Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine Grove Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 569 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

I am a high school student and went here from K-5th. My family practically revolves around this school, because my sibling attends and a member of our family has taught there for 10+ years. This school is a GREAT school. We lost a lot of teachers and staff when Winding Waters K-8 school opened, because our student attendance significantly dropped as I heard. We still have many of our teachers and staff that have worked here for years, many of which I remember from my days there. Many teachers still there are excellent and fun, our specials teachers ( for art, science, P.E., media center, etc.) are great, and front office administration is friendly and just awesome. Our school is a green school and has recycling bins in every building, a greenhouse, grows plants (you'll see them as soon as you walk into the campus) and is the home of some small animals that are well taken care of. We have a day care program (Wee Care) and VPK. Our school is extremely friendly and I just love it. Though this school isn't always in the newspaper for doing so many great things, I would say if Pine Grove were given personification, it would be described as ambitious, and courteous~ :)


Posted January 30, 2013

i have been putting my 5 yr olds lunch in her bookbag she came home with the same lunch in her bookbag.she told me mommy im scared to tell the teacher i have a packed lunch now she is only 5 coming from a new school and im really upset because there was a substitute in her class she was scared to say something so i called the school and left a message sayin she had a packed lunch so if the school says no children left behind what about no children left hungary???????????????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Reason - My son went here for 4th and I wasn't thrilled. Now boeing in . 5th and graduating 2011. I was very disappointed when I went to the school today for his 5th grade dance. When I was told that NO PARENTS were allowed to join. WHAT in the world is that all about. The school should be glad that there are parents that would love to be there and that their kids would love for them to have been there as well. VERY DISAPPOINTED. My son didnt care to stay so we checked him out as well. Another thing is NO FIELD TRIPS at all. But FCAT was a BIG PRIORITY though. KIDS need a break and tif you have students that love for their parents to participate it should be allowed and ALL times. Thank god for the science teacher and the cool rocket experiment the kids did it was really fun and a learning experience for them to remember. Other than him my son really didnt care for any of the teachers he had one day they were really nice and the next day they were on his case. Bipolar if you ask me. Principle is a great guy. Mrs Principle please give these teachers some spice so they can keep up with our young adults. Dress code for some teachers should also be inforced.... ENJOY your summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

I have 3 children. A 3rd grader, 1st grader and one in VPK that will start kindergarten in Aug. I think Pine Grove is a great school in many ways and not so great in others. One of the great things is that most all the front office staff/ will address you by Ms.(your last name) before you even say who or what you are there for. But one thing that is concerning is the bus situation is crazy. And the homework load per child is out of this world! for example just for my 1st grader we can easily spend 2hrs doing homework.....thats only one kid, I have 3! So it can be from 2hrs to 5hrs of homework a night. Grrrrr! And P.E Once a month is crazy too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2010

I think everyone is friendly, but sometimes that's not enough. My son has Special needs and they would leave him out of everything. They didn't watch him as they should have. I had to pick him up a lot because he got into stuff and need a bath...it was just ridiculous. Now he is Explorer K-8 & involved in a terrific ESE program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Pine Grove is full of good teachers, friendly staff, and a family like atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My son has been going to Pine Grove for 4 years and he loves it i would never send my child to any other other school. The staff and curriculum is outstanding.. The office staff is wonderful an inviting when you arrive. The new principal is doing a fantastic job. I would never change a thing about Pine Grove!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

This school is one of the best in the State of Florida. The caring staff, the wonderful leadership, the outstanding students as well as their supporting families, and the partnerships with the community are what makes this school a FABULOUS school! They have truly found the connection between home, school and community and utilize the ability to produce excellenct students.Hernando County needs to read into what is done so very well there.


Posted January 3, 2008

I am a parent, volunteer and a do all at the school. I am very pleased with the academic achievment my two son's are receiving as well as the mentoring of most staff on campus. I am very thrilled with the parent / teacher communication and being treated as an individual. Parent involvement is a huge plus in my family and PineGrove is the best with team work volunteering. My only draw back of the school would be the library. As I grew up the school was based around the media center and we wanted to go their. Students on several surveys where not happy with the media staff at the present time. Proud parent of Pine Grove. Dave, you are doing an awesome job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

I am extremely happy with Pine Grove and the staff. My daughter has had an excellent education with this school and all of her teachers have gone above and beyond with their duties. My youngest cannot wait to start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

This school was not for us,the office staff and the teachers acted as if they were overwhelmed with students.my child only went to 5th grade here and coming from another school the year before making A's she left Pine Grove with C's on work that she already knew.My nephew also went to this school and had a hard time learning,not getting the attention he needed from the teacher.I had to pull my child out early because i was very displeased with how things were being ran at Pine Grove.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

This school is one of the best in our county. The knowledge of our teachers is great. The level of parent involvement is also very great for an elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2003

I would like to take this time to thank all at Pine Grove. This school and its teachers are awesome. The teachers at my son's school have the desire I look for in a teacher. They have the students' interests at heart. To put my son in a private school would be a waste of money. I just want all of you up state to know how much I as a parent appreciate all at Pine Grove. May God Bless each and every one of them and please keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 13% 29%
Black 6% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%64%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Earl Deen
Fax number
  • (352) 797-7190

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14411 Ken Austin Pkwy
Brooksville, FL 34613
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Winding Waters K-8
Weeki Wachee, FL


Golden Branch Academy
Spring Hill, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT