Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Callahan Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 806 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2013

I'm a former student of Callahan Middle and my experience there was not a great one. I faced bullying and many teachers that only cared about you when you started failing and your parents got involved. The only thing we ever really focused on anyway was FCAT and that does not get you very far. My sister now goes here and faces constant bullying even though we have repeatedly informed the principal and many of the staff. So over all I feel that this school is a real let down.


Posted June 18, 2013

I am a former CMS teacher. I now feel free to say that Principal Ellen Ryan is a fantastic effective transformational educational leader. Ms. Ryan's high standards will help your child/children succeed in our exceedingly advanced ever evolving competitive technical local and global job market. CMS is extremely fortunate to have Ellen Ryan as its principal. Assistant Principal Underhill is one of the most patient thoughtful helpful people I have ever met. Mr. Underhill carves time out of his unbelievable busy schedule to individually assist the students, teachers, and staff. The faculty and staff at CMS are hardworking dedicated professionals who truly care about all the students and work endlessly to improve the school program to prepare students to become self-sufficient successful highly valued contributing members of the local community and national society. If you have any concerns, I urge you to contact the teachers, and/or administrators immediately. I know for a fact that the professional educators at Callahan Middle School want to work with you to provide your child/children with the best educational experience possible. Best wishes, E.Hofstedt


Posted June 14, 2013

We went to the chorus concert last night and was pleasantly surprised in one week camp how great the young ladies and gentleman sounded. It was nice to see a good crowd as well there to support the young adults as well. I look forward to the up and coming school year as my child continues her education and learning skills as she continues to grow and become a woman of the modern ages. I know if she continues this road she will be successful and also a contributor not only to this community but wherever she goes. I also had the pleasure of meeting some of the school board staff as they were in attendance and showing support as well. With one year of this school in the past and 2 more to go, I am well satisfied with all areas of what this school has to offer the youth including positive role models as well. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to express my opinion of not only what my child has learned and will continue to learn over the next couple of years but as a parent as well. God bless :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

Callahan Middle has many opportunities for student involvement. Student Government, Math Counts and Robotics Club are just a few of the great activities this school offers. In addition, this past year the school was part of the National Geographic Bee which proved to be very beneficial. Not only does this school offer scholastic involvement, it also allows for involvement in sports - track, soccer, football, softball, basketball, volleyball and cheerleading. From a parent's standpoint, the School Advisory Council is for you. Being part of this group allows for you, as a parent, to be in touch with what's happening at school. Additionally, the leadership at the school is always available. I feel they have an open-door policy. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

Overall, I was very impressed with Callahan Middle School. As a new teacher I felt very welcomed by the principal, fellow teachers, and staff. The teachers collaborate through subject area and grade level teams to analyze student success, share new teaching strategies, and plan enrichment activities. I felt the principal, Ellen Ryan, was very supportive and provided me with guidance as a new teacher. Additionally, she is always pushing her students to the next level of success by providing them with extracurricular activities such as Math Counts, Robotics Club, Spelling Bee, and Geography Bee. No matter what a student's talent may be, Ellen Ryan is ensuring that they will be in an environment to thrive. I enjoyed my time at CMS and feel blessed to have begun my teaching career there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 13, 2013

This fun and supportive school has several clubs...the Choral Camp Mrs. Salis puts on is spectacular...the students learn so much about music, singing, and performing! The teacher puts so much personal time and money into it... this shows how much she cares! This goes for many of the other teachers at this school, as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

The Chorus at Callahan Middle School is truly fabulous. Even though they meet only once a week for an hour every Wednesday, they work hard to learn music that they perform around Nassau County Florida and in the Florida Vocal Association's Choral and Solo & Ensemble MPA events. Ellen Ryan, the CMS Principal, is their greatest supporter both financially and within the school setting. The CMS Rambler Chorus is proud to represent themselves, their family, their community and Nassau County Schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 31, 2013

I have had the distinct pleasure of being a member of the CMS faculty and I can confidently say that this is a GREAT school. The teachers are excellent, dedicated, and most of all, hardworking. The school is organized in many ways including grade level teams and subject area teams and all teachers are involved in an activity, sport, club, or production. As a teacher I felt supported and encouraged by the Ms. Ryan, the principal, and administration. Parents are informed of school activities via newsletters, phone tree messages, and a well maintained website. I have worked at several schools and I have never seen such a friendly and cooperative faculty. Five starts for Callahan Middle School!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 29, 2013

CMS is awesome. I've had the misfortune of experiencing public schools in Duval County, and I would like to commend CMS!! This is a terrific school in which to send your middle school students. They have active an active SAC (school advisory council), PTO, sports, band, drama, math club, Robotics club, gardening club, etc. There is something for everyone. Both of my daughters received excellent middle school educations that included challenging honors classes, gifted classes, and high school Algebra!! My daughter actually earned her high school credit for Algebra in middle school. I can't say enough about how wonderful everyone is at this school, from the office staff, to the teachers and students, to the custodial staff. Thank you for a wonderful middle school experience!!


Posted May 29, 2013

I would like to let everyone know what a wonderful school Callahan Middle School (CMS) is. I am grateful my children were able to attend this school for the many reasons. The level of education they received was challenging yet attainable. I've been a volunteer with the school as well, and I'm very pleased with the way students and families are treated. I've proud to say that CMS has earned an A for 10 years in a row. This isn't an easy task. It requires the entire school to work toward this achievement. CMS definitely takes your child's education seriously and will not let you down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

Callahan Middle School is a great school. I'm a student there. I saw this website, and thought I would tell you that I've had a great year at Callahan Middle. We had fun running for student government. I didn't win, but the people that won are really nice. I like the morning announcements because I get to see my friends on them. Maybe next year, I will sign up for this class. There have been times that I didn't understand my work, but my teacher helps me without making me feel stupid. I'm in a L/A class where we made books this year. It was a really great project. I learned all about the process of making a book. I learned how to write it and put all the parts together including the title page, pictures, and we even covered it with stuff that looks like a real book. Mrs. Braddock and Mr. Bryan are the best teachers there!


Posted May 28, 2013

My school is a very successful one! The staff have really defined and determined learning goals, and they have apparently been put to use in extraordinary ways! I am a student, and I have experienced the teachers will to help students in any way possible. The best part about CMS, to me, is all the extracurricular activities there are! And better yet, the school will let you participate in everything as long as you are able to. There is band, Drama Club, sports, Student Government, Art Club, Office Aide, Teacher Aide, Robotics Club, the gifted program, and even a math club! The school is at your hands, but there are rules! As for the student/social problems, the guidance counselors will help you overcome bullying or friendship problems with useful and surprising techniques! I say this with proof, because I have experienced having help from the hands of the guidance counselors. The staff at this school not only want students to succeed, but also to be successful with people and know that you are your own person, and you make your own decisions!


Posted June 18, 2012

I am a student here at Callahan Middle School and play the Baritone. Our band director is, I think, the best teacher there. He's funny at times but mostly serious. I dont think many people expect the talent that comes out of Callahan Middle Schools band program.We're a small country town (i say that lightly) which no one thinks has anything to interesting or as special as our band. The band has earned superior multiple times under the direction of our band teacher because of his amazing ways of teaching that most people would cosider childs play but when you put his teachigs to work you find that that there is a method to his madness.This is a reason our band is the best band in Nassau County. we may have only made a Exellent in our 2012 MPA. but the reason is the malority of the band was made up of 7th graders and i dont really count one performance as a measure of how great our band really is. Next year we will be mostly 8th graders and we will be right where we belong with the other superior bands in North Central Florida. I guess i want to thank our band director for all he has done to help me and my class mates with our instruments and i want to thank him for being our friend.


Posted September 1, 2011

CMS is a very student-oriented school with amazing teachers and staff. They have many activities and enrichment opportunities in which my child benefited. He was in the band, drama club, art contests, tv production and the science fair. He wanted to participate in the Student Government and chorus like his friends, but he couldn t do it all. My son transferred to CMS from another middle school where he was bullied and labeled as having an attitude problem. He made friends and found his classes to be fun and challenging. I think CMS helped transform my child into an achiever. The CMS teachers were awesome and they returned my emails usually on the same day. They were very supportive of my son. I was happy to see both his school grades and FCAT scores go up for the first time in two years. As CMS principal, Ms. Ryan s leadership was evident in the school as all the staff seemed to focus on what was best, academically and socially, for the students. My child soared as CMS. It s a great public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

CMS is a great school. The teachers are fantastic, and most do the best they can to make sure that us students learn something, and make it somewhat enjoyable. Sure, there are bullies, I get picked on a bit, but the teachers do the best they can to stop it. Mrs. Ryan tries her hardest to make the school a clean place, but most of the kids don't have any respect for the school littering and complaining about how much work we get and all that jazz. It's a school, you're supposed to work! I'm going into 8th grade in a few days, and I'm really going to miss the school when I have to go to high school. The teachers though, they are all amazing. I hope some of my fellow students straiten up and be grateful we go to school in the first place, and stop picking on other people, You make our school look bad. :D Stay awesome CMS!


Posted June 27, 2011

I asked my child what he learned this year. He said "mom all we did was FCAT stuff." I responded, "what do you mean?" He said, "I took the FCAT practice test 15 times, reviewed wrong answered, then took the practice test 15 more times" I have pulled my son from this school. What an awful, manipulative place to send our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

Callahan Middle is a student centered school. It has an outstanding faculty, staff and administration. The students are challenged not only in academics, but also with excellent sports and band activities. Struggling students are given the extra help that is needed. There are numerous and outstanding extra curricular activities such us band concerts, talent shows and career clubs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 13, 2011

Besides standardized testing practice, little to no educational value is stressed by the teachers/principal. As a former teacher at CMS, I was literally told to STOP teaching poetry and the writing process. The Principal asked me to stop my resume project in order to focus on practicing the old FCAT practice tests. As a parent I would seriously consider taking a look at what kind of information my children were truly learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2010

We ae an 'A' rated school for the 8th year in a row. We have great students, temendous teachers, involved parents, and a wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

Honestly, the students at this school are unmotivated and the teachers are uncaring.The test scores may contradict this,but it's true.My daughter has faced harsh bullying by teachers and students.The staff seemed to laugh it off.All the staff cares about are test scores and nothing more.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

260 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

268 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

270 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

252 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 90%
Black 4%
Two or more races 3%
Hispanic 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%58%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450121 Old Dixie Highway
Callahan, FL 32011
Phone: (904) 879-3606

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Tiger Success Center
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT