Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

D. S. Parrott Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 830 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

Rude office staff and lack of correction in class, hard to learn is a result of this.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 2, 2013

This school needs alot of improvement, starting with the rude office staff.. They do not want to talk to you when you come in. It is impossible to get the teachers to give your child make up work. And most parents would love for the child to not have any homework, but my child hasn't had homework once, when asked some teacher at open house about homework, one response said why bother the kids won't do it anyways! Teachers dont care here, just there for a paycheck, not for the childrens education!! My child will NOT be there next year!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

this is a awesome school I know how to get to classes on time and all the teachers are very nice <3


Posted August 19, 2013

unorganized the staff has know idea as to what is going on student was missing and they had no clue as to what to do her teacher had now clue as to if she was in class today or not had sheriff,s office looking for her and could not get a response or call back
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

My child has been bullied for 4yrs started at eastside and continued to parrot I have been up to the school and called no principles have contacted me back every time I complain they call Dcf and then had my child baker acted I understand if they took every troubled child out the staff wouldnt have a job so they protect the bully and disregard the victim this school is the worst school ever they don't care about our children I have talked with a lot of people in our community they have the same problems most of the staff members are heartless sad that our tax dollars go to paying them !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

This school is a great school and has the greatest band program. Mr. B. , the band director, makes all his band students feel like they are special and teach them a true love of music.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

We figured we had nothing to lose... Although, Parrot had a bad reuputation, we figured we had nothing to lose after interviewing the rest of the Hernando county shcool's faculty and leadership. What a pleasant suprise! As my oldest of 3 children begins his final year, it is time to leak, this one time, the outstanding leadership that the faculty has bestowed upon us. We believe that success is the progressive realization of a worhwhile goal, and that perfection is the pursuit of excellence. The Leopard team continues the experience of the example I want for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

d.s parrott middle school is the best school ever!great teachers,cool classes,and fun activities,good friends,and un-forgetable memories.thats all :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I am a student a Parrott Middle School. My teachers are all great. They do an excellent job despite the budget cuts. I have been getting really good grades. Check out Mr. W ,s after school guitar class. He is an awsome teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2008

Parrott Middle School is great school, especially since Mrs.Booker became principal she always is rewarding students for their accomplishments achievements, and good grades and behavior.The school has a grreeaat sports program and band(the band is one of the only middle school marching band and the football team has been undifeated two years in a row). I`m in all advanced classes and they challenge us decently, though there are less electives because of them cutting on all the teachers in Hernando county. And eventhough they have dress code they have days when you can pay $1.00 to wear whatever you want as long as it is not inapropiate and showy. Also the teachers are an overall fair. The school is awesome! *PEACE OUT*
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

My son goes to this school and the teachers are very nice. The staff is awsome and is very helpfull with everything that I needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

I go to Parrott middle school, and I left FCMS. Parrott is a way better school because if you have an extra math class or reading and you have spanish but no PE you still have the oppurtunity to have PE. The education here is really good. But the dresscode isnt that inforced as I thought it would've been but still great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

This school does not have a variety of classes to keep up with intelligent or gifted children. They do not know what to do with them, so they keep putting them in the sames classes over and over again...what a waste of a good mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I go to Parrott, and this school is horrible, especially the education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2006

My son started going there this year from Powell. My son likes this school much better! Teachers, guidance counselor, principal, everyone is working with us to help him succeed. We get regular updates. At Powell he was always getting picked on and nothing done about it. Here the staff is willing to take charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

My daughter is now in the middle of her second year in D.S. Parrott. Our family relocated to Brooksville from Hollywood Hills, Florida for family reasons just as she was starting middle school. I was concerned about the move but everyone assured me that this was a great school and a great place to raise children. All I can say now is ha! What a joke that was. I think that this school is terrible, the teachers pass children that should not be passed and the other kids need a crash course in manners and treatment of others. I just hope that we can relocate again before my son has to attend this school! So much for a small city being a better place to raise and educate our children than a larger one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2005

I am not impressed with this school! There seems to be a very low expectation of the students. If they show up and are getting passing grades, that is good enough. For parents that want and expect more from their children, this is not the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

This principal needs to open his eyes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2004

i think parrot middle school is the worst school ever. i sent my daughter there for sixth grade and she always came home telling me how much other kids were picking on her and the teachers told her to grow up. you need to grow up and help children that are in need of help and do something about it! you need to get your act together and stop playing around around and help thats what you get paid to do!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

270 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Black 12% 23%
Hispanic 10% 29%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%64%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brent Gaustad
Fax number
  • (352) 797-7175

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19220 Youth Dr
Brooksville, FL 34601
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7075

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Endeavor Academy
Brooksville, FL





Hernando High School
Brooksville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT