEOGRAPHY)


Posted November 5, 2009

This school is amazing the teachers are understanding and helpful and the students are very amazing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

safety and education are the most important things to me for the children and Powell provides these. Great school. And I know this from past experiences we have had with other schools. GO PANTHERS!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

Powell Middle School Is TERRIBLE. I Hate It & All The Teahers There. They're Too Focused On Getting Kidss In Trouble All The Time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2009

I love this school. The teachers here are nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2009

I think the teachers here are very helpful and their programs are outstanding
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

I am a student at Powell and I think it is a great school there are nice teachers a lot of the students are easy to get along with and there are very few fights and I am part of the student government and planning to stay in it next year too we have done a lot to help the school we have helped with the P.BS. (positive behavior System) we plan the school dances the field trips and pep rallies and a whole lot more so not only are you getting help and support from the teachers staff and admin. your kid also gets help from the student government and when we plan stuff like that we also keep the students interests in mind. there are also after school tutoring with math reading even art and science. This school also has students working on the year book.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2009

Although I do appreciate the things the new principal has done to improve the school, I am sad to say there is a lot more to be done. My son is in the eighth grade and extremely bright but I feel as though he has not been prepared for highschool at all. The teachers at Powell, with the exception of a few, are below par. My son is in pre-ap classes and the teachers either don't teach and expect the kids to learn it on their own or they don't even apeak proper english! It is amazing to me! I really hope they clean house one day for the sake of the students. I don't think high school is much better. Kids don't do their work and are able to make it up at the end of the quarter???? How are they learning from this? I could go on and on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

Teachers, including Administration, seem to be more focused on discipline than a student's education. I'm in eighth grade and have been going to Powell Middle School for three years. I truly do regret going to this school as it has brought me nothing but trouble. While students are raising their hands to ask a question the teachers are across the room screaming, disciplining another student. And, before you know it, class is over. Goodbye Powell!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

I hate this school. It is absolutley terrible. Busses are always crowded, kids are cruel, you get made fun of, terrible teachers. I do not reccomend this school at all. I have been here for two years. My friends are the only thing that really get me to wake up at 5:30 am in the morning! the teachers let us run in the hallways, make fun of people, and there are bad fights. All the time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2007

I love powell middle school! It's the best!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

249 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

268 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

270 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

306 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

303 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

305 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

316 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 70%
Hispanic 17%
Black 6%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 162%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%64%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 20%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. JAMIE YOUNG
Fax number
  • (352) 797-7195

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 Barclay Ave
Brooksville, FL 34609
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7095

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hernando County Jail
Brooksville, FL


Wider Horizons School
Spring Hill, FL


Golden Branch Academy
Spring Hill, FL


Golden Branch Academy
Spring Hill, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT