Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chocachatti Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 833 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2014

My child started kindergarten this year here and so far NOT impressed. School rules are aloud to be broken for "special people" that are friends with the principle. They are aloud to jump the drop off/pick up line and she doesn't say a word to them. Just talks and laughs with them, but if you do it it a no-no and she tells you so. Also a teacher just told me she just put whatever grade in that would give them a S. You can't just pick a grade out of the sky and put it in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

One of the best decisions my husband and I made when we got all our children out of public school and got them into Chocachatti. Big diffrence in the school enviroment! My kids have learned soo much not only from thier normal school learning, but learned soo much from thier micro-society which has programs like Junior Court, CES Bank, Entraprenaurs, Batton, Taekwondo, gymnastics(gym dandies), micros promoting kids to keep our enviroment clean, Tap, Drama, Violin, Drumming, Guitar, Sassy Salon (Hair & Nail salon), Arts & Crafts, Dance, Cheerleading, etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Chocachatti Elementary is a great school! My daughter has been attending since Kindergarten, now soon to be in 2nd grade. I have nothing but great things to say about the teachers she's had thus far. I can say that they've been very attentive, great with communicating and quick to respond to any of my concerns, which have been very few. My daughter enjoys going to school and her love for arts and music continues to grow each day! She also enjoys her "micro jobs" which gives her good insight as to what it means to live in society, work and the importance of being a responsible citizen. One thing that can improve is the area where they have conferences and ceremonies (which is part of the cafteria) I realize it may be limited due to the funds, but for the most part, if you don't show up 30+ minutes before an activity, you will not have a seat. Maybe a separated auditorium would be better or expanding the area used now. Also, the school is K-5, if it could be turned into a K-8, that would make my wish come true!!! Overall, it's a great school- if your child is showing interest in arts, music or drama- you should considering visiting this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2012

My son just finished 5th grade at this school. We transferred him in 3rd grade after spending K through 2nd at a different public school. What a difference! Before Chocachatti, he would come home saying that he didn't like school and was not a great reader. By the middle of the year, Mrs. O'Rourke and the rest of the school had him loving it! By the end of 3rd grade, he was competing with his friends to read 5th grade novels. I was sold. 4th grade was not as good since his teacher left mid year. He doesn't do well with change and having subs until a new teacher was found didn't work for him. This made me nervous but Mrs. McCane took all those nerves away when he started 5th grade. She knows the meaning of preparing kids for middle school. She was absolutely wonderful for my son. Thank you Chocachatti! I hope middle school can keep up with your standards. We will miss you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

My son attends, and my daughter has applied for next year. They do a wonderful job of keeping parents involved, creating a sense of school community, and making a fun and safe learning environment for the kids. My son absolutely loves it there....so much so that if I have to take him out for a doctor/dentist appointment, he asks me to take him back to school when it's done. The MicroSociety program is wonderful for teaching real world applications, and their huge support of the arts is something severely lacking in so many other schools. Kudos to all the staff and volunteers who make this such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

This school has provided so many opportunities for my two children. I would have had to search outside of the school to provide what they currently provide during school, or as after school activities. My children are happy and challenged at the same time. The staff are committed to the students and their achievement/progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

I love Chocachatti. It is an awesome school. The teachers are so great. Parents know all the kids, teacher, and other parents. My daughter wants to go to school everyday. That says it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

i think its a good school but there are some problems like i have noticed that when the kids sit down on the floor they are terribly squished. another thing i noticed is they have to sit on the dirty floor and the older ones sit on bleachers. there is a few other small problems but besides that chocachatti is a pretty good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

great teachers and staff , excellent art and music programs it gives the children such confidence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

Every teacher my daughter has exceeded my expectations. The teachers have gone beyond their job desriptions in our times of need. The teachers need supportive parents and I hope the structure continues to be successful as they change the admission process. Sibling rule should never have been taken away. Thank God my son was placed this final year. Otherwise... he would only enter by fate and chance of lottery.. Keep the good ratings.... keep parental involvement! Keep siblings at the same school! Vote out any school board members in oppositino of the automatic sibling rule which will be brought back to them-- guaranteed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

The microsociety creates a focus. Many teachers give extra to support the growth of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Great staff & great opportunities for our children to learn. Wish more schools were like it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The students want to come to school each day. They are excited about their microsociety ventures where they can create and explore the real world of business and finance all incorporating english, math, and science. My child never wanted to miss a day.


Posted April 29, 2010

Chocachatti is a fabulous school to work at. I am very proud of our students, parents, and staff. Forget all the rest, Chocachatti is the best!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2010

The teachers and the Micro Society Program that the children participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The students and staff at this school are terrific!


Posted April 27, 2010

When we first attended the orientation 6 years ago, my husband and I could not believe the curriculum available to the students. we had never heard of a microsociety school and loved the concept. Our daughter was lucky enough to be selected to attend this wonderful school. It teaches the students utilizing the arts (drama, music dance and art) as well as giving them an idea of what life is all about. Having our daughter start her academic life in a school like Chocachatti made her a better student. Every teacher she has had has been outstanding. This school deserves 10 stars - not just five!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My daughter loved this school for Kindergarten and first grade. Loved the arts focus. Very academically challenging and very creative
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

My daughter went to school here she is in middle school now but i have never seen a better school all the way around, the teachers are great and the students are happy. We have lived all over the united states and have never found a school like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Microsociety gives all the children a feeling of importance and responsibility. My children are so proud when they come home and tell me what job they performed on Micro days. This school makes learning fun and my children look forward to going school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

147 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 67%
Hispanic 21%
Two or more races 6%
Black 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%64%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4135 California Street
Brooksville, FL 34604
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7067

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Wider Horizons School
Spring Hill, FL


Golden Branch Academy
Spring Hill, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT