Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cape Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 737 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. My daughter is a 5th grader in the gifted program this year and we will be sad for her to leave for middle school. The teachers are phenomenal. They really go the extra mile to challenge and care for their students. Cape Elementary feels like one big happy family. My daughter has loved every minute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

I am planning to move to cape coral fl. and after reviewing the community rating and test scores of this school..As of right now I would be glad to put my child in this school.


Posted August 15, 2011

I think the teachers at cape are great! I also think Ms. Flecha had big shoes to fill as principal and she is filling them. To date, I still dont understand why parents get to the student pick up line hours before school is out, can we spread the word if you get there at 2:25, there is only a 10 min wait! lol
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

Principal Flecha talks the talk and walks the walk. She is always available and knows all the kids names and addresses them by their name. She always has a smile on her face and treats adults and students with respect. Ms. Flecha even taught many kids this year including my son for months to prepare for the fourth grade writing test. My son's confidence soared and he ended up scoring very high. The school's test scores continue to increase in all areas. I'm impressed with the teachers and leaders at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

I have taught at Cape for over 20 years, and both of my children attended Cape! I have experienced change after change in our district, but one thing remains the same at Cape...community school with a family atmosphere. Many of my students come back after graduation to tell me what a difference the teachers at Cape made in their lives. I am grateful to work at a school that works hard to make everyday special for our students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 27, 2011

My child attended Cape Elementary for the past 3 years, when Mrs. Sindler was there, the school was fantastic upbeat and wonderful, unfortunately this school year I have not seen the same from the current principal. I have had difficulties getting into contact with her over concerns for my child, and I feel that my child is forgetton. Spoke with many parents about the same issue. The ultimate resource for issues with my child I would believe is the principal and how can you feel secure in a school that you can not even touch base with the principal? Thought about writing the school board, if that does not help my child will no longer be attending this school. Shame that theycould not have had a better suited individual to fill the previous principals shoes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

I have been dealing with a 5th grade teacher at this school that actually does stuff that borders on bullying. Yelling at her entire class, lecturing students in front of the entire class using language like disappointed and embarrassed. She is absolutely the worst teacher I have ever come into contact with in Elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

My oldest daughter went here for 3 years, and my youngest started Kindergarten this year. The office talks down to parents. My oldest daughter had great teachers. My youngest daughter didn't get so lucky. She has learning problems, and came home crying everyday because she was so frusrated. NO ONE there would help her. None of the teachers would help her or listen to her. Hopefully we will have better luck now that we have switched schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

I have a child in 4th grade and my oldest went through cape from k-5 and we love cape elementary. This school is great , my kids have excelled and the teachers are like family. Although they did get a new principal and she did make some unwelcome changes and took away cape traditions, its still a fine school.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

This is the worst school I have ever seen. They lied and told me there is no special education any longer, the teachers picked on my son and failed him because he was holding the school back from being the "A" school. I wouldn't send my dog there after what they have done to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Cape Elementary is a great school, have 3 children who attended thru 5th grade. All have/or are attending UF on Bright Futures. There are many opportumities for parent involvement, be sure to ask. Superior quality teachers, created a solid foundation for life long learning. Very safe, diverse programs and lots of activities. Do your homework!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

I couldn't be happier. My 1st child went through Cape Elementary School and will be going to High School next year. She has been an outstanding student. Part of the credit for her success is due to the outstanding teachers at 'Cape' My son is currently at 'Cape' and is doing great his teachers instil a love for learning that I wish I had when I was in elementary school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

This past year was my last at Cape. I have gone there since Kindergarten and have been a part of their gifted program ever since second grade. This school's education system is excellent and their FCAT scores soar past other elementary schools in the area. Kudos to all of the hard-working teachers and pupils. I could never get where I am now without them. --Emily Mavrakis


Posted April 7, 2008

I have 2 children here at Cape Elementary and have not been very happy with the experiences there at all! However, there are 3 teachers that I would highly recommend and they are loving and compassionate with the children and treat them as their own. Mrs Smith, Mrs Leith, and Miss Moulton are GREAT! Beware of 4th grade teachers and 5th grade. I won't name those teachers, but do your homework and ask about them... You'll find out! Good luck to those who go here~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

My daughter has been in the Cape school since kindergarden. She has progressed wonderfully. The teaching staff works wonders with the children as well as keeping them disciplined. I have nothing but praise for the teachers and staff at Cape Elemantary. Don't stop, and Thank you. Mrs. Giannakopoulos
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I love Cape Elementary School! I have been going there since kindergarden, and I LOVE this school. The staff is very helpful and nice,along with the students. I am very upset that I'll be graduating next year, I LOVE MY SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2006

This is our first year at Cape. My children, a first and second grader, came from private schooling in Ft. Lauderdale. I am thrilled with the academics, especially the reading program used at Cape. They love their new school and their teachers, which I also am extremely pleased with. I was very nervous about transferring our children into a public school and now feel that this was the best choice we could have made. Cape's staff is very friendly to the children and the parents and always available to help. I have volunteered on numerous occasions and seen this from the 'inside'. I can't say enough good things about Cape. Just that we are thankful to be there. Joanne Buck
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

My Daughter is in the 4th. grade, this is our 1st year living in Fla. and I am impressed by the committment by the Teaching Staff and the wonderful Principle. This year they are getting the students ready for the FCAT testing. Reading and Writing is a huge part. The 4th. grade Teachers went to a workshop to better prepare there students and shared some great learening tools the kids could use to help. They got the parents involved, to help make it a smoother and to keep everyone on track for the spring testing. I am very impressed, with the leadership of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2004

I love this school! Parent involvement has been wonderful. Teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2003

This is our first year at Cape and thus far, I am VERY happy with the performance. The first day of school my daughter was put on the wrong bus, but between the school's tracking system and the help of other parents we found her in less than 15 minutes.Her teacher is fair and wonderful woman who has patience of a saint. She is very creative, on the ball and always explores the childs creative side as well as the academic side. Thus far I am confident that my child is receiving a well balanced education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

132 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 29%
Two or more races 4%
Black 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 86%66%61%
Master's degree 14%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4519 Vincennes Boulevard
Cape Coral, FL 33904
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 542-3551

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Grace Community School
Cape Coral, FL


Life Academy
Cape Coral, FL


Christ Lutheran School
Cape Coral, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT